Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Warrington, UK

Good place to start N Norway trip

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Good location. Good breakfast offering a wide variety of foods.
Cons: Bed was too big for size of room, so lack of space for luggage
A short stay before joining the boat to Kirkenes, the hotel was well situated for the harbour (a couple of blocks away) and pubs and restaurants. The tea/coffee making facilities didn't really provide enough tea for a double occupancy (choice was of "fancy teas" teas and no standard tea (e.g. English breakfast) The bed was positioned diagonally in the room, making some space unusable that could have been used to put suitcases - for which space was lacking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Brilliant. Right next to all the bits you want, food and mountains. Perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Very clean, modern rooms though a bit on the small size but to be expected for European hotels. Staff was friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate a last minute request to find a room large enough to fit a roll-away bed. Continental breakfast is excellent - lots of options inclu. smoothie shots and hot foods like eggs, breakfast meats, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Great staff, comfortable stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: I prefer a bit more space, but that cannot be changed so, really, the Hotel is great as is.
Location: Great location from which one can walk or take a bus anywhere - several good museums and art galleries, the cable car, the Arctic Cathedral, etc.
Really enjoyed staying at the Thon Hotel in Tromso, and particularly appreciated the staff - they were professional and very helpful. The room was comfortable, although a bit small, and very clean. The breakfast was outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pagham, UK

Good town centre hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Reception staff were excellent. One of the widest selections at breakfast buffet that we have ever seen.
Location: Right in the town centre, so shops, restaurants and attractions all within walking distance.
Not the largest of rooms but OK for one night. Good comfortable king size bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Jenny Viklund, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay and wish you welcome back any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good, clean, friendly hotel in convenient location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Would recommend this hotel if you want a comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay, close to the centre of Tromsø. Room was clean and with enough space to relax without being enormous. Breakfast which was included was good, lots of choice to fill up with at start of the day! All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Very central and convenient

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: They served the best hotel breakfast I have experienced anywhere! A fantastic choice with daily variations
Cons: Temperature control in the room. More acknowledgement from staff
The room was on the small side with little storage space. The temperature was too hot despite turning off the radiator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice buffet breakfast. Excellent internet.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Easy access.
Cons: The room temperatures were very warm and uncomfortably . very dry in the hotel.
Location: Local busses nearby and gift shops. Also some cheaper places to eat.
Close to the main street and restaurant and airport express buss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Central Location

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Thon Tromso was in an excellent location. Right around the corner from the Flybussen. Right down the street from the main avenue. 5 minutes walk to the pier. Close to places to eat, bars, museums and other activities. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They answered all of my questions, gave me directions, etc. They were very accommodating. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Staff servicing the dining room were very friendly and they kept everything clean and stocked. My room was a little small but was perfect for me. Beds, pillows, room temperature were comfortable. I plan on going back to Tromso and will definitely stay again at the Thon Tromso. Would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel, sometimes unpleasant staff

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Stayed here for the second time after a 1 week fishing trip. Staff were excellent the first time. This time, not so much. Despite knowing i spoke english and french would speak to me in norwegian. Not the worst though. Same desk attendant told me and others we couldnt check in early but let locals check in maybe an hour later still way before he said rooms are available. I was never notified when to come check in even though i waited in the hotel lobby for hours with the same staff around.