Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Manchester, UK

Beautiful beach front location,family owned hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Location , pool and friendliness
Cons: The breakfast
Location: Sanibel is a beautiful island with wonderful beaches, but the traffic can get a bit grid locked.
This hotel is in a beautiful location opening right onto a wonderful beach. It is very family friendly and has an excellent pool.The rooms are perhaps not as shiny smart as some but are perfectly comfortable. Our only negative comment would be that the contents of the breakfast basket were a bit limited and not to our taste, but it was easy to buy in some cereal etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast basket nice, but would be better with some fresh fruit.
Location: Location and activities great, that is why site was chosen.
Supposedly Expedia sent details for one room. Had confirmation for Beachfront, two rooms paid in full. Staff scurried and found worst room on site open, in back by dumpster. Moved up front last 2 nights after much frustration. Not a relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Stay.

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Peace. location on the Beach.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Historic Lighthouse easy to walk to. Fabulous beach. Lighthouse Cafe worth a visit.
We had a Fantastic stay. Enjoyed walking along the beach, with the Sanibel stoop.(Looking for Shells) great for watching the Sunrise and then walking along the beach to the Lighthouse. Just so peacefull.
3 out of 5
by Luv Zinnias from New York

The details were disappointing.....

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Great location! Pool was a perfect temperature. Nice to have bikes available for fabulous paved path on Sanibel. Basket in fridge of goodies.
Cons: The management and cleaning staff should see the trees, not just the forest.
Location: Close to the bridge off the causeway. It is an easy walk to the lighthouse on the beach. Get a map of the island, go explore! Baileys is great.
We booked this spot with very little to choose from because of a short time frame and busy season. The Inn was very adequate in every respect, where it fell down for me was in the little details that set one place apart from another. The theme is "beachy", which you expect. What I was not expecting was for things to border on shabby in some respects. The ceiling fan had fuzz clinging to the top of the blades over the bed, the wooden mirror in the bathroom was nicked in several areas, there was mildew in the shower (an old toothbrush and a little Clorox would have fixed that in a few minutes), one of the 2 chairs outside the door was broken, the bell on the bike didn't work. The walls are so thin that the guy snoring next door kept us awake. There is nothing major here, but several things together become disappointing. We were glad we only booked one night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from AZ

Ecxcellent location as far as being on the beach.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Excellent location!
Cons: Modernize the rooms and focus on the cleaniness of the rooms.
My main disappointment was the condition and the cleaniness of the room. The rooms certainly need more updating /moderizing touches. (Curtains, bedding, shower curtain, etc.) I was especially disappointed in the cleaniness of the room. Very dusty with dirt build up - air conditioning vent (above the entrance) was very dirty as well as the light fixtures by the bed. Bathroom floor was sticky upon our arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom & Diana from Dunedin, Fl.

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: same as above.
Cons: In our room we lacked a hair dryer and perhaps you should provide coffee packets.
Location: Convenient to shops and restaurants and activities.
We found it quaint and very classical Florida. Very laid back and easy access to the gulf with a heated pool. Bike trails everywhere, as well as kayaks for rent. Overall, fabulous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by M from Fort Mill, SC

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Nice old Florida charm with some interior upgrades.
Location: Bubble Room Dessert on Captiva Island is the BEST!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by mauricio alonso from maimi florida

Unfortunate Experience

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have been a big fan of this hotel for years. Unfortunately this last stay was a disappointment. The cook ware, flat ware and glasses were incomplete at best, the grills need replacing and the rooms are deteriorating. I dont know if its because the property is up for sale or because of a recent change in middle management. They also should notify on their web page that they no longer place umbrellas on the beach due to a law suit they had recently when an umbrella hit a guest. The sad thing is that the staff is excellent and go out of their way to serve and satisfy you. Unfortunately, the staff could not find flat ware, glasses or silver ware the night we arrived. If i get assurances that they will address these issues I will give them another try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lindee from Devon UK

SMASHING

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved it. Clean room. great beach. to be honest I can't find fault with anything. Sure, its not the cheapest of places to stay. BUT you only get what you pay for... & this little bit of paradise is worth every penny!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com