Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Amazing

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Absolute pleasure. We loved our stay and hope to return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Langley, B.C.

Beautiful location but not perfect...

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: The view from the dining room, the gym, the fact there is a shuttle, and the bartending staff.
Cons: Customer service. Kindness. Upgrade the linens and pillows.
Location: You can take the train to Pompeii for only a few euros. The Almafi Coast can be reached by Sita bus, (buy tickets in front of the train station).
This iconic hotel perched on the edge of a cliff over looking the Gulf of Naples delivers magnificent views that must be astounding in the summer months, (we were there in November). The view means that the hotel is out of town, and the shuttle runs once an hour ending at 8:15 pm so one must either walk, have a car, or be prepared to pay at least € 20 for a taxi to drive you the kilometre home. (You must pre-book the shuttle). The staff at the front desk offended me in three ways: 1) They offered little assistance when I desperately needed advice on how to get from Naples to Sorrento having missed my shuttle and the ferry due to a train strike. They offered a car for €110, but failed to tell me of the regional train that takes you from the Naples train station to Sorrento for €3.90. 2) Not only were they not helpful on that difficult travel day, one employee was impatient and arrogant on the phone with me. 3) They put us in a room on the 2nd floor while the 3rd floor was under construction. At 7:30 am, the hammering started. When we requested another room, we were taken to the first floor to a room over-looking the parking lot. The hotel was 1/3 full. I assumed I was treated so badly because I had gotten a deal on the price of the hotel through Expedia. The rest of the staff were lovely, especially the bartenders. There is a sense in this place that because it has had such a past you are lucky to stay there. The customer service, the linens, are not 5 star by any means.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Architecture and history

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Loved this hotel. History and architecture of hotel was fascinating. Although built in early 60's, it has been meticulously cared for and nicely updated. Very comfortable and clean. Overlooking the sea with beautiful gardens, the hotel is situated close to town. A shuttle runs to the center near train and bus station once an hour. And the staff-they are extremely helpful.We loved this hotel and would love to return! One comment about Sorrento. We made the mistake of renting a car and driving there from Naples. Don't drive there or to Pompeii, etc. Too stressful. Public trans is fine and quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN

Great unique hotel overlooking the sea

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: People, charm, location, unique architectural history, nearly all staff English-speaking
Cons: bed very firm, like to have more than 3 English tv channels (all news stations) & non instant coffee & bathroom fan & some convenience store nearby
Location: Town of Sorrento a mile away - very charming. Amalfi coast bus tour (Apostle St. Andrew remains located in Amalfi), Pompeii, Vesuvius
This was a great romantic stress-free getaway for 5 days. The staff is so nice and helpful. The grounds are unique as well as the hotel. Town of Sorrento is very appealing - also felt very safe walking around town and to/from town anytime. Improvements I mention below are minor compared to the unforgettable experience this vacation has been!
5 out of 5
by Carmelo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel overlooking the sea.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The view, the dining room, the breakfast, the helpful staff
Cons: For us having a balcony
Location: About a 20min walk into Sorrento where there are shops and restaurants plus the port and station to visit Capri, the Amalfi coast, Pompeii & Vesuvius.
Great first impression with our suitcase being brought down from the front gate for us as we strolled through the beautiful gardens to the hotel. Check in was quick and easy and we were taken to our room. We were slightly disappointed as, although it was an amazing view directly out over the bay of Naples, we had asked for a balcony and we only had a full length window opening onto a ledge behind a barrier. We walked into Sorrento then but on other occasions found the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel very convenient although last bus back was 9.15pm. The breakfast each morning was in the stunning dining room overlooking the bay and was very comprehensive, the fresh fruit was welcome as well as the variety of cakes and pastries but there was also cooked breakfast or traditional European breakfast. We didn’t eat in the restaurant for other meals as we were only on B and B and the prices for the menu were rather expensive though only what you would expect for this class of hotel. We were happy with the many restaurants in Sorrento to choose from. All in all a comfortable stay at October half term.
5 out of 5
by Pamela

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is beautiful! The tiles & furniture used in the hotel were designed by Gio Ponti. What a delight to the eyes! The hotel interior should be a stop for all to enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami FL

Great views

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Amazing experience, pleasant stay and great customer service.... the views are phenomenal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Breathtakingly georgeous hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Everything about this hotel was more than perfect. The staff. The room The views. But it’s number one asset is the property grounds with several buildings and areas to explore. Convenient to day trips such as Capri, Positano and Pompeii. Wish we could have spent more time on the property grounds but were busy sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Up market dining, great staff, view to die for ......
Superb 5 star hotel in a fantastic location ..............