Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Unique experience in lovely surroundings

Posted Jun 27, 2017
This was a really interesting and unique experience. The rooms were a good size and the shared bedrooms were nice and clean. The only downside was that there was no staff anywhere when we arrived. There weren't any issues it just felt a bit strange letting ourselves in and taking the keys. That aside, I don't have anything bad to say. I probably wouldn't stay here more than 1 night but I would definitely recommend giving it a go!
5 out of 5
by M C from London

Great B&B with lots of history

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely B&B. We were hesitant about the shared toilet facilities but it was all really clean, near our room and almost never occupied so it for like 'ours' anyway. Great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adventure in both a good and bad way

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
This is a B and B that is part of an island fortress about 1/2 drive north east of Stockholm. The ferry to it runs every 15 minutes from about 10 am to 9:30 pm at the height of the tourist season. If you miss it you will have to hire a private water taxi for an exorbitant amount of money. Then you will have to traverse a long extent of loose gravel that will not allow you to roll your suitcase. Then you will have to haul the suitcases up and down steep stone steps. There is staff only in the morning to serve breakfast, which as is a mentioned in most reviews, includes delicious bread. There is no other place to get food on the island but the town of Vaxholm is right across the very narrow strait. The washrooms are separate from the rooms and are communal, though they do afford privacy. They get pretty messy after a few people have had showers and used the toilets. The bedrooms have no tv and poor wifi so there is nothing to do but enjoy the scenery which is beautiful. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. If you can put up with all the inconveniences for the experience of sleeping in a fortress on an island in the middle of some spectacular scenery then it is worth it. If you prefer creature comfort this is not the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds uk

very different B and B

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: the location
Cons: nothing
Location: Vaxholm a short ferry ride away. Good food at Waxholm hotel but particularly liked Boulangerie for coffee and cakes and the ducks that came inside.
didn't really know what to expect. My husband was particularly excited about being in a castle on an island. As we visited in low season a lot of things were closed but that added to the peace. Room spacious and clean. Breakfast ample.
1 out of 5
by Robert from NEW YORK

WORST PLACE, TOO DANGEROUS TO STAY

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
RUN AWAY, DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!!! THERE IS NO SECURITY, NO ONE AT THE CASTLE, NO BATHROOM, NO TELEPHONE, NO TV, NO INTERNET
4 out of 5
by Michelle from Portland, OR

Island stay

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
It was a great experience, only problem we had was getting to the island as the ferry had stopped running for the season so we had to hire a taxibat. Over all it was beautiful and secluded and a great starting point to see the other islands!
5 out of 5
by Sofia from New York

Stay in an old fortress

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Having a chance to stay in a 1500s fortress was awesome!
3 out of 5
by Oliver

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
No king or queen size beds available
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Unique experience - difficult to get to

Posted Jul 19, 2015
While it is neat to stay overnight in a castle, the breakfast is great and the staff friendly - there are some things to keep in mind when booking this hotel: the hotel is on an island. There is a free ferry but it only runs from 1100-1700 on days the castle museum is open. At all other times is costs varying amounts of money. Parking is difficult and crowded in Vaxholm. Bathrooms for this hotel are communal - the showers/toilets themselves are private but you do have to walk down the hall to get to them. Internet is available but not always reliable. The hotel staff is not there at night (we arrived and essentially checked ourselves in).
4 out of 5
by Sam from Seattle, WA

Castle on an Island!

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great stay! Really fun location like a castle on a small small island. You need to use the ferry service to the island (free if you stay at the B&B). The last posted ferry departure time was at 5 PM when we visited. Just plan accordingly. There are no food services on the island in the evening. We brought a light dinner. There were actually later ferries but it was not posted on the schedule. Check in with the tourism office to get direction about where to park. I parked at the school a 5-10 walk away from the ferry. The breakfast was really great. Fantastic visit!