Ratings based on 2,069 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just for emergency

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: odor in rooms, put water bottles on the rooms. air freshners
Location: location is perfect
Do something about the smell on the rooms. They smell like old
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from springfield, Va

Okay hotel, clean.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Hotel didn't really stand out, although it was fine. We've booked through Expedia for years, but for the first time, because we had booked through a third party, the hotel took our debit card at checkin and charged $200 to cover incidentals. We've only ever had hotels put a credit card "on file"...just in case. Since the room was only $92, we found a $200 hold on our checking to be excessive. The money was refunded two days later, but still...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, VA

Very marginal hotel in the heart of Springfield.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Making sure that ALL rooms are 100% ready for occupancy at all times. If they are not, leave them empty until all problems have been fixed.
Location: N/A
Upon our arrival at about midnight on Sept. 17th, we were given the keys to one room which, when we entered, had a horrible smell, as if somebody had tried to cover up the stench of dead bodies. I have never smelled anything like that in my life. When we requested and got another room, we were given one in which: 1) the A/C's fan sounded like a freight train when engaged (we ended up turning the temp way up so that the fan would kick in as little as possible), 2) the light above the bath sink would not turn on when the switch was engaged, though a few minutes later it inadvertently would, and 3) the TV would intermittently go out, leaving us watching "snow" for a minute or two at a time. We decided, however, to stay in that room yet another night as we did not have time the next day to make a switch, and also doubted that another room there would be much better. We did notify the front desk about the room's issues the morning after our check-in, and were told that "Engineering" would be notified and would correct the problems. That did not happen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only in emergencies!

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Overall Condition.
I have no idea how this hotel received a 3.9 rating; the owner/management must be rating their own hotel as highly as they can, everyday. Room and halls reeked of cigarettes even though no-smoking policy; reeked of mold/mildew; mold in the shower; overall facility requires a complete renovation. The breakfast seemed nice and full of food, restaurant was clean-ish... Although, look at the flat-top and grills and cutting boards behind the line - they were nasty and needed to be replaced... Only stayed here because there was really no other affordable option on short notice, almost all of the other hotels in the area were booked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best bang for your buck

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great breakfast! Great pool! Great service! The beds are average in comfort level but good experience overall. 15 mins from DC and close proximity to great food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old out dated and odd smell

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The carpet was so gross I never took off my shoes it had tons of mystery stains the top sheet had stains
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Room air is not working. Nathan tub is clog Breakfast is ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need to enhance Best Western Hotel Spirit

Posted Aug 11, 2016
I've arrived at the hotel in the night after 500 miles long drive, but I was greeted by a newly hired lady at front desk. She didnt know how to process my reservation stored in their computer system, so she brought her manager to help her out. The manager began to teach her on site how to handle my resevasion, rather than first directly completing my reservation. It almost took 30 minutes for me to get a room key after my first contact with in the front desk. The elevator in one side of the 6 story building was out of order, so I had to use the very opposite side of the elevator to move my stuffs. In addition, they said they will hold $200 in my credit card account in advance for incidental charegs such as breaking mirror and door lock etc, but I had to call the front desk right after opening the door because I found that the door lock has already remained inoperable. I just had to call for possible liability issue which they might incorrectly charge me for the door lock break. Overall, I don't recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus OH

Posted Aug 9, 2016
It was over populated and staff dont care about the customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Washroom Door was to hard to close, washroom exhaust did not work. One elevator out of total two remain close throughout my two days stay, not convenient to use that and walk all the way down. Location and price was good. Probably not consider to go again