Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from canada

unique with excellent service

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Clean, romantic, cool facilities, and excellent staff.
Cons: Bed is hard
Location: Attractions easy to get to
Staff were great. Room was large and clean. Had a balcony with a view but couldn't use it because of the weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Would have been nice to have an elevator to transport luggage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, ont

Amazing historical building.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Unique, historical, staff very good. Breakfast was traditional, but yogurt and fresh. Fruit available. Coffee was made to order.
Cons: It was no issue for us, but travellers with mobility issues should let the reception know as only the first floor is accessible by a lift.
Location: Good restaurants near by. Siena is quite hilly, but everything is within walking distance. Easy to take the Rapido bus from Firenze to Siena.
This was a beautiful spot to stay in Siena. The breakfast was the best we had. Check in staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room had an amazing view of Tuscany. Comfy beds and very quiet location. About a 5 minute walk to the Campo. We would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surbiton

Peaceful Hotel Close To The Square

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The hotel is in a good location but that is it really. There is no bar or restaurant although the breakfast room is nice (although had to ask the staff to fill up the water jug every morning plus there was never any milk for the cereal). Our room (don't stay in number 3) was cold, had no paint on the bathroom door, the window didn't shut properly and blew open one night. I had to shave in around 30 seconds as the water wouldn't stay in the basin, there were no carpets and the mini bar was empty on arrival. On a brighter note the staff were very nice and helpful and Siena is a beautiful city. I would definitely go back there, just not to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Ideal hotel to see Siena.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Every thing
Cons: Not really
The hotel is ideally situated for all the major sights in Siena. The ancient monastic buildings create a wonderful atmosphere. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The friend I was with, celebrated his 60th birthday whilst we were there. The staff spotted a birthday card and when we returned from a days sight seeing, there was a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us with the compliments of the Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Il Chiostro del Carmine is a fantastic hotel! It's a converted 14th-century cloister; just wonderful with it's style. The staff was very helpful. The courtyard was nice, the view from our room spectactular, and the breakfast very, very good. It's a great value and I'd highly recommend this hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Good value.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The character of the hotel and the staff.
Cons: Pillows and crispier croissants!!
Location: Good location.
Stayed here for four nights. Large bedroom with a lovely view. Only one thin pillow could have done with two. Very well positioned only took a few minutes to walk to the main piazza. No lift but there are bedrooms on the ground floor. They recommended a very good restaurant nearby called Nonna Gina very good food and cosy. Good value for money and we would probably stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was helpful, the inn clean and welcoming, breakfasts were abundant - and it was quiet when we were there in late October.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Our one night in this hotel was part of a 7 day trip through Italy. This hotel and its staff were one of the highlights of our trip. They went out of their way to ensure we had a fantastic stay. The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was absolutely amazing as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely be coming back. One tip - the streets of Siena can be tricky to navigate (one way streets and traffic regulated zone)...call ahead and get the hotel to recommend the best way into town.