Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Illinois

Taste of English B&B in heart of San Francisco

Posted Nov 24, 2014
We loved everything about this hotel. The staff was outstanding, going out of their way to see to anything we needed. The d├ęcor reminded me of B&Bs I've stayed at in Great Britain with tiny touches of 60's memorabilia creating an eclectic, fun feeling. The full breakfast buffet, the afternoon hors d'oeuvres and front desk cookies appeared to be made by a chef. The in-room fireplace was great to come back to every evening. I would definitely stay at the White Swan again and find it worthy of a 5 star rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Wonderful SF find

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Very charming boutique hotel with wonderful free amenities. Breakfast was delicious and fresh made. My room was spacious and lovely. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Princeton, NJ

Breath of fresh air

Posted Nov 10, 2014
A welcome break from the standard, cookie-cutter hotel experience. Friendly staff, rooms that make you feel at home, great location. Once you figure out how to use the elevator, you're good to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Feels like you are home!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Second time staying here and couldn't get better. One of the best hotel stays ever. The hotel staff are a delight, they are so proactive with anything you need. Rooms are equipped with mostly everything you may need and if you miss something just whisper it and the hotel will happily provide anything within their means!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Old fashioned hotel near to some unpleasant areas

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: location was iffy. Full refurb including furniture and fittings
Location: Near to Union Square and SF's worst ghetto
Staff were excellent throughout and could not be faulted. However the hotel was a disappointment especially in few of the rates they charge. Our room was on the top floor and had no air con so was very warm throughout the stay. The bed was very strange as it was very old and involved two very thick mattresses on top of each other. The decor was aimed at 1960s UK but was a little over the top. No room safe but a safety deposit was available in reception. Bathroom was dated but clean. Staff warned us twice on arrival not to turn left on leaving the hotel as it was only a very short stroll into San Fran's worst ghetto with homeless and drug takers on every corner. Overall summary, disappointing hotel saved by the excellent staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Cozy place. good location

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, library, location, staff, room size
Cons: Mattress needs replacing, furnishings in general just a bit old
Location: The Embarcadero between Ferry Terminal and Fisherman's Wharf. Also Golden Gate Park, a few miles west. Chinatown very close.
This is a small hotel about a mile from the Ferry Terminal. Close to Chinatown, Union Square, Financial District. Good sized comfortable room, albeit just a bit shabby. Food provided at zero marginal cost included an excellent breakfast (with sausages, eggs, oatmeal, fruit, etc.), wine and snacks in late afternoon, and cookies a bit earlier. Also bottled water and soft drinks in room, renewed daily. Staff very friendly and helpful. Library downstairs an excellent place for sitting/reading/chatting if you want to get out of your room. No problem with noise or neighborhood. Property seems to be a bit more reasonable than many nearby alternatives. Not much in the way of additional services or facilities.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robertfrom Nottingham

Very disappointed

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked the hotel based on location, facilities and previous online references. We were very disappointed as soon as we entered the hotel. The entrance is shabby and badly in need of renovation. The young girl from reception, who opened the door from us was shabby looking and not welcoming. On entering our room, out hearts sank, we couldn't understand how the hotel had achieved 4.5 out of 5.0 rating. The immediate impression was of a very dated and dreary room. On closer inspection, the bathroom looked as if it was last updated in the 1950's - shabby outmoded taps, shower fittings, ceramics and shower enclosure. An overall dreadful experience, we couldn't wait to leave after one night to an hotel that's appearance and facilities was in the 21st century, not the 19th. We are both very experienced travellers and will treat future ratings with greater caution.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ken

Totally charming, comfortable and convenient!

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice stay. Quanit and charming relative other chain hotels in the area. Stayed for business reasons. Was surprised that there was no proper desk in the room, but made do with a small table and easy chair. Room was warm and difficult to cool off, even with the box fan provided. These are minor issues compared to the VERY pleasant ambiance and super-attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

A littlefunkybutotherwiseoutstanding.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Great! They have an ancient elevator. .wonderful breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carolfrom Lakewood Ranch, FL

A Most Comfortable B & B

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about the White Swan Inn was top notch. Our room was tastefully decorated, had 2 sinks and ample room to move about. The Staff was gracious and made us feel so at home. Breakfast was a real treat. There were numerous selections that varied daily. The wine and appetizers were a nice touch as well as allowing us to interact with other guests. The location was ideal and close to the hop on, hop off bus.