Ratings based on 671 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs, FL

Not What I Expected

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Staff was helpful and personable.
Cons: Need newer bedding/furnishings, need enough food for all guests at breakfast, need to properly clean pool.
Location: There were quite a few restaurant choices and close to Busch Gardens but in a run-down area of Tampa.
Hotel website and reviews are what drew us to this hotel as it was close to Busch Gardens in Tampa where we had plans to spend a long weekend. When we arrived, it was in a very sketchy part of town (just 3 blocks further was a nicer area of Tampa), the hotel was going under renovation so a lot of the hotel was off-limits where construction was underway. The hotel manager greeted me upon check-in. She was very friendly and personable. The first thing I noticed upon checking in was that the pool had scum along the upper edges of the pool tiles and there were leaves in the pool. The room was a nice size for the king bedroom suite. However, the king-size mattress needed replacing. I felt like I was leaning upside down when I laid on it and I could feel the bedsprings every time I rolled over. The sofa sleeper was not comfortable for my child either. The bathroom was clean except the anti-slip liner that was placed in the tub still had stagnant water under it. I couldn't ever get a solid Wi-Fi connection to even surf the internet. The breakfast was not good at all. Most everything was gone by 8:00 a.m. except for some hard-boiled eggs, some bread to make toast, and very hard english muffins. There was cereal/milk and fresh fruit, yogurt, which was okay. We just had higher expectations and were very disappointed with the condition of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting hotel, staff was VERY rude

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Manager named Jacqueline was terrible and rude and I didn't even want the staff coming in to clean my room since they all looked so sketchy, I thought I would be robbed. Would have never stayed if I hadn't prepaid
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples

Old rundown hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Busch Gardens just down the street.
This hotel should have been renovated 20 years ago. Furniture in two of the rooms that I saw was dirty and worn. The housekeeping staff had done a poor job in both rooms with several hairs on the mattress cover in one room and dried urine on the toilet seat of another room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fl

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Has shuttle service to Busch Gardens and Adventure Islands.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

There's a reason it's cheap

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The night receptionist was friendly. It was near USF. We picked it because it was cheap, but learned our lesson.
Cons: Everything. Immediately, improve breakfast. A lot. That won't fix funky rooms but they could do that tomorrow.
Location: Convenient to USF, VA, Busch Gardens
It's a franchise hotel under renovation, so they can't call themselves by that name (Holiday Inn Express?). Either that, or they don't want the bad reviews tied to that name. From the look of the rooms the renovation is about 10 years overdue. Carpets smelled like they used too much deodorant to mask smoke, milder or old diapers. The result was equally undesirable. Breakfast? They call it that? Really? That's a stretch. Double-queen room seems to have been designed for single-king bed. End of bed extends across doorway. Weird. Look elsewhere. Come back when the renovations are complete.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: pool area
Cons: Front desk staff, whole time I was checking in, the women checking me in was gossiping with a co-worker, also not told about breakfast
The hotel was nice, the disappointing part was the staff. While I was checking in the women at the front desk was gossiping with a co-worker, we were not told about breakfast or when check out was. The next morning I went to see if I needed to do anything else for check out. I walked into the lobby, no one was there. I waited a few seconds and then said "hello." A woman came from a back office, she walked out and just looked at me. Did not say hello, good morning, or how can I help you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, Florida

Currently undergoing renovation

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, pool, breakfast
Location: Right across from the Yuengling Plant and down the street from Busch Gardens. Convenient to the University of South Florida campus.
We stay at the Grand Suites whenever we are in the USF area and are pleased to see that the hotel renovations have begun! Our room was far enough away for the activity that it didn't bother us and we thoroughly enjoyed the pool on a hot July afternoon. They serve a nice continental breakfast and hot breakfast entrees for a nominal fee. We can't wait to see the new rooms once the construction has been completed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N. Florida

The hotel was a little seedy though construction.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Seemed old/ they are under construction
Location: we went to Busch Gardens
They seemed to be understaffed though the people who were there were as helpful as they could be with limited time to help each person.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Close to Busch Gardens

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Convenient and close to Park.
Cons: Internet access needs to be faster as even basics could not be achieved.
Facility is currently undergoing renovations. Outside areas are in need of some TLC however this is a comfortable place and rooms are very clean. Beautiful welcome by front desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel 2 min from Bush Gardens

Posted Jul 11, 2014
This was a great hotel and the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful especially Tara on reception.