Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel with character

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at Petite Auberge. They offer a very nice breakfast and cocktail hour, we had an opportunity to meet the other guest, which was very nice. We met some great people. Everything was within walking distance, the hotel has a great location. We would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Keating from GA

Comfy but too loud

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Everyone one I encountered at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. They really went above and beyond.
Cons: I could have used an extra blanket. If there is nothing that can be done about the noise, it would be nice if they provided complientary ear plugs.
Location: Great!
The hotel staff was very helpful and polite. The bed was comfortable and the room was fine but small. My only complaint, and it is a big one, is that I never slept because of the noise. A lot of it was general hotel noise - I was next to the elevator, but most of it was from a nearby late-night, very rowdy bar. Around 2:00 a.m. it sounded like a hundred people were yelling and screaming, and car horns were being held down. It was unreal, and it went on for hours. It sounded like a mob. I noticed it a little on Friday night, but nothing like Saturday night. Guess there is nothing really that the hotel can do about it other than calling the cops. It was awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel close to city center

Posted May 21, 2014
I spent 2 nights in a quaint little room with antique furniture. The room was surprisingly quiet. Loved the breakfast and evening get together. The staff was very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

1 star hotel

Posted May 16, 2014
My experience was terrible. I hit to the hotel at 8 pm. The door was locked and there was a sign telling guests to check into the hotel at the reception desk of another hotel down the street. After carrying my luggage to the other hotel and back I let myself into the hotel. It was 90+ degrees in my room. I called the front desk of the other hotel I checked in at, and was told there was no AC and they did not recommend opening the windows for safety reasons. They asked if I wanted a fan. My stay was miserable from the beginning to the end.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victorian charm yes, comfort no

Posted May 2, 2014
we were dissappointed in our stay, being that one the heat was not turned on, and two we counldnt get a good nights sleep as the bed was small and the mattress and box was slanting to one side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bed & Breakfast in the heart of San Francisco

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Great little bed and breakfast close to everything. Walking distance to Union Square, buses, trolly cars, China Town, and great restaurants. When you walk into the lobby, you are removed from the hustle and bustle of SF and set in a French victorian country inn. The service was excellent from check in to check out. Really nice to have the breakfast available so you can take your time in the morning. Room was small but totally adequate and very comfortable. I have been to SF many times before but I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amigo Family from Los Angeles

A lil' bit of France in the heart of San Francisco

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Everything! The room with the fireplace, the food, the staff, the all day hot tea & cookies.
Location: Centrally located to everything we wanted to see.
Loved this little gem in the middle of the city. Was looking for an inexpensive but nice place to stay with my 10 yr old daughter for a 3 day getaway. This adorable little hotel fit the bill. Each day we discovered something even more charming about the hotel than the day before. The food had a French flair and we loved the all day tea & cookies. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for an intimate place in a centrally located area. Terrific all the way around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by charlotte from PEI Canada

Great hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: It was good location ,clean and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to good restaurants and transportation
My husband and I spent two nights here .We are seniors and the staff were all very kind and helpful. We felt comfortable and secure in the small hotel atmosphere. Certainly will recommend it to friends. Thank you to the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Olivia from Seattle

Definite pros and cons

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, complimentary breakfast/water/tea/wine social hour, location, fireplace, french theme
Cons: Hard to comment without saying the hotel could use a renovation.
Location: Shopping (BCBG, DSW, H&M, Gap), cable car (so not too far from the wharf), plenty of good bars and eateries
From the airport, we rode the BART to Powell St and then walked up to the hotel which was just fine for us. (There's an option to ride the cable car up Powell, if you don't want to walk up-hill and you're ok with carrying your suitcase/travel gear on the cable car.) The check-in process is very quick and simple. I was told at check-in that I had to authorize $50 from my cc for incidentals. No big deal, but I was surprised. The hotel as a whole is old. The first thing I noticed was that it smelled old. Additionally, it's old enough that when you walk down the hall every step is a creak. Kinda noisy. The elevator wasn't working; carrying a large suitcase up the narrow staircase was difficult. However, the room (#45) was very cute. Fireplace made the room cozy. The bathroom was clean and mostly functional. Both times I took a shower the water was warm for two minutes and then cool. Wasn't the best, but it worked. The open breakfast looked really good (eggs, different breads, fruits, yogurt). The downstairs layout for the breakfast is very inviting. I really liked that complimentary tea and bottled water were available 24/7. I wished the water supply was better stocked - half of the time, the refrig was empty. The staff replenished our towels without us asking which was nice but not necessary - we would have been happy to reuse our towels. For the most part, we enjoyed our stay but would probably find another place in the same area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M&J from Omaha, Nebraska

Good Honeymoon Experience

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Location: Restaurant - House of Nanking (rude service but good food and price is right - try the sesame chicken), Piraat Pizzeria (closeby, huge tasty calzones)
My new wife and I were very pleased with our time at the Petite Auberge. The staff was very friendly, interactive, and helpful. The hotel provided a continental breakfast that saved us the hassle and cost of finding a place to eat every morning, and the food was diversified enough to provide you with something that you'd like. The room was small, which we expected, and the building was a little run down, which we also anticipated based on other reviews. The d├ęcor provided a small French cottage feel to the public spaces and the room, and I mean that in a very good way. Be aware that there isn't individual temperature control in the rooms, except for opening a window. The hotel is located close to downtown (Chinatown is a walkable distance, and there are good restaurants located nearby.) Taking a cab to or from the piers will cost you around $15 (around $11 + tip) for 2 people. The price for our room was reasonable, we had a very good experience at the hotel, we would stay there again, and we would recommend that you give it a try.