Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A wonderful place to stay outside of Paris

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The charm of the hotel and a world class restaurant, along with helpful staff made our stay pleasant. Rooms are well appointed with a modern bath.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Located high on bluff overlooking the Seine, the hotel is in Saint-Germain-en-Laye which is close to Versaille and a quick train ride into Paris.
We found this boutique hotel to be steeped in history, and the view of Paris is amazing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2015
No shaver outlet in the bathroom No sleepers or bathrobe On three room service breakfasts one wasn't transmitted to the kitchen No thermostat in the rooms But, beautiful view and building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, fabulous views.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: It's wonderfully old fashioned.
Location: Walk, eat, run, drink, shop, .....
Great walks, tasty breakfast, fantastic location, perfect!
3 out of 5
by richard from wivenhoe

Great location.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Wonderful views from the terrace
Cons: It needs areas with a more intimate /cosy atmosphere
Location: Good shops, but mega expensive. Nice eateries in the nearby square for breakfast.
No bar or lounge here to relax with friends. Difficult to find a waiter to bring a glass of wine. Food ok but overpriced.
2 out of 5
by Antoine from Stuttgart

Very old fashioned, doors do not close properly

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The view on Paris from the restaurant
Cons: More or less everything.
Location: The hotel is located in a beautiful area and the sight in incredible. A lot of nice visits to be done: the pak, the castle ...
Waiting 10 minutes to have a drink, retaurant is fine, beautiful view on Paris. Very disappointing rooms. Old fashioned, Bathromm OK although the towels heater was not working. Needs a serious renovation. Staff more or less OK. The barman does not know anything about whisky. Cannot make the difference between a scotch, a single malt, a bourbon. Very disappointing for the price: 235 Euros!!
2 out of 5
by Jane from Toronto

A Prestigious Property Badly in Need of Attention

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The historic significance of this property keeps us coming back.
Cons: Management and staffing. Corporate and events get the attention at this property.
Location: Site is both historic and beautiful. Location near train station to Paris is very close. Shopping near by.
Our travels take us to Saint-Germaine-En-Laye frequently and we have stayed at this property many times. Observations on this hotel in the past two years: management is seriously lacking; there is absolutely no sense that anyone cares if you are happy with your stay and when one points out failings, there is something close to indifference. Be extremely critical if you are given a substandard room. Our recent trip, after 15 years of loyalty, garnered us a room so small that we had to coordinate movements in the room (ie. if you stay on the bed, I can get by to go to the bathroom!) . Too tired to complain or relocate, we suffered through a single night in a room barely large enough for one, let alone a couple. We keep our fingers crossed that a better management team will be put in place one day and restore this historic property to the state in which it deserves to be kept and managed! Site is both historic and beautiful. Location near train station to Paris is very close. Shopping near by.
3 out of 5
by Laurie from Chirbury, UK

Super location but expensive

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: Appearance, history, location
Cons: Better description of room size; staff asking guests to have consideration for other guests after midnight
Location: Close to lots of Chateaux including Versailles, 6 miles from Maisons-Laffitte racecourse, St Germaine-en-Laye a really nice town with good restaurants
This hotel looks magnificent from afar but needs a lick of paint on the windows, which look as if they haven't been painted for years. Staff were fine and the room and bathroom were maintained very well. Our main disappointment was the size of the room - very small considering the price we paid. Other grouses were noise late at night on the Friday and Saturday from carousing wedding guests in the car park, which our room overlooked; and the small bed (advertised as queen size but the smallest double bed we've ever slept in)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of character

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Good restaurant.
Cons: Needs a gymnasium.
Location: Great location next to the huge park, and 5 minute walk from the town centre.
Convenient for Paris on the train, but about 5 miles outside the city. St Germain en Laye is a very attractive and clean town, and everything is a short walk from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Ontario, Canada

A step back in time with the utmost hospitality !

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Uniqueness , cleanliness , and courtesy ...
Location: Central and quaint...
The staff were very kind and most helpful and very courteous. These are the qualities that people appreciate and would bring them back or else recommend your facilities to family and friends : Thanks again for your kind hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by The Bennetts from Geneva, Switzerland

Beautiful hotel with great views of Paris

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: Size of room, cleanliness, luxury feel
Cons: Expensive to eat at hotel
Location: Right on the terrace of Saint Germain en Laye
This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely location. We had a large room with 2 rollaway beds for the kids. They had everything ready and the staff were very nice at reception. We had an amazing view of Paris (can even see the Eiffel Tower). The bathroom was really big and everything was clean and shiny. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it was 19euro for adult and 11 for kids, there are lots of bakeries around and we just got pastries, juice and coffee for around 13 euro for all of us. If you are visiting Saint Germain en Laye, be sure and eat at Le Manège, the food is lovely. Oh and our bed was enormous!