Ratings based on 1,130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax

Over priced room next to Railroad

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: window sealing, make sure bolt locks on doors actually close....mine did not
Location: business access
Room next to railroad did not have windows that closed properly resulting in much louder noises than necessary. Hammering noises started at 5:30 am.. seemed like next door
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Deer

Nice Hotel but don't get a room track side

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The lobby, history and character of the building
Cons: Better windows or window coverings on the track side rooms.
Location: The location is great. Its not far from the Saddle Dome and is top dead center for down town activities.
The train tracks run right beside the hotel and our room was on the 9th floor but track side. The noise from the train echoes off of the neighboring buildings and it sounded like our bed was right beside the tracks. If the sound of a train puts you to sleep you will love this place as your going to here one every 30 minutes or so! They boasted a spa shower head on the web site but the water pressure in our room was more like a trickle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
the hotel is good the only thing is that the bathroom is very small but the hotel is ideally located and is excellent attention
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Deer

Nice Hotel and easy to get to Stamps game.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: easy to catch C-train to McMahon stadium. Have a few beers at game and not have to drive. Crowd was fun even when packed on rail car.
Cons: Have parking lot cleaned around entrance to hotel, throw some new paint down and make it appealing. Have room carpets cleaned.
Location: nice and close to down town shopping, ie. stephen ave. mall, numerous pubs and restaurants.
Prior to arriving we checked online about parking, glad we did. Hotel does not own parking area but it is attached to hotel via a walkway. Parking is dirty and old (disappointing when arriving at a fancy hotel). When you park there are plenty of signs reminding you to pay for parking prior to returning to vehicle. By the next day we forgot about that and of course we got the to vehicle and had to return to the entry way, a bit frustrating. A reminder sign as your exiting hotel would be nice, or an arrow pointing to the parking pay machine would be helpful. The Hotel was very clean except for the carpet in the room which was disappointing. Staff were all awesome and the atmosphere is warm and elegant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat, Alberta

Quiet and elegant hotel in the heart of downtown.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: It's 100 year old elegance.
Cons: Getting from the parkade to the lobby is confusing.
Location: It's 1 block from the Calgary Tower.
Had planned on using the $30 + tip valet service but there was too much traffic so I just drove into the parkade and parked myself. That was no cheaper as it cost me $33.00 to park from 4p.m. - 8 a.m. The hotel is magnificent. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, quiet and beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upper crust only?

Posted Sep 14, 2014
We decided to splurge at the end of our vacation and try out the hotel. Our initial check in was good and friendly, and to self Park in the parkade was twelve bucks for the night because it was the weekend. Rooms were a bit small, and train tracks were a bit unsightly outside the window. The big bother was that on check out, I felt quite judged because I was in shorts and a t-shirt. It's like I didn't deserve the luxury of the persons time because I wasn't in a suit and that was a little offsetting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from cochrane,ab

5th Anniversary night away!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The bed !
Cons: They could have remembered to bring my newspaper in the morning.
Location: Next to the calgary tower , go there for breakfast at sky 360! Amazing !
It was wonderful! Clean! And it's such a neat hotel. We are planning on coming back again. They have a fully stocked mini fridge... No one does that anymore!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB

Old and decrepit

Posted Sep 8, 2014
3/4 elevators broken, no decent stairways, first room stank of cigarette smoke. Interesting design elements and history but stay away if you like comfort and convenience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking is expensive and not close to the hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The pool and gym
Cons: parking
Location: Night time is almost dead.Day time is more fun.
Our room was very small,the fridge was full of staff from the hotel and was not room to put my own staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park

Everything comes at a cost, often without knowing.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The pool was the one redeeming quality.
Cons: Not charging for everything which should be included...
Location: So much. Downtown Calgary is really nice.
When we booked our anniversary trip, we didn't want to do anything too crazy as we have a less than extravagent budget. We booked a trip to Calgary in order to stay relitively close to home, but we still wanted to have a luxurious experience. We booked at the Faimont because it was a beautiful building, nestled in a prime location downtown. We were willing to pay a little extra, as we knew you have to pay for the luxury of being in such a good location with a facility such as the Fairmont. We arrived at the hotel, and were informed that the cost of parking is not included in the cost of the hotel (which is ridiculous given the cost of the room.) We parked in the parkade, in a section which was marked as "Fairmont Guest Parking Only" yet we payed the same amount as anyone else would... Then we went to check-in, only to be informed that the room we had booked was not "gaurenteed" with our online reservation, and we had been downgraded to a queen bed. Now, I am a very reasonable person, and I give people a lot of credit; but not having your bed size confirmed when you pay an extra $30 a night is slightly ridiculous. After I gave the staff a bit of a hard time about it they were willing to upgrade us "at no additional cost." Thank god they didn't charge us again... Also, don't eat the continental breakfast provided in the hotel lobby: it costs $24 per person and is nowhere near worth it. They offered me a free upgrade next time: there won't be a next time.