Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by John from Columbia, Missouri USA

Get away in another country

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed the stay. The hotel was a good place to stay. The surrounding neighborhood is being renovated and this will help once outside of the hotel. Scenery from the 8th floor, excellent.
5 out of 5
by Victor Hugo from Rio de Janeiro

Decent Stay

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
Received a big room, with independent living room, kitchen and suite. Te stay was under $100/night, which is nice for the region. Wifi could be faster, but that is the usual situation for the hotels in this region.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Good hotel for business trip

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Swimming Pool and Gym were quite nice
Cons: Internet connection on rooms
Overall condition of hotel are great, internet was free but didn't work properly from my room #412. Even after talking with staff they have been unable to fix this problem, maybe the hotel need more wifi hotspots per floor.
4 out of 5
by David from Long Beach, CA

Reasonable accommodations & close enough to WTC

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and found the streets mostly empty and almost all stores/restaurants closed. The hotel room itself was acceptable as a home-away-from home (with decent WiFi reception, although it was sparsely furnished). But had we known about the relative isolation of the place beforehand, we probably would have stayed closer to "the action" so there would be more attractions for my wife while I was in meetings. The breakfast was uninspired... and I believe the serving ended earlier than posted on one of our 4 days there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

InterCity "Average" Berrini

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel was very good. There were several places to eat near by. It had free breakfast. I felt very safe.
Cons: The desk staff needs to be trained to focus on one customer at a time. Facility needs to be cleaned well. Repairs need to be done correctly.
Location: There were several restaurants near by. cabs were near by.
Stayed in the InterCity Berrini Hotel for 4 days. The hotel has a older, contemporary feel. The desk staff is very young and don't speak very much English at all. In fact their lack of English caused me to miss an appointment, but that is another story. The staff kept allowing other hotel guest to interrupt while they were waiting on me (Maybe that is a cultural thing). The hotel had the possibility to be nice or was very nice at one time, but is now in "somewhat" disrepair. My shower leaked over the bathroom floor, the latch on a window was broken. The sink drained very, very slow. There were screws that were missing that were replaced with something completely wrong. The WiFi was suspect in my room as well. The cleanliness isn't quite there either; not that its dirty, just not quality. There was tiny debris on the floor and bathroom counter. One could see where paint splattered on the bathroom surfaces, but wasn't cleaned properly (which could have been done easily with just a fingernail). There were slight mildew stains in the shower grout. The sheets were such a low thread-count, one could see the mattress print through the sheet. The sheet had tiny holes in it and I believe it was too small as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BAD for business trips

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
I basically never write reviews for anything, but here I feel compelled to urge other business travellers to STAY AWAY from this hotel! I stayed there 3 nights and the internet was not working any of the days. The first night, I called the reception and I was assured it would be up in 15 mins. An hour later, no luck, so I went down to the reception instead. There I was told it wouldn't be fixed until the next morning. One night's work lost. The next day, it was still not working and the same excuses. After much arguing with the reception, they finally gave me "a special code" instead for logging in. It worked fine, but why the massive discussion, explaining that I am losing TONS of work, until they finally share their little secret of "a special code". The same problem my last night -- called, got empty promises, went to reception and argued, and finally they gave me a special code. On top of it, the reception was always very busy (little time to help me) and the English skills of the staff was extremely poor, which made it even harder to understand each other. All in all, a bad experience and a hotel I would highly recommend that you stay away from if connectivity is important for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort lauderdale, FL

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Location: good restaurants , close to the mail.
no heat. The floor was dirty . The hotel towels are bad condition.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Staff is great, but facility is limited.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Team working their is friendly and helpful, but limited in training. Free buffet breakfast is passable. Staff do their best.
Cons: Maintenance or upkeep is reactionary rather than proactive. They try and fix issues as they come up, but the materials used are weak and cheap.
Location: Location is a five minute walk from Bernini train station, which is three stops from the subway system which is quite useful to get around.
We stayed for seven days surrounding the World Cup. The staff do their best and the manager tried to support the defects, but the materials used to make the room are limited at best. Perhaps this is what is expected in Brazil, but limited for international travellers. We had issues with the toilet, phone, safes (two times), smoke alarm, across two rooms, during our stay. The manager was friendly and accomodating, discounting our visit, appreciating our unhappiness, but need to point out two further 'issues' we had. The pool was not swimmable. Algae and growth on the surface and the tiles. No water circulation at all. Further, at 11pm one evening, we had a visitor from the Bell Service, enter our room without knocking. Further investigation highlighted he was searching for a television remote control for another room, and thought ours was not occupied. Not sure whether I believe this explanation, but procedures to enter a room were clearly not flwd appropriately. Also, thin walls allow televisions and conversations to be heard in rooms next door...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abuja

Awesome

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Nice location easy to get taxi. Good restaurants closely. Shopping malls very close too. Perfect for any visitor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels