Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Comfy place to stay.
Cons: Detail cleaning is a must. Maybe few parking spots could be purchased by the owners, searching for place to park the car can be a challenge.
Location: Hard to find a parking spot but it is what it is. Close to everything. Good coffee and food just a short walk away. Couple of shopping centres.
I have a great couple of nights at this lodge. Can't say anything bad about this place even so it is next to the major hospital. I would expect a lot of ambulance traffic but was surprisingly quiet. A little bit more detail during cleaning would be great. Overall a pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Avoid if at all possible

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Nothing. It was spooky (only one dim light inside). Conot tell if was clean, convenient, comfortable, or safe (dubious for young child).
Cons: See review, but it was so dark (no staff, apparently nobody else staying there) and "unoccupied" feeling that we did not even try to stay there.
Location: No idea. Apparently not a completely safe neighborhood (tho near a large hospital). Too far to walk for food. Street parking impossible to find.
Not a hotel (despite Expedia classification): no staff on site so no help for questions, problems, or emergencies; no parking available; no way to deal with luggage; no amenities; some poor prior ratings on Expedia are worth checking (dirty bedspreads, room doors that do not close/lock, wet floors, etc.). The "key-safe" arrangement is not reassuring; tall iron fence surrounding building ("for security," I was told by phone) is not particularly reassuring either. Entry is not at address but rather reached from an alley (past trash bins) on a cross-street. Whole place is dark, forbidding, and spooky. It's really more like a boardinghouse, and I think not suitable for families (certainly not with small children) or foreign travelers. Did not seem safe or reasonable to take a small child into such a building.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chapel Hill NC

HORRID SITUATION. MISLEADING INFORMATION.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Nothing -- it was so offputting and scary in the evening that we did not feel comfortable in the area, let alone trying to figure out how to get in.
Cons: Honesty about what this place actually is. Parking available nearby. A human being to let you in and help with getting you settled
Location: Residential area (I assume) near a hospital. Not near Sydney airport. I was told it is NOT A HOTEL, although advertised as such. No food nearby
We did not stay here because (a) it is not a hotel; (b) nobody is "there" to check anybody in -- instead you have to call somebody to get a code to get a key (which is difficult when one is from overseas without much cell phone coverage); (c) there is no parking available (only on the street-HOPELESS) and no way to get luggage to the place; (d) the entrance is off an alley, not on the street specified in the address, and the only door is reached only by a narrow brick walkway past trash cans; (e) it is not anywhere near Sydney (Australia) airport despite being "advertised" as an airport hotel. It was completely dark except for a dim light inside illuminating a sign pointing to reception--no lights on any floor that I could see. When I phoned the posted number for "nonresident manager" (not there evenings) I was told this was a "secure" building and hence the need for the phone, code, and instructions inside -- that was not reassuring. We were traveling with a 4-year-old child and the place was so spooky, dark, and dirty-looking that neither her mother nor I (grandmother) were at all comfortable even trying to figure this out because we had no idea whether anybody else was in the building (or whether anybody might come in later) and would have had no way to try to summon help in any emergency or awkward situation. I asked the person on the phone to try to cancel the reservation, and he said he would try to look it up and call me the next day, but he did not call.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central to everything we needed

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: It's locality, it's cleanliness and it's comfort
Location: It's across the road to the Prince of Wales hospital. It is close to shops, cafes and public transport
We loved this hotel. It was close to the Prince of Wales hospital, where my son was having surgery done. It was close to shops and cafes. The room was clean and comfortable, and a pleasure to come back to and relax after a busy day. It was my sons first stay in a hotel and he had a great time, he loved the room. He liked the small shampoo and conditioner provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KL Malaysia

Nice hotel close to the UNSW and Sydney city

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff that helped us to store our bags at early morning and gave us info on where to have our breakfast and how to get local mobile SIM card and call taxi for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canberra

Steps

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: it was very clean .
Cons: the out doors if you want to have a smoke you have to go out in the street you cannot have it in the courtyard.
Location: very good
I asked for a bottom floor room so I did not have to go up steps so I get a room up stairs I not long ago had a operation which did not help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by david jfrom Queensland

Best value accommodation in Eastern suburbs

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
very clean, tidy perfect for what we wanted
4 out of 5
by Leanne Stowefrom Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Close to the hospital, shops and dining
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Good; Value: Affordable; Service: Good; Very close to Coogee
2 out of 5
by Wendy Watts

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Close to hospital
Cons: Filthy bed linen. Bars on windows view of garbage
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Horrible; Value: Rip-off; Service: Rude; Cleanliness: Filthy, Smelly, Grubby; Never stay there again !!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible staff

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: close to the Randwick area, but the Randwick lodge is much better
The lady at reception was not friendly, and not only that, she was not there when guests checked in and blaming the guests for not knowing the information and management does not take this issue serioulsy; the rooms, especially the bathroom had really bad smell. The TV signal was very terrible, and the internet service was less than ideal. Definitely much worse than I thought it would be for its price.. would have stayed in the Randwick lodge. House cleaning once every 7 days