Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful room with views over the harbour

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The views were amazing and the staff extremely friendly.
Location: the hotel was so central, shops, restaurants, Marinas, bars all within walking distance.
We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was sea facing with a corner balcony plus an extra view from the bathroom window. The hotel was very grand but he staff were extremely friendly. It was a very quiet time of year to visit so there were no queues for breakfast. At times we felt as though we were the only people staying here. The location was brilliant. Being right in the centre of Sorrento it was easy to walk to both Marinas, the bus and train station, the lovely shops and restaurants. Above all the views were amazing being perched high above the cliff right on the waterfront. We used the bar a couple of times which was very quiet but the Barman made some nice drinks for us and again was very friendly. As we left on our last day too early for breakfast the kitchen arranged a picnic for us to have at the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Anniversary visit regular travellers to Sorrento.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Room was very large with a great view. Reception staff friendly.
Cons: Breakfast buffet was limited for the class of hotel. Tinned fruit served at breakfast and limited cereal choice. Poor quality tea offered for the price in the bar.
Location: Great location and historic building in the heart of Sorrento.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Excellent hotel experience

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Location and views
Cons: The pool was not heated
Location: Walking distance to main lookout and piazza. Surrounded by plenty of restaurants and shops. Walking distance to Grande and Piccolo Marina.
The hotel is very well situated in Sorrento. The views are spectacular especially from the dinning room and bar. It has all the amenities and is very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. I would definitely choose it again and highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Our Room was small.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Did the Amalfi tour it was Great!! The Capri Tour by boat is the only way to go, they let you swim and Lemoncelo was included..
Loved Sorrento an the location of the hotel. The rooms are small for the price you pay. The Breakfast an Staff are great!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel on trip

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Just about everything else
Location: Centrally located near shops restaurants and the beach
The hotel was ideally located and the views were breathtaking .....that's where the positives ended. We checked in with another couple and the front desk staff were unhelpful and downright rude. Both our rooms were aged and tiny.... I could live with that but the bedspreads were dirty and the room looked unkempt. My friends had $160 stolen from their pocket book after running down to the front desk.... The manager was ...oh well you had a safe. We found the staff continually "lurking" and even if you left for a minute they would enter the room, and then leave. They said there was no way for them to know who entered the room because of the mechanical locks...curious since the air condition went off if you opened the balcony door...they can afford electronic measures to save money but not assure guest safety. To cap it off, my friends discovered ants in their bed! We saw them all over the dresser in our room on the last day. When we told management we got blank stares.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel on the waterfront

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The view from the restaurant and terrace over the Bay of Naples is stunning.
Cons: The shower over the bath was excellent, but the curtain was inadequate in preventing minor floods every time a shower was taken.
Location: Excellent location - right on the cliff edge with lots of restaurants and the Storico Centro nearby.
This is a grand old palace converted into a hotel. Everything has a very traditional feel, but of quality rather than stuffiness. The staff are all very approachable, friendly and helpful; and thinks generally work very well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

Phenomenal Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location
Location: Cute little town with most amazing Italian residents
The staff made this hotel the most amazing experience ever!!! Hotel is a piece of history that is situated in perfect location accessible to the center of Sorrento and to the port.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very Good but not Great

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Very good to excellent except in most ways
Cons: Management staff were a little 'offish'. Issue with our balcony garden room location. I asked to move. No help and follow up at all to resolve
Location: Close to down town Sorrento...5mins. Nice restaurants and great pool. We just hung out and relaxed.
Classy Hotel in a superb and convenient location. Great pool and views. Nice clean rooms. Very good reasonably priced food. Staff did not smile too much and could have been little more 'gracious and serving' with us as customers especially the reception staff. On the plus side the staff were not overbearing and were discreetly in the background.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Bad Staff Hates Their Jobs

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Cons: Customer service training .
The hotel is in a lovely location and was obviously once a grand damme but she is looking a little worn and tattered now. I would have forgiven all that except that the staff made such a poor impression upon me that I was happy to leave after two nights. With the exception of Tony , the bellman and the man who runs the lift down to the beach , the rest of the staff made it clear that our stay at the hotel was a great imposition upon them. Yes, they smiled, but really it was more of a grimace and although they didn't sigh outwardly , they definitely sighed inwardly whenever they were asked for anything ; water , coffee, a map etc. It reminded me of the way the truly expensive French hotels were thirty years ago, but even the French have since learned the value of customer service . The hotel is on the beach and has a pool , but they have a policy of one beach towel per guest /day , which seems a little unrealistic for a seaside hotel . I discovered this when I was lectured by the pool boy for taking a second towel ! Another indication that the hotel is stuck in the past is that their breakfast buffet features only tinned fruit , this during harvest season in Italy . Save your money ! There are happy Italians out there who would love to have your business. Stay with them. Don't stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Good hotel. A little tired and breakfast was poor and WiFi flaky. Otherwise great