Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Very interesting to stay in a castle

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: It'S in a castle
Cons: Furniture was musty, not surprising for an old castle.
Location: Spent a day visiting Siena and a another day driving through the countryside with a spot in Civita (highly recommend this interesting town)
Great location as a base to visit Siena. I went up the tower at sunrise and sunset to take photos of the beautiful countryside and Siena in the distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton CO

Unique experience close to Siena

Posted Oct 9, 2016
This is a 700 year old castle/fortress. It was a very cool, unique experience. We stayed in one of the turrets. Beautiful views. You need to climb up a narrow spiral staircase to reach the main floor and bathroom. You need to climb up another narrow, spiral staircase to reach the bedroom. Bed was very comfortable. It sits outside of Siena so you are away from the crowds but it is only a 5-10 minute drive to get to Siena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Within a few minutes from Siena, on the east side

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Private, only 2 other couples there. (I think it's because there are only 3 rooms). Spacious room, couch, sofa chair, TV, air conditioning, breakfast.
Cons: New tub or only a shower would be great!
Location: Enjoyed the view and watched the sun set over Siena. Ristorante Le Pietre Vive, authentic Siena cuisine with fresh farm ingredients
Since I started planning our trip to Italy, I always wanted to stay in a castle for one night. Found the castle to be very private, our own room was at the corner of one of the towers. We had the Blu Room which faced Siena. Very spacious room with window that opened up. Great view of the valley and of Siena City. Entry into the castle is through the main castle door. Enter the inside walls of the castle, look up to see the sky, climb lots of stairs. (If you have difficulty with stairs, this is probably not for you). You enter into the main TV room that is situated on the main floor of the owner's quarters, main floor with sofas. The owner greeted us, got our key and our room. Very spacious room, as well as bathroom, with great view, mini bar, hair dryer and a comfortable bed. Allergic to kitty cats - may want to stay away, friendly cats go about on their own if not restricted to private areas. Owner's son owns a fantastic ristorante a few kms away. Great food and wine! Full breakfast served in the morning - brioche, cookies, buns, marmalade, own honey and honey with saffron, cheeses, meats, fruits, juice, coffee to your liking, yoghurt and cereal. Really enjoyed our stay at this castle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good value

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Good value, nice view. Great location. Cons are you have to drive to the other town to check in then drive back to the other town to get to the apartments. 2 hours lost during this process. No parking either
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing relaxed experience just outside of Sienna

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: The fact we were staying in an ancient and historic tower "four towers", over 800 years old. Lovely quiet location outside of Sienna.
Cons: Beware - there are stairs - the beauty of staying in a tower!!!
Location: Stunning Sienna. Tuscany/Umbria
We have three girls aged between 8 and 12 and we were absolutely thrilled with our choice of accommodation for Sienna. It was lovely to stay in a building of such historical significance, and so lovely for the girls to run and play outside - through the olive groves and amongst the pomegranate trees after a day of sightseeing. The views out of windows of our very spacious apartment were as if out of a tuscan oil painting - simply beautiful. The breakfast in the dining room were delicious and perfect before a busy day out. We were made to feel right at home and the hosts were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

A cool place to stay

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: It was a castle from the 14 to century
Cons: The Wifi was temperamental.
Location: Siena!
Cross "sleep in a castle" off of your bucket list. This place is pretty impressive both in stature and age. The staff, grounds, breakfast are all very good. The room is spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Tuscany Paradise

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Towers built hundreds of years ago, floors uneven and true sense of history.
Cons: Water pressure low but we were near the top of one of the towers.
Location: Siena close by, walled villages all within easy reach by car. Wine tasting and museum Chianti region good.
Four towers make up this B&B which is set in quiet location surrounded by olive trees. View of Siena wonderful, especially at sunset. Staff great, wonderful service and advice on where to explore, 3 days wasn't long enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Who doesn't want to sleep in a castle?

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: The history, the view, the feel and location outside of Siena. Park bench under an old hemlock is a shady place to sip your afternoon wine. The people
Cons: Only the extra beds. The fold out couch was not for comfort, but I slept ok. The kid moved to the antique couch. Rollaway was torture. No 1 complained
Location: Up at 5am for a 6am lift off in a hot air balloon. High point of the trip, pun intended! Siena about a mile away, take a taxi. No sidewalks.
Once in a lifetime trip to Italy for my niece and her girls. Two nights in the castle were exciting for us all. I gave it 5 stars on ambiance alone! The view from our 1st ,(2nd in the US), floor apartment over the Tuscan hills was magnificent. Wild boar and piglets in the new plowed field. Small barn owl on the morning walk and fireflies in the evening. Small kitchen had everything, look for the plates in the hutch. If you have a car you are good. If like us, coming by train, taxi will be 12 to 15 euro for the ride to the station and into Siena and back. Nice and quiet, except for the happy birds at dawn, good for me I'm an early riser. 20 minute walk into town for groceries and vino. The staff was excellent, the breakfast was typical European and the coffee was strong. If you are on the top floor, do not carry your bags up, there is a hoist you will see inside the main door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We stayed in the 2 room apartment which was perfect for our family of four. Just a short drive from Sienna. The views from the castle were breathtaking. Breakfast was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tac

Amazing!!!

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Do it. Trust me! Great time. Nice place, lovely breakfast, great wifi, nice view in the towers. I stayed in the blue room. Loved it. I'm now sending my parents here next year.