Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Old fashioned hotel near to some unpleasant areas

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: location was iffy. Full refurb including furniture and fittings
Location: Near to Union Square and SF's worst ghetto
Staff were excellent throughout and could not be faulted. However the hotel was a disappointment especially in few of the rates they charge. Our room was on the top floor and had no air con so was very warm throughout the stay. The bed was very strange as it was very old and involved two very thick mattresses on top of each other. The decor was aimed at 1960s UK but was a little over the top. No room safe but a safety deposit was available in reception. Bathroom was dated but clean. Staff warned us twice on arrival not to turn left on leaving the hotel as it was only a very short stroll into San Fran's worst ghetto with homeless and drug takers on every corner. Overall summary, disappointing hotel saved by the excellent staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Cozy place. good location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, library, location, staff, room size
Cons: Mattress needs replacing, furnishings in general just a bit old
Location: The Embarcadero between Ferry Terminal and Fisherman's Wharf. Also Golden Gate Park, a few miles west. Chinatown very close.
This is a small hotel about a mile from the Ferry Terminal. Close to Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District. Good sized comfortable room, albeit just a bit shabby. Food provided at zero marginal cost included an excellent breakfast (with sausages, eggs, oatmeal, fruit, etc.), wine and snacks in late afternoon, and cookies a bit earlier. Also bottled water and soft drinks in room, renewed daily. Staff very friendly and helpful. Library downstairs an excellent place for sitting/reading/chatting if you want to get out of your room. No problem with noise or neighborhood. Property seems to be a bit more reasonable than many nearby alternatives. Not much in the way of additional services or facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

A littlefunkybutotherwiseoutstanding.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Great! They have an ancient elevator. .wonderful breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Homey place close to everything

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We found the White Swan to be very homey and wonderfully non-corporate. We were greeted by very nice young people and fresh made cookies. The room is big and the building used to be apartments, so it has an old-fashioned feel. The elevator is a very old model, but fun. The breakfast is good and a great addition. The hotel is also walkable to so much (sometimes a good walk), and also very close to BART, buses and the MUNI. We'd definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Val from Maryland

Convenience, Comfort and Charm

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The White Swan Inn is located close to Union Square, Chinatown and the financial district. When we are in the hotel, you are cared for by a wonderful staff. Their breakfast buffet and afternoon wine bar were lovely. There is some wear and tear on this historic building (especially obvious in the bathrooms) but it doesn't outweigh all the delight we took in our stay. The king bed in our room was AMAZINGLY comfortable. We hope to come back again soon (and often).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Central to everything

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: I liked the breakfast that was included. We could walk to restaurants from the hotel and to most of the attractions. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Maybe a new faucet in the bathroom.
Location: We viewed the fireworks from Coit Tower. China town is five blocks away. We rode a cable car.
We stayed six nights at the White Swan Inn. We enjoyed the 60's British music in the lower food and sitting area. The 5:00 guest gathering is a nice touch. The room had a king sized bed, love seat, chair and fireplace. There was no Air Condition but it wasn't needed. We stayed July 3 - 9, 2014. I was able to enjoy several naps while my husband watched the World Cup. The hotel is small, charming and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We are glad we stayed here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gene Faucher from Los gatos ,CA

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
GREAT
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice urban boutique hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Free breakfast, free happy hour, free cookies... great location near restaurants and nightlife
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The hotel was very clean and the room was spacious. We loved the decor. The Complimentary breakfast was very good. The staff was pleasant enough, but they were in no way willing to go the extra mile to accommodate newbies to San Francisco. We desperately needed a concierge. Most amazing Italian resturant on the corner of Mason and Sutter!! Best in SF!!!