Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Orange Florida

Seashell hunt

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We came here for a seashell hunt but was the wrong time of year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Sanibel Beach Vacation

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Private beach. Although we did not use, they have many bicycles available for use free of charge.
Cons: Rooms were a little dated, but the day we left they were painting exterior of buildings so they are working on it
Location: The beach here has tons of shells (just like everywhere on Sanibel). The historic lighthouse is not to far away.
Everything was as stated on Expedia website, with the exception of the basket breakfast. We were told we would be given breakfast and a copy of the New York Times each day. I don't know if we were told wrong or what, but wasn't a huge deal to us. The beach is excellent at this location and was not crowded like other beaches nearby. The beach umbrellas were usually all occupied by 10 am and there was one group that took an umbrella all day even though they were not at the beach for the 2 hours we were there. Staff was very friendly and cheerful. This was our first beach vacation and we will definitely be back to stay at this resort again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Excellent it was as shown on line perfect

Posted Jul 21, 2014
It was the best stay I have had in a very long time . No complaints at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great weekend getaway

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location, amenities, beach access, price, biking distance to shops and restaurants
Cons: Air conditioning was slightly loud
We came here for a short getaway and it was perfect. The hotel has a great view of the gulf and you can just walk right up to the beach. The room was large and decorated in tasteful a Florida theme. The pool was great, the bikes were free and they had plenty of options (tandem, childrens bikes etc) to chose from. Overall we had a fantastic visit and would definitely recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Scotland

Quaint and peaceful

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: It is quaint with character. It is right at the beach. It is small and personal, not like a big chain hotel.
Cons: Sound deadening would be good. There is a rule not to hang towels/costumes on the railings, but it wasn't enforced and spoiled the look.
Location: Right at the beach, bikes available to use for free. Ding Darling Wildlife Area worth visiting.
I stayed here with my two teenage sons for three nights. It feels like you have stepped back in time when you enter the property with its array of white painted wooden buildings and cottages and a dainty pool nestled in the middle of it all. Our room was on the ground floor beside the pool, which could be accessed through the door at the back or the pool side through a patio door. Its a short stroll to the beach, where beds and umbrellas are provided free of charge. The room is compact but manages to accommodate a small kitchen area with a sink, microwave and fridge. An assortment of crockery and cutlery is also provided. There is a feeling of staying in a seaside beach hut about the place. The bathroom floor tiles were a bit cracked and loose, there had been an attempt to repair them, but not very successfully. The towels are beautifully thick and soft - even the pool towels looked pristine and fluffy. A daily breakfast basket of bagels, pastries, fruit pots and juice was a nice touch. The garden grounds are well kept with flowers and shrubs. We had no one above us for the first couple of nights, but someone moved in on our last night, and it sounded like an elephant parading up and down on the thin floor. They were an early riser, which may have been annoying had we not also been up early to drive to the airport. Perhaps book an upstairs room to avoid this - but be aware that access to the rooms is via an outdoor wooden-slatted stairway: not easy to haul bags up!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great room & location

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Simple, quiet, close to the beach, clean, free breakfast, free bikes, free chairs & umbrellas on the beach: what's not to like?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elgin, IL

Relaxing hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location...I loved being right on the beach! I liked the quiet relaxation & the complimentary bicycles and beach chairs/umbrellas.
Cons: Our room lacked some kitchen utensils (we had one spoon) but we managed.
Location: The beach was great for swimming and shelling. The complimentary bicycles were great. We went shopping, checked out the lighthouse and got icecream.
We just returned from our first visit to Sanibel Island. It was wonderful! The hotel was very nice, relaxing, and comfortable. The pool was very refreshing and the complimentary bicycles and beach chairs/ umbrellas were great. This hotel reminds me of the type of hotels my family stayed in as kids. I'd recommend it to friends and family; actually I already have.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio,TX

Great hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Great hotel right on the beach. Will book on next vacation to Florida.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Davie, Florida

Scary Lack of Security and Poor Housekeeping

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Location was great; room looked out onto Gulf.
Cons: Housekeeping and security!!!
We had a plumbing issue in our unit and the maintenance guy fixed it quickly. He called Housekeeping and a Housekeeper came in and gave the floor a quick sweep saying she would return. We left our unit at 1:00 pm. When we returned,at 4:00 pm we found our unit door open and no one around. Fortunately, nothing was missing. However, floor was still dirty; never got mopped and sanitized. Additionally, no towels and no breakfast basket. Advised front desk and they were apologetic. Manager offered a lunch coupon to a restaurant. Not worth the money I paid. They could not do anything more for us because we booked through Expedia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Teresa from Columbia, SC

Nice accommodations. On the beach, nice pool.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: on the beach
Location: Sanibel and Captiva Island beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Lots of shells. Large beach. Biking and walking paths. Shopping and dining.
Would stay here again. Reasonable and on the beach.