Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Hotel pleasantly comforting.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
The staff was friendly and eager to please. The newly remodeled room was modern, comfortable, and inviting. Breakfast was fulfilling. There were many hot and cold food choices. The staff kept the area stocked and clean. We thought it was the best food and service we've experienced. The only downfall was lack of storage for family of three.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Much better than the exterior view

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: I liked the updated room with two queen size beds and also that it included breakfast.
Cons: Once the exterior remodel is complete it will be much nicer.
Location: We were able to explore the Lava Cave, Grand Canyon, painted desert, petrified forest and the meteor crater. Nothing was over 1 and half hour drive.
When we arrived in the evening I was horrified by the exterior and almost in a panic because I had paid in full to get a cheaper rate. The outside is under construction and looks horrible. Just before we left for our vacation we saw a review that the hotel had bed bugs. The front staff assured us this was not true. Upon our arrival we throughly checked the room before bringing in our luggage. No sign of bed bugs were found. Once you enter the hotel it is much nicer than the outside. Our floor and room were recently remodeled. It isn't a high end room but it was updated in a modern design. The room was clean, comfortable and just what we needed for our three night visit. The mini fridge was nice for our long stay. The breakfast was better than expected. Many choices to choose from which even included organic milk and a variety of low fat meal options. (Turkey sausage, turkey bacon...yogurt). Parking was not ideal due to the construction but there was plenty of space. My youngest son really enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool. My oldest son enjoyed having free wifi! I would stay in this hotel again and I would recommend it to any family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Hotel is in the process of being upgraded which I didn't know at the time of booking. Staff was very friendly, breakfast was very crowded each morning. Pool was very cold which was disappointing. Not the usual holiday inn express experience I've enjoyed at other locations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad decision if you want a nice hotel.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was typical of a Holiday Inn Express.
Drains were clogged in sink and tub. Carpet frayed. Entrance under construction/repair, as well as much of the exterior. Smelled like mold and smoke in the room. Not up to Holiday Inn Express standards. Will definitely think twice before blindly staying at a H.I.E. again. Very disappointed, especially considering the price tag.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

Very nice

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Clean (except pool) and we spent a lot of time there, good breakfast. Had snacks.
Cons: Pool was freezing andwas not particularly clean. Same broken glass there the afternoon we came and the morning we left. Was the smallest tub.
Location: Grand Canyon, Sedona, Sky ride, tons of things.
Very nice, good breakfast. They raw renovating now.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better options

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hotel night staff very uninformed of the area, and not helpful. Breakfast ok. Could hear our neighbors on either side. AC broke and they moved us to another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phx

Easy access to historic down town.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Was very comfortable. Continental breakfast was filling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay-over

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The continental breakfast that had more choices than only muffins and cereal and included in the price of the room.
Location: Flagstaff is centered among numerous tourist sites such as Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam, Petrified Forest/Painted Desert, and Meteor Crater.
Very clean hotel, which is a top priority. Enjoyed getting up in the morning and having a nice breakfast available, with wide variety of choices and included in the price of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from New Brighton, MN

Comfort of Home Away From Home

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: We liked the buffet breakfasts, fresh fruit, and flavored water and hard candy for us hikers.
Cons: Not enough large towels in 1 room, poor ventilation in bathroom, no microwave, and hot tub not available the last 2 nights as being serviced.
Location: Excellent central location. We hiked Elden Trail, went to Antelope Canyon, meteor crater, Sunset Crater, Sedona, Grand Canyon, and Walnut Canyon.
Our family of six stayed in 2 rooms each with 2 queen beds for 5 nights. Our goal was to find a comfortable place to crash after being gone all day exploring Arizona. Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Halemaumau from Waimanalo

Convenient location to Northern Arizona University

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was mostly enjoyable and I was very satisfied with the hotel and amenities that included a continental breakfast. The staff was friendly and professional. I gave a 2 star because at times the floor we stayed smelled like a smokers chimney comparable to a Vegas casino. Also a small inconvenience, parking in the evenings was scarce due to construction and large trucks and traffic cones in the lot, it seemed like the area was public parking for large delivery trucks, flatbeds, and haulers that took up multiple parking stalls.