Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Comfortable, professional and logisticly practical

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: location and extremely helpful and polite concierge
Cons: To move with the times - wi-fi should be available for free - a little perk which could make a big difference without too much cost to the hotel
Location: Shinjuku has much to offer but i did not manage to cover much of it. As the rail system is so efficient i ended up in Ginza and spent way too much.
It was my first visit to Japan and this experience has led to my decision to certainly return. The traditions, people and culture are what bowled me over. So clean, polite, logical and with soul. I was fortunate to have caught the best weather and roaming around was absolutely pleasant. I was also traveling alone and did not at any point feel in the least bit intimidated or bored. Despite my very short stint, i managed to cover those attractions which drove me there in the first place... ie. the Kabuki-Za Theatre, the tea ceremony, the Imperial Gardens, the tower etc. Next time i want to catch the cherry blossom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good location and nice hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Overall it is a great hotel to stay. It is a clean, convenient and good service hotel. Like all Japanese hotel, the staffs are very friendly and helpful. But they charge per day per device for internet is very expensive. Now days, we all have multiple devices.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

Lovely hotel except for staff

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Cons: The staff
Location: Not really overly close to the action of shinjuku
The hotel is beautiful with great amenities including regular shuttle buses, spacious rooms, clean and comfortable but it did NOT include wifi or breakfast. The major letdown for Hyatt regency was that the staff were very unhelpful and did the bare minimum or less... When we asked concierge how to get to mt fuji the guy told us to go to the station and catch a bus and to book online, when we asked the name of the bus company he said "mt fuji bus" so the next day we went and asked a different girl who was actually very helpful and made a reservation- which is what you expect from concierge-especially at an expensive hotel chain! Also the door man completely messed us around. We were so disappointed with the service. Would stay elsewhere next time, maybe closer to the action!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manila

Room is not worth the price

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Bell service staff are commendable. Facilities are outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Excellent hotel near Shinjuku train station.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the train station, one of the larger ones in Tokyo. There is a free shuttle that runs between them every twenty minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The room was very nice. We liked all the ammenities.The location was convenient and the food was good.
We choose this hotel because of its nearness to Shinjuku Train Station. We were very pleased with our room and the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You DON'T get what you pay for kind of hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Although English was minimal, the customer service was excellent and it was fun communicating with the workers in sign language.
First impression, the hotel staff was very nice and the lobby is beautiful. The check-in process was smooth and the hotel was in a good location because it was right by the train station which is how my family and I traveled to the different cities in Tokyo. However, the prices are ridiculous. For just two people, our total for a room came out to 3,700 for two weeks. That is about 264 a night which wouldn't be bad if the room wasn't so small.(Great view though). There is no complimentary breakfast included at all and the one time we ate breakfast at the hotel it was about $100 for three people (which is the standard rate for buffet style breakfast; imagine eating breakfast there everyday for 2 weeks!) Most importantly, there is a charge to use the pool! Never in all my days of travelling did I have to pay to use the pool at a hotel I was stay at. The charge was $20 per person...are you serious? When my grandmother wanted to just lay by the pool and read a book, they refused to let her in unless she was wearing a bathing suit. Last but not least, the amount of English spoken by the workers is VERY minimal so if you have questions about things to do in the area there might be one worker that can answer those questions for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Hyatt Regency Tokyo

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location and the Hyatt Regency brand promise.
Cons: Concierge staff need to be re-trained on the cosmopolitan aspects for their patrons who are well-travelled globe-trotters.
Location: Central Tokyo location which still retains some quietness from the hustles-bustles of a mega city.
Attentive staff at the Front Office and the CAFFE restaurant. The waiter at CAFFE called my room to inform me that I had had dropped my wallet at my dining table. However, the same cannot be said of the lady concierge staff (July 30, afternoon shift) from whom I sought assistance for our day-tour reconfirmation with JTB-Sunrise Tours. She was without smiles, and projected an unfriendly mannerism I find so estranged in Japan. Having the Metro entrance/exit at the lower basement is a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Trip to Japan

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean and nice.
Cons: I would not list wifi, the pool (and others if appropriate) as amenities online if they cost extra. They should be listed as options.
Location: This hotel is near nice gardens, nice food, the business sector, close to train and metro stations.
The hotel was very nice and the staff was very helpful. Wifi and swimming pool were listed as amenities but these cost extra. This was frustrating. The prices in the hotel restaurants seemed extremely high. It was a nice hotel, but I was still surprised by how expensive a simple breakfast was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Nice hotel close to metro.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel exceeded our expectations. Room was spacious, beds comfortable, bath facilities excellent - loved shower and upscale toilet! Best part was closeness to subway - minutes away from the areas in Tokyo we wished to see. We would stay here again.