Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a beautiful location.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location.
Cons: The way they manage their reservations.
Location: Most beautiful spot on St Martin!!!
In general we had a great time. Upon arriving at the hotel I was so happy because it looked just like it was on the internet. Unfortunately when we went to check in they had over booked and in theory gave us an upgrade however they neglected to tell us that until we were taken to the room which did not have a view of the beach. When I called the front desk the young man was pretty rude. I ended up going down and talking to the manager on duty Elvis and he took care of getting us moved to a beach front room but it would only be for one night and then we would have to move again until a room would open up for the remainder of our stay. So the next day we had to check out at 11:00am and then we had to wait for the next room to open up at 4:00pm. Then when we got to our new room it was perfect except for the fact that the AC was off when we turned it on there was a burning smell. After 3 calls to the front desk the maintenance man Fernando arrived. It ended up that the AC fan motor was burned out and he took it upon himself to get us the room right next door which ended up being perfect. I shared all this with Sandra the manager and asked her what I could do in the future to make sure it didn't happen again she said I should email her the week before and she would make sure our reservation was exactly as we requested
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Divi St. Maarten Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Divi Little Bay during your visit to St. Maarten! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation experience with us and appreciate your positive feedback. We hope that you will visit us again for another stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Just a Hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016
I would not consider this a resort, it seems to be run much more like a hotel. Though I did not opt for all inclusive, and I HIGHLY suggest you don't, I did pay attention. There is no beach service and getting a drink at the bar is a time consuming ordeal. Other than a band in the evenings there is no entertainment. There really is nothing to do on premises. We were in bed by 8 watching tv. But if you are going to stay there, this is what I did. Got a room first floor near water sports bldng. Brought my own travel blender. Went to the onsite grocery with good drink/ food options and made our own brkfst/lunch/drink. There is a picnic area with gas grill. What I didn't do and should have done is rent a car. Did that on the last day. Driving is easy around the island. Seriously the money you save by not going all inclusive will be more than recouped. The food that we did have there was very poor quality. Example on the desert table they put out a frozen cheesecake still in the cheap pie tin and still FROZEN. Plus side,beach is nice, water sports staff lovely. Snorkeling onsite decent, water can be rough with no lifeguard . Historical site on property
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Divi St. Maarten Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry to hear that your experience was not what you anticipated. At Divi Little Bay, we always strive to provide the best service on the island. We will share your feedback with our Resort Management and Staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Cons: Profession personnel at checkin.
On checking in the first room given to us smelled of mold. The second room has bugs they sprayed the room but did not clean the room for 2 days because when they moved us nobody told the cleaning people where we were. After all of that the hotel was very good, the food was good and the activities where fun. The personnel made every effort to make your stay a pleasure and they did achieve that I would stay at this hotel again. It's unfortunate that the first chechin events happened but not all of the management personnel where on top of their game.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Best thing the resort is right on the beach.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Location to beach.
Cons: Bar and restaurant service.
Not a large resort so everything very accessible, really only one restaurant and then the bar serves food. The service at bars and restaurants is terrible, bartenders cannot seem to see empty glasses nor do they seem to be able to see new customers. Food at the Pure Ocean restaurant was cold and over cooked, no one seemed to care about our concerns. That being said, rooms were clean and in good condition (hotel). Ask for Robert if you need transportation he is a taxi driver who works out of hotel and he is great, we hired for an island tour and not only was his price good but he gave us a great tour and restaurant recommendations. Also grocery store sells beer, wine and alcohol so we quit waiting on staff and starting mixing our own. Resort is not walking distance into town so don't believe it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Divi St. Maarten Team, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you experienced service at our restaurants and bars. We strive to constantly improve our resorts to better satisfy our valued guests. We greatly appreciate the time you put into your review. We will share your comments with our Resort Management and Staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

hideaway Paradise

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Nice Resort sits on a Private Beach. Rooms were 4 star big screen tv 40 inch in room and large Tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Divi St. Maarten Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Divi Little Bay during your visit to St. Maarten! We are happy to read and view your pictures that you enjoyed your vacation experience with us and appreciate your positive feedback. We hope that you will visit us again for another stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful Resort

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Best location for swimming and water sports. Very private with beautiful views of yatchs and cruise ships. Excellent accomodations. Beautiful resort.
This was our first time in St Maarten and definitely one of our best vacations. The Divi resort is beautiful. We had 2 rooms right on the beach. The location is great, long stretch of beach with calm water for swimming and water sports. You can rent snorkeling gear and swim out from the beach to the snorkeling sight. The pools are beautiful too. Nice beach bar with music on the weekends. We did not do the all inclusive that Divi offers. There are so many restaurants to choose from you need to check them out. Our taxi driver took us to a small Italian restaurant next to Casino Royale...Trattoria Italiana. The best homemade Italian food and excellent service. You will think you're in Philadelphia. But it's very small so you need reservations. I highly recommend the Pub Crawl with Celine Too charters and captain Neil. We had a great time with open bar and three restaurant stops along the way. We had excellent meals at The Greenhouse and Chesterfields in Philipsburg. The Buccaneer is a great casual spot on the beach with music and the famous fireballs they light on the beach. We had an excellent time and will definitely go back to St Maarten and stay at the Divi again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

Did not want to leave

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Everything! Except the above mentioned front desk person. Loved the infinity pool, Jacuzzis . Lovely walk to the fort ruins just behind the property
Cons: Remove these dirty carpets - tile floor is cleaner. Cutting board in the kitchenette is a must, also door tags (there were none). Need pool tables.
Location: French side is a must - the bakeries in Marigot! Lambada sunset cruise was lovely. Butterfly Farm and the nearby beach. Maho Beach for plane landings.
The first impression was horrible. At check-in we asked if the studio was on a higher floor as requested by booking. Maria, the front desk person, said that there was no such request in the computer. Not the first time it happened, and we were glad we checked on it. We asked nicely to please give us a higher floor room (we were to stay there for 8 nights). She smiled, looked at us and kept saying that she will give us a very nice room - all that while she was checking us into a ground floor unit next to a path where people would walk right by to the patio. Did she think we will not notice that? Or did she have fun while messing up with us? I called right away once we saw the unit - to our luck another front desk person, Elvis, responded. He did try everything to make us happier or at least he showed the effort. Saved our stay there. We loved the location!! Quiet bay with a lovely beach, gentle waves and nice sunsets on one side, and a rough windy bay on the other side with a great view to Phillipsburg and the cruise port. We had a rental car and for any longer stay we highly recommend getting one. No worries about getting from/to airport, and allows to discover the entire island. We rented from an airport site, not the resort. Maria checked us out again, no smiles this time, and she did not miss a chance to talk about us with her co-worker. As soon as we left the desk her colleague could be heard saying "who is she?" More professionalism needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Divi St. Maarten Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your thoughtful review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us to continually improve the guest experience at our resort; we appreciate your business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Stayed for Christmas-Resort with great potential..

Posted Dec 30, 2015
This hotel is nice in some areas and a little worn in many others. Requested a room change upon arrival because the room we were given was in very poor condition with stained furniture and broken drawers. The gentleman that was at the front desk was wonderful and found us a much better room, though this room too needed some fixing as one of shower doors was broken off the track. No maintenance ever fixed it even though we called about it. Beach is beautiful, pools are nice, but have some worn cushions and umbrellas that need replacing. Staff is a little frustrating however...example was one day there were no towels available at the area that you used your towel card so they sent me to another towel pick up area where they also had no towels and did not seem to be interested in accommodating me at all. I was not told when they would have any ready. They just said "IF the laundry people get around to bringing them, it might be a while". I feel it was a 3.5 star resort that had once been a 4 or 5 star resort because it did have a lot of nice amenities and the beach and other areas were very nice. If the rooms were all updated and the staff was a little better, this could easily be a 4-5 star resort, but this was not our experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Battle Ground, WA

Decent Hotel on Great Beach

Posted Dec 27, 2015
The Little Bay beach was the best that we visited on the island. Our room was 5 steps from the beach! Rooms were fairly nice but you could tell that the resort was a little worn. Wi-fi only worked in the lobby. The location was great as we were able to swim, snorkel and body board all right at the resort. The hike to Phillipsburg is not bad but the sidewalk is very narrow so the cars are driving quite close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest USA

Nice hotel. Nice room and beach.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Location: Unless you are a true walker, nothing is within convenient walking distance.
Some of the best shore based snorkeling in St. Marteen. Although the hotel is somewhat remote unless you have a car, the restaurants and mini grocery were all nice.