Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by DHP from MD

Stay or Not to Stay

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Upgrade the interior and exterior. The website photos are very, very deceiving!
Location: Not sure. We were there for somber reasons. There is a bar/club at the location. The younger locals go to Jacksonville FL (25 mins away) for fun.
If motels are not the type of places you stay at, then this is definitely not the place for you. The ‘hotel’ is not dirty, but it was not welcoming for us. Literally 10 minutes away are newer hotels for cheaper prices. Our flight got delayed and we had to stay two extra nights in the area. We checked into a different hotel for the extra two nights. **The staff was very nice.
3 out of 5
by Trod from st. Louis

Ok but ......

Posted Mar 5, 2014
The hotel was pleasant but.... very basic.. we had difficulty locating because we arrived at dusk and they hadn't illuminated their sign. the rooms were recently updated but.... low quality Nice business center but.... clerk didn't know the password to enable its use . nice breakfast but... no place to sit... Like the area but... not likely to stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nonna and Papa from Pittsburgh, Pa

Decent budget motel for short stay

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Cons: Less antiseptic smell - better quality towels.
We stayed one night at the Cumberland Inn on our drive to Florida. We were very familiar with the area, because our daughter lived for several years in a nearby town. Our room was a standard King, which we found to be quiet, clean and comfortable, although a very basic budget style accommodation. The bed was comfortable, and there was an overstuffed chair, as well as a microwave, and a small refrigerator, which needs to be replaced. The room looked as if it had been recently painted, and the laminate flooring was much cleaner than the typically stained and dirty motel carpeting found in so many places. The bathroom/dressing room was typical of older motels, with the sink located separately from the toilet and tub/shower, which had really unattractive tiling. The towels were thin, but adequate. Upon entering the room, we noticed a heavy antiseptic smell, which perhaps should have been masked with a room deodorizer instead. There are many stores, restaurants, and a movie complex in short driving distance form the hotel. The breakfast offered was poor at best, with inexpensive packaged offerings. Because we were there for only one night, we didn't use any motel amenities that may have been available. This is an adequate motel for a short stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location for ferry to Cumberland Island.

Posted Nov 21, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

review

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Room clean and hotel at good location.
Cons: Room took a long time to cool. Has window unit.
Short stay. Nothing else to say. Nothing else to say. Nothing else to say.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

close to Cumberland Island

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stay was nice
3 out of 5
by Magaw from CT

Old hotel that still needs some work.

Posted Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Breakfast had quite a variety
Cons: General overall appearance could be improved. Just looks old and worn.
Location: Close to 95 and not far from downtown St. Mary's
Just stayed one night and hotel was pretty empty. All basic necessities were there just old and worn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chris L. from Atlanta

Uupdated 1960's Holiday Inn

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Basic old style motel with outside entrances. O.K. for sleeping but only reason to stay here is convenience to Cumberland Ferry landing in St. Mary's. Basically a concrete jungle but clean. Free breakfast was minimal.