Ratings based on 866 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Right on the most beatiful beach. Rooms are really comfortable, in great condition. 10 minutes walk to the restaurant and shops, one of the closest in the area. Rooms are clean but I wasn't happy with the towels. Overall it was great. I would go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location to Beach and Town

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location since I was ocean front to such beauty and also walking distance to town.
Cons: Rooms need updating. My phone did not work, air conditioner had problem on day 1 and was hot
Location: Great Ocean Front-very close to lovely town-
This is my 3rd trips to Turks and Caicos. The best island anywhere!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Family friendly Hotel. Water amenities. Friendly

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Spacious rooms. Dishwasher, updated appliances, toaster, microwave. Washer dryer. Screened in porch. The porch furniture should be updated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice hotel....close to beach and much more

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location. We were able to bike to the store and restaurants. You can walk too. You can walk on the beach and get to many restaurants and snorkeling
Cons: The restaurant Hemingways needs much improvement. Bad food....bad staff.
Location: You can walk or bike to grocery stores and restaurants. You can walk the beach to many attractions like snorkeling. We rarely used a taxi.
We just went to Turks for the first time. Loved it. We chose the Sands because of it's location and price. We were pleasantly surprised. Right away they upgraded us to an ocean view and the room was so much larger than it looked in the photos. The balcony was amazing! Large and wrapped all around the room with chairs and tables to lounge at and even eat breakfast. They have it screened in which is very nice....we sat out there a lot. The pool area is just so so. Not too many people at the pool since the hotel is right on the beach and that is the main attraction. We were very disappointed in the only restaurant on site. Hemingways. The food is overpriced and not good. The staff wasn't very friendly and one day we asked for a side of tortilla chips to munch with our conch salad and they refused. We couldn't believe it.....we had already consumed $90 dollars in drinks and one measly salad and they said we would have to order a whole order of chips and salsa if we wanted some tortilla chips. We were very put out and didn't go back after that. The staff by the beach isn't much better. All the rest of the staff though is amazing....housekeepers, front desk etc. The good news is that you can use their bikes for free and we rode to town many times to get supplies. We cooked quite a bit in our room.....at least breakfast and lunch and saved a ton of money. The restaurants are very pretty expensive. All in all....we would go back because the location was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Carolyn , Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank you for your recent feedback. We were happy to hear that all other aspects of your stay was a good one and that you will be returning to The Beautiful by Nature, Turks and Caicos Islands and The Sands at Grace Bay. We were sorry to learn your experience in Hemingway’s was not a good one and that our staff was not in our usual friendly manner. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We will share your feedback with our entire team. With regards to the chips and salsa, while I understand your desire of wanting some chips to go along with the salad (I like it that way to) it is not offered as a side portion, we will certainly look into your request for future menu consideration. We were quite surprised that your perception was the food was not good. We are known for being one of the best values with a consistent product on the island. If you would kindly let us know specifically what you thought was not good, that would certainly help us understand what we can do differently and review this with our Chef. In addition, we often compare prices with other similar restaurants on island to remain competitive. Again, thank you Kim for taking the time to let us know how your stay was and the opportunity to respond. We look forward to hearing back from you. Sincerely, Carolyn Robinson | General Manager | Hemingway's Restaurant (649) 941-8408 w
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno Ca.

Nice and quite hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Rooms need updating, but found out they will be closing for renovation in Aug for 3 months.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Excellent facility. professional staff. Great amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Sands at Grace Bay

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: La struttura nuova e ben tenuta
Soggiorno molto gradevole in struttura tranquilla ma elegante e ben attrezzata
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tolland, CT

Great location

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Self contained condo with full kitchen facilities.
Cons: Two stove burners did not work.
Location: Walking distance to many shops, restaurants, a local grocery store and of course, miles of beach.
The Sands at Grace Bay was a delight. It is steps from the beach, has 3 pools, a hot tub, lots of water activity options including a Hobie Cat, stand up paddle boards, snorkeling equipment and kayaks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Don't believe what the pictures show on Expedia

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The staff is friendly, and they seem as if they want to help, but may be slow to get to your needs
Cons: The hotel rooms need to be remodeled and upgraded for the basic needs.
Location: It is in the middle of Grace bay, a wonderful beach and area with plenty of bars and restaurants.
We purchased the garden view. Not one of the online pics on Expedia show our type of room. Very old and beat up. The bed had a broken leg on it and was never fixed. We awoke night number two to a bad sewer smell coming up from the drains at 2am. We moved to a smaller and older room, even worse. The light in the bathroom was broken and the fixture so old the bulb could not be replaced. It took 2 days to get the broken hairdryer replaced. A very basic room, and from the pictures we were expecting something much nicer. The grounds are nice, landscapers always working on them. The water they use for the plants seems to be secondary somewhat cleaned up septic tank water, it has that sewage smell to it. You smell it every morning when you walk through to the beach after they water. Don't trust the ice cubes from Hemingway's restaurant, they may make your stomach upset if it is sensitive.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by The Sands , Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and your kind feedback regarding our landscaping and staff. We were sorry to learn we were not as timely with to any calls you may have made for repairs and apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced as a result. Your feedback was shared with our management team. Regarding watering the plants, indeed we reuse water on the Island to be environmentally green, and given that we have very little rainfall. It usually does not have an odor, however we did have to correct this concern and since then have had no issues. We are pleased to announce that we are refurbishing our rooms this summer which will be our living rooms, dining rooms, kitchens and patio/balconies. As for Hemingway’s ice, all of our water comes from the Providenciales City Water supply which goes through a reverse osmosis process. Some water may taste differently and act different to persons when travelling. It is completely safe and tested regularly by city officials. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Turks and Caicos in the future. Yours sincerely, Mona Beeson General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
The bellman took my suitcase to room and laughing and joking with the maids along the way and telling me how all the women loved him, then in my room, proceeded to sit down on chair until my husband came in and he promptly got up, felt uncomfortable. We called front desk for an ice bucket and ice and we never received it. The furniture felt so saggy and well worn out and paint chipping off various places and it overall just felt very nasty. We could hardly wait to leave in the morning. Our friends stayed there as well in another room and took a picture of a roach crawling around the ceiling, yuk. We would never, never stay there again and were so happy to leave. This is the first bad review of a resort that I have ever given but you need to know to take better care of your property and train your staff a lot better.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by The Sands, Hotel Management
Dear Peggy, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences. We were sorry to learn of the issues you experienced and apologize for any inconveniences you may have had as a result. We usually take pride in the services and product we provide and regret your experience was not a good one. I have shared your feedback with our entire management team. If time permits, would you be able to provide us further details such as your room number so that we may have the opportunity to take corrective actions. Yours sincerely Mona Beeson General Manager