Ratings based on 695 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run Down and not as depicted on Expedia

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: The lobby looked good. There was no coffee or tea available in the morning.
Cons: See above
Location: Stowe is a nice town with seasonal activities. Not many nice, reasonably priced hotels.They prefer tourists with deep pockets. You limit remarks :(
Pictures were not of the room we were given. No pictures of what we were given on the hotel website or on Expedia. Hotel staff was nice enough when we arrived. No other contact with them afterward. Room was in poor repair. Took a pillow out of the closet where the spares are kept. Found hairs on the pillow. Linens on the beds seemed as if they were straightened out, but not changed after the last guests. Bathroom was in need of serious updating and repair. Black mold on the ceiling over the bathtub looked like they tried to wash it off, but didn't do a good job of that either. Tiles on the shower walls were broken, black grout, pushed in around the faucets. Toilet moved when you sat on it. Dirty around the base. Room was excessively warm and we never turned on any heat. Had to turn on the A/C to cool off the room. Outside temps were in the 50's and there was frost in the mornings, but the room stayed very warm. Couch in the room looked dirty and was outdated and lumpy. Rug needed shampooing and bathroom floor needed cleaning. Would not recommend this hotel until some serious work was done. Lots of people from out of state (by license plates) were staying there. Don't know how the rooms in the main building were, maybe those were the rooms on the site. The ones across the parking lot from the office were in poor condition. Sort of a bait and switch situation. If you are staying there make sure you are getting rooms in the main building before you go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Excellent Staff Poor Accomodation

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Change floor carpets
Location: Wonderful hiking and dining opportunities. Great bagel and coffee shop nearlby
Helpful staff at the reception and the restarant. Dirty Carpets and sofas. Clean baths, towels, bed sheets and pillows. Minimum service after 10 pm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Americus GA

On the Hill

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Very pretty setting when we had dinner and breakfast
Cons: Only what was mentioned above.
Our room was not in the Inn but on the hill across from the main building. Not a good room at all. The headboard of the bed even fell off the wall while we were sitting and watching TV. Could use some updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 3 Star Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2015
We were supposed to get a queen size bed but we got 2 double beds. The bathroom had mold in the tile grout which you don't expect in a 3 star hotel. The room needs a much needed modern update. We have friends that stayed the same night & had to change rooms because their room smelled so bad. The staff was ok. I'd give this hotel a 2 star at best
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

hôtel correct

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Très bien situé. Bel environnement.
Cons: Améliorer la propreté , WIFI et le déjeuner.
Location: Situé dans le Village de Stowe. Près de plusieurs sentiers de randonnée pédestre,
J'avais fait une réservation pour 5 adultes et un enfant avec une demande de 2 lits pliants. Arrivée à l'hôtel on m'informe qu'il n'est pas possible d'avoir les 2 lits extra.On me suggère de louer une autre chambre plus dispendieuse. Je décide de garder ma 1ère réservation et finalement il y avait un sofa lit dans la chambre. La propreté de la chambre était moyenne. Nous avions seulement 2 petites serviettes pour 6 personnes. Nous avons du faire une demande pour des serviettes que nous avons reçues rapidement. Notre chambre était très mal insonorisée.Le wifi ne fonctionnait pas souvent Nous entendions l'enfant crier de la chambre voisine. Le déjeuner n'est pas compris mais offert au restaurant de l'hôtel. Très belle vue au restaurant. Personnel gentil, mais très petite portion et pas beaucoup de choix.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Don't let the pictures fool you. Stowe Inn is a quaint little place. But.. Poor management, poor customer service. Over priced compared to other places we stayed in the area. Not a welcoming place at all. Period. Bring your own coffee. None in room or in lobby. Close to town but not the ski area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Iffy hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The location was excellent. The bar and fireplace rooms were cozy. The Inn was quiet.
Cons: Bad wireless,hot water,hotel maintenance. Witnessed 3 different parties at the front desk having difficulties because the hotel lost their reservation
Location: You can walk to shops and restaurants from the hotel.Enjoyed The Bench restaurant which is within a short walk.
It is a beautiful old Inn in a great location right in the village center but it is neglected and run down. The hotel and restaurant staff were inadequate in number and competence. Wireless is terrible. Hot water was in short supply.The bedding did not smell fresh. The hotel food is not worth eating, go to one of the restaurants nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga,ON

Decent rooms, Poor In Housekeeping

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Location: Visitors centre is walking distance, as were some coffee shops, short walk to Stowe Recreation Park, Mansfield Mountain, Smugglers Notch Park
Our room size was great, double beds as requested. Exhaust (turned on automatically with light) in bathroom super loud. Breakfast not included. We`ve paid less at any other hotel or inn we have stayed at while travelling, this is the first time we had to request glasses for the room - they didn`t seem to feel too sorry for them not being there. When we came back from sightseeing, our room was not cleaned or made up. Happy to request it through the door hanger thing, but that wasn`t available to us before we left that day. When we called to ask for it, someone eventually came but only re-made our beds and replaced towels - they left behind some used ones for some reason.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Plenty - It should be sfatey inspected for electric compliance?
Location: Stowe is a nice little quiant town.
The pictures and reviews do not show the truth of the condition of this hotel! The AC installed on windows used extension cable and plugged to 15 Am outlet. In addition, the floor heater vents are not properly maintained with exposed wires. The bedsheet has stained in them and so were some towels. The floor creaks. Our travel friends have their bedrails fall off the headboard. Carpet was not clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scarsdale, NY

Under staffed and tired

Posted Oct 8, 2015
We arrived at 3 pm as that was the check in time. We had to wait 1 hour 15 minutes before the two rooms were ready. In one room the bed was not made properly and the bathrooms were outdated and stained.