Ratings based on 599 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Right on the beach. Well located.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Bare bones kitchen, mediocre bed. Staff mixed in terms of customer service. Internet wifi went out for three nights. Great view and grounds and restaurant are nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Relaxing place directly on Grace Bay

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, attentive staff, good restaurant on premises Rooms have had recent updating
Cons: Pool water could be a little warmer
Location: Great restaurants nearby, lovely town is within walking distance, various water sports available
6 days of heaven! A spacious condo with a screened in porch for the price of a hotel room. This was our 4th visit to this hotel and we plan to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Location was key here. Close to shops and restaurants. Disappointed their kitchen was missing some pans to cook. They only had one part of the broiler pan and no cookie sheets. Not even a roasting pan (although after 2 days of asking we finally got). I'm the crazy person that likes to cook on vacation. Whenever we had a request for the front desk, coffee, pepper, towels, or even sugar, we had to call at least 3 times and some times we didn't even hear back from them. They did resolve my issue of extra charges on my bill. Hemingways posted another customers bill to my room numerous times- granted the customer wrote down our room number. However Wynet and Barbara took care of it and requested that Hemingway provide us a free lunch before our departure and they did. Our checkout took an hour to resolve and Wynet and Barbara apologized over and over for the mistake. All of the staff were great and friendly- however I'm not sure I would stay here again. My husband and I love to snorkel and we walked along the beach down to the reach (recommended by one of the employees at the towel desk) and we saw so much. It was really great. I also think next time I'd stay closer to the reef.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, United States of America

There's probably a better place to stay

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Size of the room. Was more like an apartment
Cons: See above
Location: Unless you're into diving not much to do. Shopping spars; everything is very overpriced. Everything closes at 10pm.
Our room was beautiful & much bigger than a couple on weekend getaway would need. I'm always working & very disappointed that the wifi service didn't reach the beach. We moved to the beautiful pool area only to be distracted by kids running all around the pool desks unattended & in the spa area where it was clearly posted they were under age. At time of check out only 1 computer was available to print so the line was extremely long. The first time we've ever been somewhere & they have to run your card multiple times for small amounts to get transactions approved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Enjoyable

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Best stretch of beach. Proximal to many good restaurants, activities and shopping. Easy drive to the marinas and other points of interest
We have stayed at the sands multiple times over the past five years. Still a very nice resort on the best stretch of beach on grace bay. The staff of both the hotel and the restaurant are gracious and welcoming. The rooms are showing some wear and the amenities are falling behind those of neighboring resorts. Stilll worth a stay, just feels like less of a value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor Ontario

The Sands Grace Bay

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros:
Just returned from our trip to Grace Bay. The Sands Hotel was lovely. We had a one bedroom condo, ocean view. The view was stunning, with a huge wrap around balcony. You could see the ocean from your bedroom as well as living room. The condo was spacious and very well equipped. Everything was spotless, and furniture very well appointed. The location of the Sands, is also fabulous, with-in walking distance to grocery store, lots of great restaurants, and really cute boutiques. The staff were very friendly, courteous and always accommodating. The beach was gorgeous, with an abundance of thatched cabanas, for shade, when you needed it. If your looking for a laid back, quiet, elegant, relaxing resort, the Sands is the one for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Right on the most beatiful beach. Rooms are really comfortable, in great condition. 10 minutes walk to the restaurant and shops, one of the closest in the area. Rooms are clean but I wasn't happy with the towels. Overall it was great. I would go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location to Beach and Town

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location since I was ocean front to such beauty and also walking distance to town.
Cons: Rooms need updating. My phone did not work, air conditioner had problem on day 1 and was hot
Location: Great Ocean Front-very close to lovely town-
This is my 3rd trips to Turks and Caicos. The best island anywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Family friendly Hotel. Water amenities. Friendly

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Spacious rooms. Dishwasher, updated appliances, toaster, microwave. Washer dryer. Screened in porch. The porch furniture should be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice hotel....close to beach and much more

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location. We were able to bike to the store and restaurants. You can walk too. You can walk on the beach and get to many restaurants and snorkeling
Cons: The restaurant Hemingways needs much improvement. Bad food....bad staff.
Location: You can walk or bike to grocery stores and restaurants. You can walk the beach to many attractions like snorkeling. We rarely used a taxi.
We just went to Turks for the first time. Loved it. We chose the Sands because of it's location and price. We were pleasantly surprised. Right away they upgraded us to an ocean view and the room was so much larger than it looked in the photos. The balcony was amazing! Large and wrapped all around the room with chairs and tables to lounge at and even eat breakfast. They have it screened in which is very nice....we sat out there a lot. The pool area is just so so. Not too many people at the pool since the hotel is right on the beach and that is the main attraction. We were very disappointed in the only restaurant on site. Hemingways. The food is overpriced and not good. The staff wasn't very friendly and one day we asked for a side of tortilla chips to munch with our conch salad and they refused. We couldn't believe it.....we had already consumed $90 dollars in drinks and one measly salad and they said we would have to order a whole order of chips and salsa if we wanted some tortilla chips. We were very put out and didn't go back after that. The staff by the beach isn't much better. All the rest of the staff though is amazing....housekeepers, front desk etc. The good news is that you can use their bikes for free and we rode to town many times to get supplies. We cooked quite a bit in our room.....at least breakfast and lunch and saved a ton of money. The restaurants are very pretty expensive. All in all....we would go back because the location was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2016 by Carolyn , Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank you for your recent feedback. We were happy to hear that all other aspects of your stay was a good one and that you will be returning to The Beautiful by Nature, Turks and Caicos Islands and The Sands at Grace Bay. We were sorry to learn your experience in Hemingway’s was not a good one and that our staff was not in our usual friendly manner. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We will share your feedback with our entire team. With regards to the chips and salsa, while I understand your desire of wanting some chips to go along with the salad (I like it that way to) it is not offered as a side portion, we will certainly look into your request for future menu consideration. We were quite surprised that your perception was the food was not good. We are known for being one of the best values with a consistent product on the island. If you would kindly let us know specifically what you thought was not good, that would certainly help us understand what we can do differently and review this with our Chef. In addition, we often compare prices with other similar restaurants on island to remain competitive. Again, thank you Kim for taking the time to let us know how your stay was and the opportunity to respond. We look forward to hearing back from you. Sincerely, Carolyn Robinson | General Manager | Hemingway's Restaurant (649) 941-8408 w