Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel in the center of Sydney

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The facilities are old. The kitchen is a bit dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive double room for its poor facilities

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Location was great, right in the heart of Sydney CBD, easy access to the 555 free shuttle bus that takes you to points of interest.
We stayed in a double room with a detached bathroom (in the other side of the corridor). The bed had its side stuck to the wall so that my partner needed to jump over me to go out of bed if I was laying down, which is not so bad comparing to the terrible mattress. The bathroom had a door that looked like cardboard so people talking in the corridor seemed to be inside the bathroom. By the way, there was a wall socket in front of our door that seemed to be very popular for people to go recharge their phones while they'd talk in skype with their friends at 4 am or so. I know there are more wall sockets available for use in the commom areas, away from the rooms, so it was very disrespectful and surprising that the hostel does not have any control over it. Poor families that decided to stay with children in that place. We also had our food stolen, even though it was with labels and inside the fridge/shelf. The staff keep announcing the events of the night in speakers that reach all the building, including the rooms. Weird. If the price was fair, l'd say a maximum of fifty per night, it wouldn't be so bad. If you are not the kind "party animal", this is not the place for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Good location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Staff is very helpful
Cons: Window in my room wasn't clean. It needed more hangers. A television will be good.
Location: Transport, restaurants, shops, etc.
I was expecting to have the bathroom in the room in other words an ensuite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Gem from London

Great atmosphere!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Staff were great and the room was exactly as advertised.
Cons: Online it states that guests are entitled to free storage of luggage before check in and this did not appear to be available when we arrived.
Location: Opera house, harbour bridge, local bars, museums, ferries to various locations. fantastic location, close to central station and the harbour
This hostel is bright and friendly on entrance - staff on reception were helpful and attentive to all needs! Good evening plans, staff took us out and looked after us the whole time, ensuring that everyone had a great time. Everyone staying there was friedly and seemed to be a nice community atmosphere even though we were the 'newbies' and our booking and whole experience was easy and pleasant :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good value rooms for a night

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at the Westend a few times now when I had late meetings in Sydney. It's definitely one of the quieter backpackers and the staff are always friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by matilda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by daniel Houde

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by pxb from nz

good location

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
not worth the money
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com