Primary image

Reviews of Methow River Lodge & Cabins

2.5 out of 5
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
110 White Ave, Winthrop, WA

Overall score and ratings

4.6

Wonderful

Rating 5 - Excellent. 320 out of 470 reviews
5 - Excellent 68%
Rating 4 - Good. 119 out of 470 reviews
4 - Good 25%
Rating 3 - Okay. 22 out of 470 reviews
3 - Okay 5%
Rating 2 - Poor. 5 out of 470 reviews
2 - Poor 1%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 4 out of 470 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.7/5

Cleanliness

4.6/5

Staff & service

4.3/5

Amenities

4.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

4.4/5

Eco-friendliness

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Winthrop is a touristy spot so staying at Methow River Lodge, being just a bit outside of the main part of town, was quiet and quaint. The staff was knowledgeable and kind.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2022
Response from Tawny on Aug 16, 2022
Thank you for staying with us!

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Staff & service
Staff fighting, rooms were dirty. Sheets inside out, fridge dirty and sticky, dead bugs and so much more! I have stayed here in the past when previous owners where still there and it was always clean. Unfortunately it is not anymore. I took pictures for front desk and was able to get a refund.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2022
Response from Tawny on Aug 9, 2022
Thank you Daryn for making us aware of the issues you experienced. We work hard to provide a clean and relaxing environment for our guests and we dropped the ball on your stay. We do apologize and steps were taken to remedy the issues in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very clean, easy check in and out, within walking distance of the main attractions in town over a foot bridge.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2022
Response from Tawny on Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for staying with us.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great beds and large room. Watching the deer in the morning from the balcony was a real treat
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for staying with us.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful location, very clean, walking distance to town. Staff is very kind and helpful.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Aug 2, 2022
Thank you for staying with us!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed our stay at the Lodge. The room overlooked the river with a small balcony where we could enjoy the cool mornings. At temps around 97 in the afternoon, the air conditioner worked well. The staff was particularly friendly and the rooms were clean. The lodge is about .5 miles from the center of Winthrop - made an easier walk by the pedestrian bridge.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Jul 26, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice clean rooms. Close to town. Wildlife visits your back door! Great place
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Jul 26, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is a great place.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Jul 26, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice room. The aircondioner was quiter than most other places I've stayed. could have used an iron in the room.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Jul 26, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service
Clean cool room
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Jul 19, 2022
Thank you for staying, we hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is a great place to find some rest and peace right along the river. When we got there the first thing my kids did was go straight through the room to the chairs and hammock in the grass facing the river. Such a calming natural sound. We watched deer and turkeys come down to the water to drink. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, keurig coffee maker in the room. Nice easy walk into town across the pedestrian bridge. Winthrop ice rink almost shares the parking lot so be sure to check their schedule to see what the nights activities are for that day.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Jul 19, 2022
We are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. The area is beautiful this time of year and full of wonderful activities. Hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is a great hotel about a three minute walk from Main Street Winthrop where every room has a balcony overlooking the river. There is also a trail into the hills right next tothe parking lot. The room was huge with very comfortable beds and refrigerators that actually got cold (unlike so many in other hotels). We watched a deer and her fawns from our balcony. Very nice atmosphere and the staff were super friendly! I would definitely stay here again!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022
Response from Tawny on Jul 19, 2022
Thank you Christopher for staying with us. We love to hear you had such a great stay. We hope to see you again, maybe in the winter to enjoy the valley's multiple beautiful seasons full of activities.

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful setting on the river. Decent sized room. Plenty of parking. Chad was very helpful at checkin. Tiny bathgroom. Squishy bed with hard pillows. Carpet had not been vacuumed. "Breakfast" was very sparse. Online checkin was not working.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 27, 2022
Thank you for staying with us, hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Great location with friendly, efficient staff; clean, good-sized room; nice shower; only 1/2 drape in bedroom; breakfast room needs redesign so people aren’t jammed into a corner trying to access toaster, waffle-maker and microwave
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 27, 2022
Thank you for staying with us, hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I liked the area and the rustic rooms. It was very quiet.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I like the location!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
property is close to river and has a back yard and walk along the river is nice. it's bit old property, in room not enough counter space put stuff on and table is sticky, everything ticks to it when you put it on. breakfast is open supper late 9-11 which most time people need to go out early.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Friendly staff and clean, comfortable accommodations.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Quick check in. Clerk at desk gave lots of information about the area, from dining to driving into the Cascades. Very nice accommodations, clean, quiet, good breakfast, friendly staff. Walkable to the center of town.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
River, privacy, rustic, just right.
Stayed 1 night in May 2022
Response from Tawny on Jun 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Evenings on the river were the best. Quietly sitting in the presence of the deer. Doesn’t get any better than that.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Tawny on May 17, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We are truly blessed by the beauty of the town. We look forward to seeing you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Easy walk to downtown Winthrop. Nice cabins on the river.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022
Response from Tawny on May 17, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We hope we see you again.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Why does the continental breakfast start so late (9 am)? If this were my business, I would have this amenity available by 7 am. This creates the appearance of a lazy owner that isn't really concerned about the customer experience. There are no tissue boxes (Kleenex) in the room. There is clearly a plumbing leak above the shower head as the ceiling is wet/rotting and showing mold/mildew on the drywall. This could possibly be subjecting your clients to serious health problems and should be addressed immediately. The false ceiling containingthe vanity ight fixture should be raised 6"-8" higher. I'm an 6 feet tall which is average and I have to bend down to use the vanity mirror. Housekeeping should vacuum under the couch every day. There was six months worth of crumbs, dirt, and dead bugs under the couch in our room.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Tawny on May 9, 2022
Thank you Mark for staying with us. The lodge truly appreciates all of its guests but we do have to keep in mind the hours of multiple functions within the hotel and the staffing arrangements we have. We hope sometime in the future to offer an earlier breakfast but for the moment are doing the best we can to provide our guests a small hot breakfast. We appreciate guests letting us know of issues during their stay so we have the ability to fix it. Hopefully future stays in the valley are more comfortable for you.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room was very comfortable and the location is great.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Tawny on May 9, 2022
Thank you for staying with us!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Easy communication with staff about my after-hours arrival time. All I had to do was calling and notifying about the arrival time, and the reception air immediately sent me a text about the room access code. The hotel location is ideal because it’s tucked away from the busy downtown area. I’ve seen other hotels around downtown, and I did not like the hotel entrance doors facing the path walks, which do not give me the privacy vibes. I’m sure they’re great hotels for they’re right there in town, but you can easy drive or literally walk across the bridge into town, which took me like 1 min of driving or 5 mins of walking. The room is clean with enough amenities to keep me comfortable during my weekend stay. And yes, I could find the hotel by just inputting the address onto my phone Google maps or Apple Maps. I will definitely come back again! It was a fun weekend getaway for the family! PS: there’s no elevator to go upstairs for this hotel. It is your traditional up and down the stairs, so if you or someone need special accommodations, you’d need to request ahead of time by calling the hotel directly (my best recommendation) to request to have your hotel room on the ground for easy access. Oh yeah, they have cabins on property! If you travel with larger group of people, consider booking their cabins!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Tawny on Apr 14, 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The big family cabin was very charming! Loved that there were 2 bathrooms, a washer and dryer, and a keurig. :) The back porch and top balcony are perfect for drinking your morning coffee on, watching the marmots and deer. Will visit again!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Tawny on Apr 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us Jessica. We look forward to seeing you at your next visit :)

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice spot on the river.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Tawny on Mar 31, 2022
Thank you for staying with us Michael. We hope you visit us again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Was an amazing experience. There were deer and eagles. Close to town. Place was clean and comfortable. Received an email with our door code. Was called to let us know our cabin was ready earlier than check in time. Was quiet and relaxing. Would definitely come back.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Tawny on Mar 31, 2022
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Our little area truly is beautiful. We love to hear you enjoyed a clean, comfortable and relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
snow trip
Great location in Winthrop. We were there to cross country ski and access to the trails were very handy. Great place to stay
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Tawny on Feb 22, 2022
Thank you for staying with us!

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Will come back
Easy place to stay right on river. Close walk to town and nordic trails.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Tawny on Feb 14, 2022
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property is excellent, right next to the river. Lots of dear around the property. The rooms are quiet except you can hear the upstairs neighbors. The room was clean except for the floors. My feet and socks were brown after walking on them. Otherwise it was great and I would definitely return. Easy check in/out, breakfast served 9-11am. Nice outdoor patio for each room. Internet was very slow.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Tawny on Feb 9, 2022
Thank you Dana for staying with us.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Love this place!
They were more than accommodating for us. Super clean, comfortable and a beautiful view!
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Tawny on Feb 7, 2022
Those are beautiful pictures! Thank you so much for staying with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time. We hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A Perfect Trip!
We throughly enjoyed our girl’s XC getaway to Winthrop and our stay at the Methow River Lodge and cabins! The room was clean, well laid out and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised by the basic breakfast items as they supplemented our own. The location was great for close-to-town XC skiing and walking into town. Wifi was a weak, but better in the lobby.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Tawny on Feb 2, 2022
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Tawny on Jan 25, 2022
Thank you for the kind rating of your stay with us.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Property is expensive and doesn’t offer a pool or a hot tub or sauna which cheaper properties in the area do offer. I’m not sure what the additional expense is for… they even skipped house keeping (I specifically asked for a room refresh and they ignored or forgot).
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022
Response from Tawny on Jan 25, 2022
Thank you for staying with us.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Tawny on Jan 5, 2022
Thank you for staying with us, we hope we see you again!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Although the room seemed clean at first glance, there was a lot of dust between beds, under the sink and on the bottom shelf of night stands, also the big cabinet not wiped in a while. We didn't use housecleaning for the 6 nights, just got new towels as needed ( 3 nights no hot water ) cleaning stuff and front desk staff had no masks when around lodge guests. Breakfast was a nice variety ( mostly carbs) several cereals, bagels, milk, sweetened yogurts, fruits. Location is great and rooms pleasant .
Stayed 6 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Tawny on Jan 25, 2022
Thank you for your stay with us.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Easy access to town and the ski trail, with a great view. Clean, quiet, and very friendly. Limited restaurant options, but that’s Winthrop! Be sure to bring some food with you. There is a small fridge and microwave and kerige for hot drinks. Fair price for the region. It was perfect for our skiing family. Enjoy!
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021
Response from Tawny on Jan 3, 2022
We love to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. It truly is such a beautiful time of year here in the valley. We hope to see you again!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Tawny on Dec 21, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2021
Response from Tawny on Dec 21, 2021
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful spot close to town! Room was clean and comfortable.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2021
Response from Tawny on Dec 7, 2021
Thank you Karlee for staying with us. This time of year is so peaceful and relaxing, glad to hear you were able to enjoy the calm winter days. Hopefully we see you again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is my third time staying at Methow River Lodge and Cabins in the last year. My go to place first time when booking.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Tawny on Nov 24, 2021
Thank you Michael for staying with us when you visit the area. We love seeing all of our repeat guests. Have a happy holiday and we will see you again!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Will certainly stay here again.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Tawny on Nov 16, 2021
Thank you for staying with us Pete. We hope to see you again soon where maybe there is a little less rain and a lot more snow for the hockey season. Have a great day!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Tawny on Nov 11, 2021
Thank you Gregory for the great rating of your stay with us. We would love to see you again soon.