Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Older hotel, but still very nice.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was too early for me, but my husband enjoyed it; wifi was good; TV had plenty of channels. It is beautiful on the inside.
Cons: The common area carpets could use a good stretching, but they looked clean. Breakfast from 6-10 would be better than 5-9 in my opinion.
Location: Lambert's (throwed rolls, yum) is a couple minutes away. Outlet mall across the interstate. Cape Girardeau is 30 minutes north - much to see there.
We were surprised by the amount of room in the suite - it was well equipped and everything worked. Again, not brand new furnishings, but this hotel has been a real gem in its heyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Great hotel close to everything.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: We liked everything.
Cons: We did not find anything that needed to be improved.
Location: This hotel was located right off the Hwy 55. There were several different places to eat, a bowling alley close by, a movie theater and Walmart.
We had a wonderful time at this hotel, in fact it was the best hotel stay we have ever had. There was a pond in the front of the hotel that had fish in it. Our grandchildren were allowed to go fishing everyday. We hardly ever saw them. They had a pool that the grandchildren enjoyed swimming in. The rooms were awesome. They had one side with the two queen size beds, a TV and a table with a chair to sit and do whatever. In the next room was a sitting room with a couch, rocking recliner chair, a TV, another desk with a chair, and a coffee table. The bathroom was right off of the sitting room. We had the choice of having either a tub or just a shower. We took the shower and our family took the tub. The beds were very comfortable. They also allow pets. The staff was wonderful. Anytime we needed anything, we had it right away. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Missouri.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The suites were roomy comfortable and quite.
Cons: The suites could be upgraded. The furnishings were old but in good shape.
Location: Quite location and very close by car to several restaurants.
The hotel was old but very nice and quite. The staff was excellent! The hotel rooms could be upgraded, but were very comfortable. We would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Very Disappointing

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The one good aspect was the breakfast that was included. It was above average.
Cons: All of the above.
Location: Just passing through, so didn't look for anything to do.
The hotel had pretty good reviews online...but that isn't what we found. The room was dirty. Had spots on the bedspread. Hair in the bathroom. The room was dark, old and didn't have a clean feel. Didn't want to walk on the carpet barefooted. For the price we paid...it was certainly not what we expected.
1 out of 5
by Not interested from Texas

A very disappointing experience

Posted May 31, 2014
Cons: See above.
Location: N/A. See above
The most disappointing fact is that at the end of the stay we were told that a refund should not be an issue and that we only needed to notify Expedia. SO NOT TRUE!!! we were at the hotel because of a funeral not for fun. We did not complain of the 'minor' issues as they occurred because we were preoccupied with grief and insuring that we had everything needed for the funeral. The first thing was that after a 10 hour trip we got into an ice cold room. The second thing we noticed was that the floors in the hotel were buckling. Wow! Then we were surprised by the rudeness of some of the staff. The breakfast was free but everyday the same items were served and they were not that good. After day three we had an opportunity to stay somewhere else and chose to check out and were told about the first item of my review. I will not stay in any American Best Value Inn & Suites again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by James lindsey from Sikeston, missouri

Comfortable

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed here several times and was pleased with the service,professionalism and sleeping accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lee from Biloxi

Moving home

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our family stayed here on our move back home. The hotel was nice and everything was as expected, except the a/c wasn't working. They compensated us for the inconvenience, so overall pleased with our stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Linda from Chicago suburbs

Really run-down, out-dated, in need repair

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff people were nice but I would say it was the worst place I've ever stayed in as far as the maintenance of the property. Desperately needed remodeling, redecorating, updating and better cleaning. If we hadn't prepaid online there is no way we would have stayed overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Lohmann, MO

There for bridal shower

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: It had a sitting room.
Didn't expect a sitting room which came in handy since after the long drive my husband wanted to nap and I could go into the sitting room and watch TV. Breakfast was average but better than I've had at other hotels. Couldn't do better for the price. Beds were comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Annette from Clinton Mo

Business Trip

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was great the rooms was very very clean , yes it is an older hotel but the value of this place is fantastic , the breakfast is just continental not much to chose from , and I am a type 1 diabetic so could not eat what they had , but I would stay at this place again and again I liked it that much , from Annette