Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant respite in convenient location

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff, quiet rooms, the breakfast was so much more than just continental and the location was convenient.
Cons: We have no needs that were not met during our stay.
Location: Very convenient to city center dining and shopping.
Having stayed in big hotels in downtown San Francisco and never really satisfied, we decided to look for something different this time round. Still wanting convenience to all the dining, shopping and transportation options, we decided to try the White Swan. We were so pleasantly surprised. We booked a Deluxe King room - it was quiet, clean, relaxing size, had all the amenities to make our stay comfortable. The staff were always pleasant, polite, helpful and kind. The decor fit the bill of a boutique hotel with attention to interesting detail. There was wine and hours d'oeuvres available pre-dinner; cookies or snacks available during the day. We were able to walk or use Uber conveniently to all the places we needed to go and explore. We did not utilize a car or parking while on this visit as public transport was sufficient for our needs. This will be our preferred stay when in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Superior B&B

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: New mattress. Old elevator fine except that closing mechanism is hard to manage.
Location: Steep walking on hill. Cable car a block away. A few restaurants close.
Excellent B&B. Unusually good, fresh breakfast. Wine and hors d'oeuvre at cocktail hour. We had an attractive, spacious room with fireplace. Agreeable staff helped with luggage, called taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, AZ

Excellent staff, great location, great breakfasts!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Perfect.
Location: Walking distance to china town, Pier 39 if you are up to a 35 minute walk, union square - and piles of great restaurants and bars.
Fast efficient, friendly staff. The breakfasts are great, and the happy hours (wine and snacks) were very enjoyable in the warm living room like environment. The building is a character building, so you will not have a "new building experience", but everything is clean and well maintained. This is akin to the comfort and quaintness of a b&b, but in an old/small apartment building. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Great location. Wonderful service.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Old well maintained building with great atmosphere.
Cons: No
Location: Union Square
The White Swan set us up for the perfect San Francisco experience. Old world charm offering all the facilities we needed. Andy was great during check in providing fresh coffee, home made cookies and help with directions. Central location within a few blocks from Union Square could not have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Leuke stijl, ligging prima

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Leuke moderne stijl in oud klassiek gebouw.
Was twee dagen in San Francisco voor werk en hotel was prima. Personeel werkte erg mee om de kamer wat eerder dan check in time klaar te hebben.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Waianae, HI

Disappointed in new direction of decor

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: I appreciate the staff and the breakfast.
Cons: Decor, music. These are distracting.
Location: The location is near our daughter's home.
It looks as if they are trying to transition to a 60's theme and that is very disappointing. One reason we paid the high fees requested was because of the charming old English atmosphere. This is disappearing. The new artwork and decor is atrocious and the music, although I love it, is not appropriate for what the hotel used to be. Suffice to say, we may not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

So comfortable and pretty

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: It was very quiet and the staff were friendly and helpful. Also loved the included waters and sodas in fridge daily.
Cons: nothing.
Location: in Nob Hill, very nice and safe area. Near Chinatown, as well.
The hotel is perfect if you want something safe, comfortable, and quiet. The decor is on point as a country-chic inn with a mod flair. Loved the pics of the mod girls in the room. Room was spacious. Staff were perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mt Dora Florida

Diamond in the rough

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Really a surprise. We visit and love bed and breakfest as a change from hotels. The room was great and the special touches from cookies at check in , to wine and small taste at 5 p m , through breakfast and coffee and beverages anytime we wanted made this a special San Francisco accomodiation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and quiet place to stay near the Union Square

Posted Dec 26, 2014
It's a very nice place for holidays as well as business trip! Hotel staff are very nice and kind. Room facility is good and clean, feeling comfortable to stay. They also provide cookies every afternoon! How sweet! On the other hand, you can easily find some small restaurants nearby. Very convenience to walk around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

急な坂道をのぼったところ

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: 家具がかわいい。ご飯が美味しい。スタッフが親切丁寧。
Cons: 値段が少し高め。
ユニオン・スクエアから近く、こじんまりとしたいいホテルです。 他のレビューにもあるように、坂がかなりきついので最寄り駅からスーツケースを押して歩いて行くのは厳しいです。 私は空港からシャトルを使いました、チップを入れて18-20ドル。所要時間は20分-50分(途中で乗り合いの人を待ったりおろしたりするので時間がかかります。空港に向かう時の方が時間かかりました。) 周辺の治安は悪くなく、女1人旅でしたが、夜11時前に帰って来た時も、早朝散歩した時も何も感じませんでした。 部屋は広さもあり、清潔。シャワーもちゃんとお湯がでるし勢いもあり、バスタブは少し浅いけど、ドライヤーもバスローブもついていたし、湯沸し器も冷蔵庫もありました。冷蔵庫の飲み物は全てフリーで飲むことができたのもよかったです。 夜間、外が騒がしいこともなかったです。 紅茶やココア、コーヒーが飲み放題、朝食は美味しく、夕方のオードブルも小腹を満たすのに十分でした。 ホテルのスタッフも親切で丁寧に対応してくれるので、安心して過ごせました。 3点だけ残念な点が。 ・クローゼットがお風呂のところにあるので、洋服が少し湿気てしまう。 ・隣の人がシャワーを浴びる音、上の人が歩く音などホテル内での音がかなり伝わってくる。 ・コンベンションセンターで大きな会がある時期と重なったらしく、値段が異常に高かった(他のホテルもでしたが)。 次回、タイミングが会って手頃な値段だったらまた泊まりたいです。