Ratings based on 849 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanover NH

Great bargain

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Large room with comfortabe beds, convenient
Cons: Internet connection. Overall the place is getting a bit in need of some refurbishing.
Location: Family visit to Stowe off season so not much nhappening nor was it expected.
We were visiting our son staying for one night. Expedia and other sites indicated a very attractive rate at the Stowe Inn so we took advantage of it. We were upgraded at check in and had a very pleasant stay. Only isssue we had was connecting to the internet. The link worked at the desk but disappeared by the time we returned to the room. Very minor problem for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

It Could Be Great....

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location close to ski areas, country charm, attractive dining room, affordable rate.
Cons: General updating, painting, carpets, ...
Location: Very nice village location, easy walk to many restaurants and shops. Also a short drive to many ski areas.
The reviews were all over the place, so some initial concern, but we had a good experience. The main building, where we stayed, has classic charm and wonderful potential, but at present seems tired and worn. During our mid-week stay, four nights, there were few guests and very few staff. A major snowstorm may have created some staffing difficulty, perhaps contributing to the apparent absence of maid service. The front desk did respond to our request for assistance with the room heat control and would, no doubt, have arranged for room cleaning and additional towels if asked..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review! We really appreciate it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Got room as it was cheap and we just need a bed.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: It was cheap.
Cons: They could fix the room, sweep it. Clean under bed. Do some basic maintenance. Main light switch didn't work. Some radiator panels were detached.
Location: Stowe is a great town with lots of great skiing in the area. Lots of great restaurants too!
We had a room detached from the main building. Room was run down and definitely not clean and in disrepair. It was a super cheap deal so I got what I paid for except it wasn't clean. Definitely I would not return. I must be honest and say I didn't complain. Mostly as I felt that the room was so inexpensive for Stowe ($81).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland Park, NJ

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
They told us we had no refrigerator in the run, but we did have one, so we were happy. Wifi was so-so, didn't always work great, they had to keep resetting it in the office. Room was spacious, extra couch and coffee table were nice extra's. The couch area was too dark for reading, so we asked and they brought us an extra floor lamp which gave us good light. No complaints, room was large, customer service was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best for Mid-Week Stays

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Proximity to town, quaint decor
Cons: Updated restaurant website (hours), maintenance on the heaters in the queen rooms
After arrival, I became increasingly glad I was there midweek. The first room that they assigned me was TINY and the heater made a ton of noise (in addition to blowing right at the bed). Because it was mid-week they were able to move me to another room that was significantly larger (probably an upgraded room) and had radiant heat - so if you're booking, look for the king bed rooms! Biggest complaint here - on Wednesday I intended to eat at the hotel restaurant (the website clearly says that they're open from 6-10 for dinner) and come to find out, they only serve drinks when it's too quiet. This was both insanely disappointing (as I had to walk to find a place that was open) and really misleading - the website needs to get updated as I booked this place partially for knowing I didn't have access to a car and they had a restaurant on site.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Bookkeeping

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
We reserved two rooms and paid for them at the inn. When my credit card bill arrived, there were charges for 3 additional rooms on the statement. I called the Stowe Inn several times and the people at the front desk were understanding, but unable to convince the owner to credit my account for their mistake. After several months of calls and faxes, my credit card company was able to credit my account. The ordeal was very time consuming, frustrating and stressful. I won't reserve another room at the Stowe Inn.
4 out of 5
by ThomasThomas

Stowe!

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Service excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just OK- nothing to write home about-location good

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
the worst complaint about the room was the heating system. we finally got the heat right, as to comfort, but that did not cure the unusually loud noises, that would start up at all hours of day and night. I don't believe this was the case in all rooms since the staff offered to move us to another room. Only coffee and not so good muffins offered in am. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Price was somewhat high for days of week and we were practically only residents on Monday and Tuesday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice atmosphere but in need of some TLC

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
It was nice to stay in a historic inn, it was clean but unfortunately our room was not in great condition, some internal doors wouldn't close, you couldn't adjust the heat, the bath and sink plugs didn't work. The food in the tavern was terrible. The rest of the inn was nice and had a nice atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
While Stowe is charming, this hotel isn't. It may be a historically-deeded property, but I don't think the property has been updated since the Revolutionary War. The ambiance was more along the lines of the Bates Motel. Room was freezing when we entered and we had to wait most of the night for it to heat up, the sink didn't drain, and half the light fixtures didn't work. It snowed overnight and at 8:00 AM when we went to check out it was hard to navigate from the hotel to the parking lot because nothing had been shoveled or plowed. I do not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again.