Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Grand needs a facelift.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was very pleasant and efficient and the breakfast was very good.
Cons: A facelift would be a big improvement to the overall appearance.
Location: There are lovely shops and restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel in general is in need of maintenance and a facelift. It's conveniently located and within walking distance of town. I remember the Grand in her younger days when it operated under a different name. I would stay there again but would love to see her brought back to her old glory. There really isn't a hotel as convenient as this in Summit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Grand Summit Hotel, Summit, NJ

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: see above - this box will not accept copied text very well
Cons: The worst part were the towels that felt like rough paper. I would suggest that they invest in some better quality towels and perhaps a water softener
Location: see above - this box will not accept copied text very well
The Grand Summit is a pleasant quaint old hotel. It is conveniently located fairly close to the train station, pharmacies, eateries, a cinema, the YMCA and several public service buildings. The staff were all friendly and helpful, day or night. A shuttle service link to the Newark Airport was available for $25 extra, if booked in advance, although it only operated during certain hours. Access to exercise facilites was included. The breakfast consisted of a good variety of items, including several hot items daily. It was convenient to have a restaurant within the hotel for other meals as well. Complimentary hot drinks and snacks in the foyer, 24/7, was a nice touch. I really appreciated the 'Business Centre' room where a computer and printer were available for guests. Having windows that could open slightly for some fresh air is always a nice touch. The air conditioning unit within the room was effective, if somewhat noisy. The bed was somewhat saggy, so someone with a touchy back may not have enjoyed it. I did appreciate having the choice of a soft pillow or the firmer ones that seemed to be the norm, as they provided several of the latter kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The bar was nice and the bar staff was great.
Cons: Overall customer service and cleanliness of the room.
I showed up at the hotel and the concierge didn't acknowledge us. He didn't open the door or ask if we needed help with our bags. The room wasn't ready at check in time and finally after 11/2 hours they finally found a different room. The wait staff lacked any kind of real social skills. I would not recommend this hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good location to NY City

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Location: 15 mins walk to train station and 40 mins to NY city. Hotel has shuttle bus and very frendly.
Hotel Staff are very professional & helpful. Glad to stay there for 12 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shelby Twp., MI

Convienent to New York City

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location, hotel room, food & hotel staff
Cons: Electronic door key access from the outside instead of having to go around to the inside. Some rooms have it but we always request room 51-54.
Location: New York City. Many restaurants right in Summit, our favorite is Trattoria. We also travel to the beaches down the shore which is only an hour away.
This hotel suited our needs for our visit. I especially prefer our room close to the pool & since it has an outside sitting area for family & friends to visit us. The staff are always courteous & helpful when you need something. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to New York City since it is only a 5 minute walk to the train station & a 35 minute train ride into Penn Station. They also have Starbucks coffee available in the lobby 24/7 along with assorted flavor teas. The complimentary breakfast buffet is always good and perfect to start off your day. The Hat Tavern Bar located downstairs is also very quaint & offer local beers as well. Overall our stay was pleasant as usual.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sdionnac from Washington DC

Best breakfast buffet ever!

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, old world surroundings in this historic hotel. Room was clean and comfortable, if a little small. The restaurant, Hat Tavern, served excellently prepared burgers and fries and their breakfast buffet was the best I have had in years. Food was beautifully presented and perfectly prepared. I will definitely go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Not so grand!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, comfortable beds, the Hat Tavern
Cons: Clean the elevator, don't harass people about a parking fee, for goodness sake....this is Summit, not NYC.
Stayed here for three nights for a family event. It's a quaint old hotel in need of updating. I would not refer to it as grand at all. The staff is accommodating, breakfast was good and the beds were comfortable. The furniture is just very worn looking. Towels are rough and scratchy and the elevator is filthy.. With some tlc this hotel could return to the grand status in its name but right now, not so much! The Hat Tavern was excellent. BTW a $9.50 per night fee for parking is added to the bill!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wichita, ks

Nice hotel close to New York

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Convenience to city
Cons: Could be updated
Location: Great dining inSummitt and again lose to New York
All was great except at check out only to discover that our stay was charged to another credit card, thankfully our sons, but he left the day before and our three day stay was charged to his credit card. While this worked out just fine due to the family involved this could have been very inconvenient had the charges been put on a strangers card.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tahoe City, CA

Historic comforts

Posted Jun 26, 2014
A very nice hotel. The rooms are small, just a bed and coffee table. But it was perfect for one adult and two small children. My only complaint would be the charging of all the extras. It was $20 a night for a crib, and $9.95 to park in the parking lot. However it was all very well worth it. The morning breakfast included French toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, bagels, donuts, and cereal. The staff was also very friendly and it was an easy drive off the interstate. Would definitely stay there again. Was a good halfway point between Easton PA and Yonkers NY .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from New Jersey

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The room was small but very clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good.
Cons: I did not know there was a charge for a fridge. That would be nice to be included. And the hot water took a while to come up in the shower.
Location: We were here for one night to attend a function. We did not venture out around the town.
We stayed here because it was close to the function we were attending. It's an historic hotel. The room was clean and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. There were only 2 outlets in the room and 1 in the bathroom. So it was hard to find a place to plug in the computer and chargers, etc. I did not like having to walk through a wedding cocktail hour to get to the front desk. I felt like I was intruding on the party.