Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hoboken, NJ

European style hotel with fabulous views!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The Waves is a lovely hotel. We had a large, pleasant room with a very comfortable king-size bed. The host, Susan, was helpful and caring. The restaurant is excellent and since we were staying at the hotel, we were guaranteed a table. A few suggestions to make this an even better experience: more frequent room service, including fresh towels and bedding, fix the persnickity a/c and provide healthier room snacks. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic necessities. Spacious rooms. Great location.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
We stay at this hotel because it is a very short walk to cane bay. We like to spend the day on the beach there. Great snorkel and scuba location. The hotel has the basics nothing fancy. Nice big balcony and you are right above the ocean. The restaurant at the hotel has great food (get the fresh lobster and also coconut ice cream)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
It's not luxury but can't beat the view. It was comfortable and has a great location . Close to cane bay and lots of restaurants. The restaurant Waves was great-the room was spacious the bed comfortable-was never sure when we were going to get towels or the bed changed, but would stay here again . Laura was super friendly and the staff at bar was really helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waves!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The overall location to water and other sites.. Although it didn't have beach access, the beach was a 5 minute walk away. The great restaurant!
Cons: Perhaps the only thing would be a small box of tissue, but other then that; the hotel was perfect.
Location: We took daily walks til the road ended at Carambola Beach Resort We also walked up Hwy 69 a good uphill hike. Cane Bay for the beach.
Laura, the manager was very professional, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, stocked with snacks, several bottles of water and coffee to get us started. They provided beach towels for our use as well as the option to use beach chairs if we needed. The room was large, clean and had magnificent views of the ocean with the sound of the waves crashing on the shoreline. Each room has a fabulous, large deck with two lounge chairs and small table. Morning Yoga was never better. The restaurant was fabulous. We ate several meals there and were not disappointed. The hotel is located on a "walking/biking" route which made it wonderful to go for our morning walks. There are several restaurants within walking distance. There is also a small beach, dive and scuba area within walking or short drive from the hotel. You do need a car to get to the center of St. Croix and other areas, but all are easily accessed from this location. We enjoyed this hotel very much and will return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from Hollywood Fl

Great Stay

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Oceanfront view personal service
Cons: no pool but the Atlantic Ocean is right there
Location: The Waves has an outstanding restaurant an is close to 3 other wonderful casual spots
Incredible view with a large balcony. The sound of the waves is hypnotic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Could be great, but misses the mark

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Pros: The view and the restaurant
Cons: Cleanliness and water issues
Location: Beautiful and away from most things
The Waves could be an outstanding little boutique hotel in St. Croix. Unfortunately, there are just too many negatives. But first the positives. Positives: Restaurant is outstanding. I cannot say enough about how superb the dinner we had at the restaurant. The food was literally straight form the ocean, it was flavorful, the service was excellent and the ambiance was wonderful. The views from the hotel are spectacular. The waves break right under your feet (hence the name), the coast and ocean views could not be beat. The staff was very helpful. Negatives: The room (especially the floor) were none too clean. There seemed to be missing standard supplies (like Kleenex). The air conditioner leaked water onto the dresser (right next to the TV, yikes!). The neighboring room leaked water into our room from under the floor. The door that connected us to the next room was acoustically transparent. Our neighbors had lots of fun much to our chagrin. There is no breakfast service available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from OC, CA, USA

The Waves at Cane Bay

Posted Jan 31, 2012
Pros: View, Restaurant, Staff
Cons: Table lamp in room did not work
Location: Right over the surf on Cane Bay. Lots of wave noise to sleep by.
The Waves at Cane Bay exceeded our expectations. The hotel/guest house is managed by a capable and experienced operator, Laura, who did a great job making my wife and I feel at home. The rooms all sit above the surf at Cane Bay on the North Shore of St. Croix and have great ocean views. The restaurant and bar far exceeded what one would expect at a small 10 room hotel/guest house. We could look down at 8 lobsters weighing between 2 and 4 1/2 pounds in a trap in the pool below the restaurant but chose the fresh mahi and fresh tuna. It turned out to be the best dinner we had in our 4 island trip around the Caribbean. We were only 10 minutes from Carambola's Davis Bay Beach and 20 minutes to the airport. We would love to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marty from West Palm Beach, FL, USA

A Beautiful Little Gem of a Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2012
Pros: The location and the comfortable room at oceans edge...literally
I am originally from the Boston area but have been living in the Caribbean for the past 15 years and travel regularly throughout the Caribbean for work. St. Croix as one of the U.S. Virgin Islands is my favorite to recommend to travellers. And the location of The Waves is situated close to one of the most beautiful beaches, the best dive spots, and along one of the most beautiful, scenic drives of this island. I was quite pleasantly suprised by this little hotel. Laura, the owner and host, could not be more welcoming and gracious. The rooms are simple, well maintained, and decorated in beautiful shades of ocean blues and sunset violet. The restaurant is only open for dinner but most rooms have a full kitchen. I loved sleeping with the porch doors open listening to the crashing waves. I will certainly recommend this hotel to my fellow travellers and friends. A beautiful little gem of a hotel on one of my favorite locations in all the Caribbean.