Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing absolutely nothing
Cons: Have the premises leveled to the ground
Location: Positioned near the highway to nab weary travellers to room fit for a dog and then take their money.
Worst experience ever, mold in bathroom, poor breakfast offers bed out of the ark,springs popping out,rubber mat was most uncomfortable to sleep on,bed spread was oh my God horrible....Red Roof....I will NEVER stay there again these people should be ashamed to take money for lodgings such as this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rude desk clerk

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Had a problem at check in with the check in dates and the clerk proceeded to check me in on the correct date and allow me to cancel the mistaken date and had me swipe my credit card which charged my card immediately and then realized she made a mistake and refused to acknowledge her mistake and help with options to correct the issue. the additional charges to my card left my account with insufficient funds to acquire another room or charge again to correct the scheduling issues then she was vary rude with the whole situation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Hotel Staff Was MisInformed

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Its is pet friendly
Cons: The courtesy of the front desk. They are not customer service oriented and do the bare minimum to get you check in
Location: Location is great for making a North South Car trip
I booked this hotel room via Expedia and prepaid for the room. Upon checking in the desk clerk advised me that I had not paid but only reserved the room. He said he would charge my room to my credit card. I asked him again as I stated that I believed I had already paid for the room. He again clearly stated that I did not pay and I would be charge for the room. I went back to the room and checked my credit card statements to find that I did indeed paid for the room. I also found a pending charge of the room costs on my credit card. I went to the desk to state I was being charged twice. Another clerk checked my records and did confirm the original payment was collected. I asked about the new pending charge and they claim that was my bank posting a charge and that it would drop off. I asked why the first clerk who was still there insisted that I did not pay and said that he was going to charge me and now a charge shows up. She stated he was new and did not see the code stating I already paid. My point is that a clerk should know when an Expedia client has paid or just reserved. This shows that Red Roof staff is not well trained and not guest friendly. They just brushed my concerns aside and said that is was just an oversight. I am disappointed in a staff that does not know when a payment is made. I am still waiting to see if the second charge is drop and if not they can expect a phone call. Also the room door is awful. It is hard to push open and pull close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, MD

Decent place for the money.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Plenty of space. The employee's were very nice.
Cons: The breakfast could have been a bit better. The first day there they had make your own waffles which were good. The next 2 days just frozen ones, apples and cereal. I really only had one problem with this place. 3 weeks before our stay I booked a smoking room. 2 days after I booked it I called the motel itself to confirm that I had a smoking deluxe room as stated on my reservation paperwork. Front desk confirmed it was a deluxe smoking I had booked. When we arrived I was told I was being put in a non smoking room. Pulled out my paperwork and showed them I had booked a smoking room. They didn't have a smoking room available as all of them were being renovated. So someone changed my booking but they didn't bother to tell me that it had been changed. Had I known beforehand I would have changed motels. As it was I couldn't find another motel at the price I had gotten this one for, so we stayed. Asked for a discount but was told no because I already had the best price possible with my early booking. Otherwise I did enjoy the place. The weather was nice so we just pulled chairs out and set outside of our room lol.
Location: Winchester, Va. Marker Miller Orchard. Harpers Ferry, WV. Thrift Stores.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location off highway

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The only complaint is the very hard mattresses, sleepless night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nothing fancy

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Nothing in particular.
Location: Lots of Civil War related stuff in the general area.
Place was okay with a good location just off the interstate and across the street from a Duncan Donuts. It was okay and worked for us for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Nice

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Toilet ran all night. They had to replace shower head, bathroom light was burned out, they replaced it. Bed was very lumpy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been cleaner.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: We were tired and able to sleep in a bed after sleeping in vehicles night before as a result of hurricane evacuation!
Cons: Advertises breakfast, but cold cereal and toast not much to offer.
Location: Right off interstate was great location
No hair dryer, bed ok.Could have been cleaner. Outside entrance ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Easy stop off highway

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Was very pleased this time!! Havestayed here 10 times & it seemed to be a hit or miss with the rooms. The bed & bedding seemed new & room was clean: you would never know it was designated for pets!! Desk clerk said they will be replacing the rug with new non-wood flooring which is great in a pet friendly hotel. Very nice for our needs: we travel with dogs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
The cleaner knocks on the door in a very anoying way