Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Joseph

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
You wouldn't want to spend your honeymoon in this tired old place, but I got a good bed and a reasonably clean room. The staff is good hearted but has a poor command of English. The air conditioning worked. The towels, as previously reported, were old and hard, but clean. Most clients were construction workers, who were peaceful. I never felt threatened, and I slept well.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Portsmouth

Fine for the money

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
I only stayed one night and got in rather late, but check-in was fairly easy at the side window. Room was fine for an out-of-the-way roadside motel. There was a TV, mini-fridge, and microwave. Heat/air condition worked fine and the place was reasonably clean. My only complaint is that whenever someone flushed a toilet in the place, the pipes shuddered and made a racket for 10 seconds or so, which woke me up in the middle of the night.
1 out of 5
by Edward

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
It stinks. We are leaving after one night and losing money. The smell is awful and making me sick never again
4 out of 5
by Thomas from AL

A good nights rest

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
It is great for a night or two, very roomy needs some updated furniture but meet our needs. I would recommend it and I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2016
There wasn't a blanket on the bed and the bathroom was nasty.
1 out of 5
by Shari from Ann Arbor

Discrimination against a dog

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
I booked this hotel, and could not write that I have a Therapy dog. I also was bringing my 84 year old aunt in my room, and booked saying there were 2 adults staying in the room, and I will willing to pay the price. We arrived at exactly 12 p.m. and the man-I will not call him a gentleman-was happy to take my money. While he was ringing me up, I was honest with him and told him I have a therapy dog. He stopped and told me that dogs cost $20.00 to stay in the room, and I informed him again that my dog is a therapy dog. He then told me "NO DOGS." They have had too many problems with dogs, and quickly refunded my money. This is outright discrimination, and I will be contacting the Virginia States Attorney office. My recommendation to all...I forgive this man, but who knows what other people he has maddened. He didn't even consider that I had my 84 year old aunt in the car, and there was no room for honest people at the Inn. Is he running an inn or a brothel? I rated the room poorly because I did not see it, but the town is lovely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best price in area

Posted Jan 2, 2016
The new owners did everyting to make our stay comfy. The motel is older but is being refreshed with new paint, floors, etc. The rooms are big, beds and sheets comfy, and there were all the usual amenities like frig, microwave, coffe pot, etc. We had three rooms for a three-night stay; one room could have been vacuumed a little better before we got there ( but it is near beaches so sand is inevitable...) For the price, number of nights we needed, and given that there are few alternatives in this remote area, this was our only affordable choice. It gets three stars due to age. Overall it was a positive stay.
3 out of 5
by Jeff from Warrenton

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
Just a quick overnight for a fishing trip. Room was acceptable and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falls Church, VA

Nicely updated, renovated, and great price!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
For a roadside hotel, the accommodations were very comfortable for one-night we were in that area of VA. The staff was friendly and let us check in hours before regular check-in, because we were attending a wine and food festival nearby. The bed in our room (#23) was very comfortable. The interior of our room appeared to have been recently renovated, and furniture seemed new. If you're passing through and need a comfy place to stay for one or two nights, I'd recommend the Whispering Pines Motel.
4 out of 5
by Nick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels