Ratings based on 4,321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Excellent location, especially if you are picking up or returning a hire car as the drop of car park is literally one block away which was really handy as we were returning one. Lovely hotel, everything you would expect from Hilton.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

Horrible

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Checking takes 30 minutes. I will never return. Guest should not wait as an assembly line. There was not even a mini bar in the room, which begs the question to ask, is this the Hilton or motel 6
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on exelente location to visit

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Was my fist visit to San Francisco, the hotel is really good good location, the onl. Think is the pparking, so expensive same as everywhere else in the city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Milestone birthday celebration in SF

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Great location for Curran Theater and Fino's Restaurant
Cons: Nothing
Location: Curran Theater is around the block, shopping at Union Square is close and Fino's Italian Restaurant is close...can walk to everything!
Nice hotel, room was big for 4 people and clean! Location was great because we could walk to Fino's Italian Restaurant and the Curran Theater to see I Love Lucy. Shopping was close too. Had so much fun celebrating 2 milestone birthdays!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, close to downtown.
Cons: More front desk help.
The Pros: Clean and comfortable hotel, near a lot of the places we wanted to visit. Closed to some very excellent breakfast places and Union Square, shopping, etc. The Cons: Not so nice of a neighborhood, long wait to check in and out. They need more people at the front desk. I waited almost 40 minutes to check into hotel. Definitely not acceptable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel, in need of renovation

Posted Nov 16, 2014
This is a typical conference hotel, lots of room nights, in need or renovations and generally not what I would expect from a Hilton.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel (Avoid staying here)

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Improve the room quality
As some one who travels for work and spends 75% of my time in a hotel, this hotel is one to avoid. The room that we had was extremely disappointing, smelly, and dumpy. Better can be had all around Union Square. The staff was very disappointing as well. Beyond the Concierge desk, no staff person was very helpful. When I asked for directions, the staff person just walked off. I will avoid staying at this hotel in my future visits to San Francisco.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wont go back to Hilton Union Square in SF again

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Very disappointing two night stay. First, I was standing in the Honors line waiting for someone behind the desk to check me in. One of the non-Honors staff was not busy and even though he looked at me, he did not call me over. Another non-Honors person got into that line and he called her over yet I stood in line waiting for the one person who was checking in Honors guests. Next, my room was very small. There was hardly enough room for me to move between my bed and furniture against the far wall. The bathroom was also very small and the back of the toilet was right up against the counter where all my toiletries were placed. Finally, the view outside of my window was a wall. Yes, I come to SF and all I can see from my room is a wall. Not the way an Honors guest should be treated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stowe, VT

3 nights in San Francisco

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Very confortable bed, all the luxury we needed without being over the top. Nice staff!
Cons: Everthing cold on the breakfast buffet: scrambled eggs, french toast(mush), sausage, bacon, home fries (more much). They didn't charge, I'd rather hot
I took 2 rooms in Tower 1 with city views, 1 on floor 26, 1 on floor 36. Both had balconies as well. We had nice weather, watched a yellow moon come up right between two distant buildings, made the view that much more special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Huge convention hotel, good location

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, everything worked
Cons: Restaurant, decor.
Was there for a conference (which had over 5000 attendees). This hotel has large meeting spaces and can handle large groups. The hotel is not cheap, but in that area nothing is. Good location, very good staff, walking distance to Union square, lots of shops and restaurants. But also close to a lot of dubious areas so need care when walking. Rooms were comfortable if undistinguished. Not much or a restaurant.