Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a five star hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
There is nothing terribly wrong with this hotel; it is just not a five star hotel as advertised. It is essentially a conference / events venue and as such it lacks the facilities that you would expect in a good hotel: lots of waiting to speak to the understaffed reception desk; no concierge; no doorman; a theoretical taxi rank outside to the left but there was never a taxi there when needed (but reception happily called one when asked - but see first point). I can see this might suit a family with children looking for a resort hotel with only the odd trip into town and wanting to use Isla de Magica next door, but beware the noise from the events (the bottom of our pod - A3 - was set up for an evening do for well over 100 people) and note that there is essentially only one eating place (notwithstanding the partion used to make it into two).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, I really appreciate the time you have taken to write your review in this website. I lament to read that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we try to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. I am very sorry to hear that the service provided at reception did not match your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of the service for our guests to fully enjoy their experience in the hotel. I regret to read that there were not taxies in the taxi stop that we have by the main door of the hotel, this is a public service that sometimes we cannot totally control. Regarding the suggestions that you made about the concierge team, we are glad to tell you that from next Monday a concierge service is going to be provided by our hotel, to make you live a better experience in your next stay. Thank you once again for your comments and opinion, this make us improve our quality, and, of course we can’t wait to see you around again. Kind Regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice, relaxing and restful place; great parking

Posted Apr 28, 2017
We loved Seville. Although this hotel is not in the heart of Seville, it's big and spacious. It has parking and believe me, after trying to park in the old end of town in several cities, that's a blessing in itself. It's efficient and professional with a great comfy room and the biggest bed I've slept on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Hotel was wonderful! It was a short taxi ride to the cathedral and the center of the tourist area. It was much quieter at night than being in the center of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, United Kingdom

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great place to stay, clean rooms and very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel..not too far from city.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
It is lovely hotel. You can take a taxi to city and not too crowd where you are.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Grotty, depressing hotel too far from city centre

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This hotel was built-in Expo 1992 and, as far as I can see, has not been updated since. I'm sure it does the job if you're in Seville for an event being held at the hotel or the conference centre, but if you're visiting the city there are far better places to stay that are actually in the city centre. The Barcelo of located on a run down patch of land surrounded by broken pavements and graffiti, and opposite a decaying theme park. The building itself is in keeping with this environment. In short, it looks like the setting for a Stephen King novel. It takes 40 minutes to walk to the edge of Seville city centre, so don't be taken in by the fact that Expedia advertises this as a 'city centre' hotel. It isn't. When we stayed the hotel was almost empty and deathly quiet. Quiet, that is, until the night when our neighbour's TV blared through the paper-thin wall. The next night at 11pm, hotel staff spent an hour loading heavy machinery into a van and shouting outside our room. Having been designed before mobiles and laptops were in popular use, there are not enough sockets in the rooms. Our shower leaked all over the floor and the loo seat was broken. Poor for a supposedly 5-star hotel. We didn't risk the breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Miguel Estévez Resident General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear guest, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel Barceló Sevilla Renacimiento for your stay and for sharing your personal perception with the other travellers. I apologize if the location was not up to your expectations. The hotel is strategically located, next to the theme park “Isla Magica”, the new aquatic park “Agua Magica” and the Cartuja park, a research and development complex. For guests who want to enjoy the city centre and Sevilla ambience, la Alameda is just 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. I encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website and check if the location of the hotel is suitable for your needs. Concerning the design, the hotel was fully refurbished in 2012, and we are continually improving our facilities and services to adapt the hotel to the continued demand of our guest. I am sad to read that you think that our hotel seems the place for a Stephen King novel, as our guests thinks completely the opposite, but I understand that décor is subject to personal style. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, and we look forward to welcoming you again to another Barceló in the future. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, Resident General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Affordable, but not impressed

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Orbitz
We expected much more from a four star hotel. Lobby is nice and appealing, however the room is at best average. The room is in need of updating for a four star hotel, particularly the bathroom. Staff is not very customer service oriented, however he breakfast was good, had a variety of foods.
5 out of 5
by SengChong

Big spacious hotel in an open part of the city

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
A bit out of town but it suited our family of 4 stay. It is a short taxi ride to the sights in the old town centre costing around Eur 10 only. Otherwise walking will take you 20-25 mins with nice view from bridge on river. Hotel is big and spacious, so is the area around the hotel so you dont feel cramped. Fitting out of the room is not very well done, the placement of appliances, mirrors, hanger etc but not serious unless you are really fussy about these details. Overall we were happy with our stay!
5 out of 5
by Christopher Paul

Convenient and luxurious hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great for the Aqua park, out of the city

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
very comfortable, gets a bit noisy in the bar when busy!