Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Really cool old castle. Thankfully we got to stay in the only tower that's operational as we booked a long way in advance and the views from here were beautiful. Very nice place with a nice breaky included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Medieval castle on a hill near Siena

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Watching the sunset from the castle tower Walking the grounds around the castle Very hospitable staff Fantastic breakfast
Location: Don't need to go anywhere else, just enjoy the castle!
Entered the property through large gated driveway which curved through the large estate to the castle perched on the hilltop surrounded by an olive tree grove and tall pines. Beautiful building and setting. Were warmly welcomed by the manager Valeria who got us settled, gave us a tour and provided some history of the castle. Great common areas on the upper floors and castle tower. Impressive views in all directions of the Tuscan countryside and Siena. Spent a good part of the day just walking the estate and then relaxing on the terrace in the late afternoon. Took far too many pictures. Definitely the highlight of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

The Quattro Torra is an amazing castle!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Wonderful stay at Quattro Torra. The room is all brick, arched windows, hand hewn wood beams, and incredible views of Sienna and Tuscan farmland. Don't miss dinner and cooking school at the owner's restaurant. The Florentine steak and truffled raviolis were amazing. Learned to make pasta and some sauces at the cooking school. This was one of the most memorable parts of a 3 week vacation in Italy, Germany, and Amsterdam. One note, there is no elevator, and a fair amount of stairs to get to your room. Great views await.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was a bit confusing. This is a castle and when we arrived no one answered the door initially. We knocked and rang the bell several times and finally called the contact number when a cousin of the owner answered the door. On the phone the owner said he had been called away. The cousin showed to one of two rooms (we were traveling with another couple) and told to wait because she didn't know anything. The mother finally came and took us to the other room. The second room was on the equivalent of a three flights of stairs. Otherwise very cozy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Very interesting to stay in a castle

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: It'S in a castle
Cons: Furniture was musty, not surprising for an old castle.
Location: Spent a day visiting Siena and a another day driving through the countryside with a spot in Civita (highly recommend this interesting town)
Great location as a base to visit Siena. I went up the tower at sunrise and sunset to take photos of the beautiful countryside and Siena in the distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton CO

Unique experience close to Siena

Posted Oct 9, 2016
This is a 700 year old castle/fortress. It was a very cool, unique experience. We stayed in one of the turrets. Beautiful views. You need to climb up a narrow spiral staircase to reach the main floor and bathroom. You need to climb up another narrow, spiral staircase to reach the bedroom. Bed was very comfortable. It sits outside of Siena so you are away from the crowds but it is only a 5-10 minute drive to get to Siena.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Within a few minutes from Siena, on the east side

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Private, only 2 other couples there. (I think it's because there are only 3 rooms). Spacious room, couch, sofa chair, TV, air conditioning, breakfast.
Cons: New tub or only a shower would be great!
Location: Enjoyed the view and watched the sun set over Siena. Ristorante Le Pietre Vive, authentic Siena cuisine with fresh farm ingredients
Since I started planning our trip to Italy, I always wanted to stay in a castle for one night. Found the castle to be very private, our own room was at the corner of one of the towers. We had the Blu Room which faced Siena. Very spacious room with window that opened up. Great view of the valley and of Siena City. Entry into the castle is through the main castle door. Enter the inside walls of the castle, look up to see the sky, climb lots of stairs. (If you have difficulty with stairs, this is probably not for you). You enter into the main TV room that is situated on the main floor of the owner's quarters, main floor with sofas. The owner greeted us, got our key and our room. Very spacious room, as well as bathroom, with great view, mini bar, hair dryer and a comfortable bed. Allergic to kitty cats - may want to stay away, friendly cats go about on their own if not restricted to private areas. Owner's son owns a fantastic ristorante a few kms away. Great food and wine! Full breakfast served in the morning - brioche, cookies, buns, marmalade, own honey and honey with saffron, cheeses, meats, fruits, juice, coffee to your liking, yoghurt and cereal. Really enjoyed our stay at this castle.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
The owners toured us around the castle, drove us with their family to their restaurant for an amazing dinner (in the top 2 meals we had anywhere in Italy over 12 days). We chatted with another couple staying at the castle who absolutely adored it as well! We were in awe by the views - it was surreal! The breakfast the next morning was perfect! Our stay was too short. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from San Francisco

Tuscan retreat in an authentic fortress!

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
My mother and I had an excellent stay at the Castello del Quattro Torra. It was amazing. We loved it and hope to return one day. It is just a short taxi ride (12 euro) from the center of Siena and it was full of character. We couldn't believe how wonderful it was - a true Tuscan retreat. This is a 13th century fort that was converted into a home and has been in the owner's family since the 1800s. It is surrounded by the beautiful countryside. I had the tower room that provided a 360 degree view of the region. It was awesome! Bear in mind though - people who have a hard time climbing stairs may not want this room. My mom did not -and so she stayed in the apartment on the first floor (only up one flight of stairs). Both rooms were very nice and clean, quaint and quiet. Breakfast was included and it was fine (nothing too special). The owner Nikola greeted us and was very friendly. He even picked us up with his family and took us to his wonderful farmhouse restaurant. The food was absolutely superb! They made our experience so lovely and we will never forget it.