Ratings based on 475 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Totally charming

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The fireplace, the decor, the breakfast, the tall, comfortable bed, valet parking.
Cons: Hallways are a bit funky with boxes of stuff stashed at the end of some of them.
Location: Great location in the heart of SF with Chinatown, Union Square and cable cars very close.
Lovely small hotel with gas fireplaces, original features such as an old cage elevator, 60's London artifacts and a very delicious breakfast included in the price. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. Our room faced the street and there is a bit of noise from the bar on the opposite side. If you are sensitive ask for a non-street facing room. Staff was helpful and polite. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant respite in convenient location

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff, quiet rooms, the breakfast was so much more than just continental and the location was convenient.
Cons: We have no needs that were not met during our stay.
Location: Very convenient to city center dining and shopping.
Having stayed in big hotels in downtown San Francisco and never really satisfied, we decided to look for something different this time round. Still wanting convenience to all the dining, shopping and transportation options, we decided to try the White Swan. We were so pleasantly surprised. We booked a Deluxe King room - it was quiet, clean, relaxing size, had all the amenities to make our stay comfortable. The staff were always pleasant, polite, helpful and kind. The decor fit the bill of a boutique hotel with attention to interesting detail. There was wine and hours d'oeuvres available pre-dinner; cookies or snacks available during the day. We were able to walk or use Uber conveniently to all the places we needed to go and explore. We did not utilize a car or parking while on this visit as public transport was sufficient for our needs. This will be our preferred stay when in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Superior B&B

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: New mattress. Old elevator fine except that closing mechanism is hard to manage.
Location: Steep walking on hill. Cable car a block away. A few restaurants close.
Excellent B&B. Unusually good, fresh breakfast. Wine and hors d'oeuvre at cocktail hour. We had an attractive, spacious room with fireplace. Agreeable staff helped with luggage, called taxis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale, AZ

Excellent staff, great location, great breakfasts!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Perfect.
Location: Walking distance to china town, Pier 39 if you are up to a 35 minute walk, union square - and piles of great restaurants and bars.
Fast efficient, friendly staff. The breakfasts are great, and the happy hours (wine and snacks) were very enjoyable in the warm living room like environment. The building is a character building, so you will not have a "new building experience", but everything is clean and well maintained. This is akin to the comfort and quaintness of a b&b, but in an old/small apartment building. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Great location. Wonderful service.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Old well maintained building with great atmosphere.
Cons: No
Location: Union Square
The White Swan set us up for the perfect San Francisco experience. Old world charm offering all the facilities we needed. Andy was great during check in providing fresh coffee, home made cookies and help with directions. Central location within a few blocks from Union Square could not have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Leuke stijl, ligging prima

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Leuke moderne stijl in oud klassiek gebouw.
Was twee dagen in San Francisco voor werk en hotel was prima. Personeel werkte erg mee om de kamer wat eerder dan check in time klaar te hebben.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Waianae, HI

Disappointed in new direction of decor

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: I appreciate the staff and the breakfast.
Cons: Decor, music. These are distracting.
Location: The location is near our daughter's home.
It looks as if they are trying to transition to a 60's theme and that is very disappointing. One reason we paid the high fees requested was because of the charming old English atmosphere. This is disappearing. The new artwork and decor is atrocious and the music, although I love it, is not appropriate for what the hotel used to be. Suffice to say, we may not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

So comfortable and pretty

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: It was very quiet and the staff were friendly and helpful. Also loved the included waters and sodas in fridge daily.
Cons: nothing.
Location: in Nob Hill, very nice and safe area. Near Chinatown, as well.
The hotel is perfect if you want something safe, comfortable, and quiet. The decor is on point as a country-chic inn with a mod flair. Loved the pics of the mod girls in the room. Room was spacious. Staff were perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mt Dora Florida

Diamond in the rough

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Really a surprise. We visit and love bed and breakfest as a change from hotels. The room was great and the special touches from cookies at check in , to wine and small taste at 5 p m , through breakfast and coffee and beverages anytime we wanted made this a special San Francisco accomodiation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com