Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Disappointment

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location Exterior
Cons: More attentive innkeeper
Location: Trolley tour is a must
Very limited breakfast. Plates from past diners were not removed. Lack of fresh plates and utensils. A significant number of electrical repairs needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pretty but lacking

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: great location and pleasing decor
Cons: breakfast less than adequate and very little personal service
ok for a quick overnight stay, but don't expect personal service and breakfast was not worth even mentioning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the $

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Quaintly decorated.
Cons: A lot. See above.
Location: Great location. A block to beach and a block to downtown.
Owner was very nice once she let us in. We stood on the porch with our bags in 90 degree weather for 10 minutes watching her through the window speaking to another guest while she looked at us and held up her index finger gesturing to us to wait for her. Very rude. When the other guest finally saw we were hot and getting impatient, they finally told the owner to let us in. She was nice and explained about the B & B and took us to our room. That was the last we ever saw of her. The AC in the room was insuficient and there were 2 winter blankets on the bed. No light weight blankets. The sheets on our queen bed were pilled and sooo uncomfortable on my skin. The "fitted" sheet came off the corners on both sides within 10 minutes of getting into bed so we were sleeping on scratchy pilled crinkled up sheets...basically sleeping half on the sheet pile and half on the waterproof mattress cover. The pillows were so overstuffed and hard that they were useless...unless you wanted to commit to a stiff neck for 4 days. And did I mention how hot it was?!? My final complaint was the breakfast. A plate of bagels, english muffins and a bowl of hard boiled eggs left on the table with no "staff" anywhere in sight. Seriously?!? I have never stayed in a B&B that didn't make you a really nice cooked breakfast. It was way worse than any chain hotel's cont. breakfast. Did I really pay $160 for this? I recommend you stay at a Holiday Inn Express over the Captain Mey's B&B anyday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from fenwick island DE.

It happened one night.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: good bed, own bath.
Cons: A real breakfast would be nice.
Location: close to food, shops, and bus station.
just one night. It was OK. we were visiting family in wildwood NJ. gone all day. we slept. we left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from telford, pa

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: bed was comfotable & on-site parking.
Cons: breakfast was dissapointing - box cereal, cold bagels. Two lamps did not work in the room & we had to go out into the hallway to access the bathroom.
Location: beach, shops, atmosphere
I was not informed that the room did not have an attached bathroom. We had to go into the hall to get to the bathroom. Breakfast was not up the standard for a good b&b.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to shopping street

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Cute Victorian house
Cons: Quite a few things as listed.
Location: Great near the shopping area of cape may
Cute Victorian hotel. Bedroom was very small, window air conditioner 1' from bed blowing directly all night. Bathroom was outside room, down hall even though it was our "private bath", Squeaking doors made getting up at night even worse. The cotton sheets were pilled making it feel like sand in bed. Continental breakfast. Never saw any staff. Not one our best B and B experiences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Character, charm, staff, and location.
Cons: Allergies were affected ... sheets and pillow covers appeared old and a bit threadbare..
Location: Great location ... two blocks from the beach and less than a block from Washington Street Mall ... plenty to do.
Part business, part pleasure. Being at Capt. Mey's made the business part easy and the pleasure part enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Frequent B&B visitor from NY

Disappointing

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very small and crowded. Shower also small. Saw Innkeeper for a total of 3minutes at breakfast, we were "checked in" via phone when we called as indicated on the front door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derek from Astoria, NY

Extremely convenient underrated place

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: The onsite parking was definitely key. I liked the combination code front door lock. I'm scared of Victorian houses smelling weird. No smell. haha.
Cons: I agree with the breakfast issue. Came downstairs to see them taking away a tray full of pastries that I wanted. Missed it by a few minutes.
Location: The cute little shops, restaurants, cafes, the boardwalk, and the beach all seem to be equidistant from here but the block is still very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabe from Long Island

Nov 8010, 2013

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Charming. Location was great
Cons: Hot breakfasts or some fresh hot rolls, croissants, fresh bread.
Location: Beach is 3 blocks away, so are all the shops. They have a parking lot for just 5 or 6 cars next to the house
The house was charming. Lots of charming items, furniture, curtains, drapes knick knacks, very nice. The bed was quite comfortable though the pillows were a bit too hard. The bathroom was small and only had a small shower stall probably too small for a large person. The lady who managed the place (Rita) was very nice and helpful. On our first night she pointed us to a nearby "local" restaurant/bar that turned out to be a lot of fun. She was also very helpful in showing us the room without being too intrusive. The breakfast that was included was nice but did not have any special nice touches. There was the standard fruit, cereal, several types of breads, bagels but no hot rolls just out of the oven or hot food (like pancakes or waffles etc). There was plenty though. There were also small packets of candy to take as a snack if you so desired (maybe left overs from Halloween. The place was perfectly situated. Near the beach and all shopping.