Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Centrally Located

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect and the staff is great.
Cons: It is time to renovate the rooms
Location: It is a boaters dream
Treasure Cay Resort is centrally located on Great Abaco Island. It is perfectly situated as a base for boating in the area. We were drawn there because we wanted to swim with the pigs that live on No Name Cay. We rented a boat from J.I.C. Boat Rentals that are located at Treasure Cay’s Marina and from there it was a short trip to No Name Cay. We visited all of the area islands over the next several days. We went as far south as Hope Town and north to Manjack Cay. Treasure Cay Resort was built in the 1980s and like most of the facilities in the Bahamas it has not been updated since but, it is well maintained. The staff could not be more friendlier or accommodating. In the area there are many choices of restaurants, a grocery store, tour companies, fishing guides and one of the world’s best beaches. It would be nice to see a more modernized resort but it is clean and safe. This was our first trip to Bahamas other than from cruise ships in Nassau and it was a little surprising that credit cards are not always accepted and if they are many times there are minimums and surcharges. You can quickly go through cash. The tax system in the Bahamas is based on importing of goods and therefore the prices for everything are higher. We were there the second week of August which is the end of the season. Many of the businesses were in the process of closing down until November so I would not recommend going any later.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocala, Fl

Sailing from Treasure Cay marina.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The resort has a grocery store, bakery, & laundromat right on the property. Thete are plenty of restaurants & a beautiful beach nearby. Our room was very clean & had coffeemaker,microwave, & a small refrigerator so you could do quite a bit in your room. We had stayed there before& would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but needs upgrading

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The location, the beautiful beach, and the friendly personnel.
Cons: The appearance of the the rooms and making sure details are finished properly. A walking trail nicely landscape to the beach would be wonderful.
Location: The hotel is located near clear blue waters. There are a supermarket, laundry, a bakery, a mini mart and a car & golf cart rental place within 100 ft.
We were first given a room that was under construction. The desk personnel didn't know this. We were then given another room which we found satisfactory. At about 4 in the morning I woke up because I could hear a water drip. Upon inspection I discovered water from the wall behind the bed was coming down on the pillow near my head. I moved over and continued to sleep. Early in the morning my husband walked to the reception desk and explained the situation. They asked us to get ready to move to another room. Three minutes later a person was at our door ready to help us move but I was still packing. About 15 minutes later, a supervisor came to the room and informed us that they were upgrading us to a suite. We were escorted to a second floor room which turned up to be nice. The suite was well furnished but finishing details were not of good quality. E.g. The sliding glass door to the balcony didn't lock and was hard to open & close. The property has great potential and working to update one building at a time would produce wonderful results. This hotel has a beautiful beach but you have to walk through a soccer field, cross the highway and through a parking lot to get to it. The restaurants serve good but expensive meals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive for what you get

Posted Jun 26, 2016
We are at the tipsy seagull bar the first night. Expensive and we threw most of the food away. Spinnakers was very nice and while not inexpensive it was well prepared and the service was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the Bahamas

Posted May 12, 2016
I have stayed on close to all the Bahamian islands, there are many unique places I have stayed up so my expectations are not as high on the islands. Although, the rooms aren't beachside and it's a 5-7 min walk, that was not an issue for me. The marina view rooms are spacious, clean with kitchenettes, the air conditioners are amazing, probably the best I've ever seen in the Bahamas. As far as restaurants, we only ate at coco's beachside bar and there food was great, just be prepared for island style service and don't be in a huge rush. Overall my stay and experience fit the bill, I'll be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old resort at a breath taking beach

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Treasure Cay Beach and Coco Beach Bar
Cons: Better cleaning service.
The resort is very old and the rooms are not very clean (smelly A/C). Wi-fi didn't work in 80% of the time. When ever we complained, the receptionist told us that it will be repaired the next day. At the resort there is a grocery store w/ a good selection for more or less good prices. Everything is very expensive on the island.The Coco Beach Bar was great fun(do not miss the happy hour and the live band). Beach lounges were included for hotel guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extreme expense for zero comfort

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Pros: Proximity to beach and the option of a kitchenette-- the microwave was broken though.
Cons: Everything could be updated, If you need wifi to communicate with other friends on the island count this place out.
Location: The location is pretty remote. The road to get to the resort is VERY dangerous if you're driving at night. Lots of drunk drivers and no road lighting.
Overall, we found nearly everyone we encountered to be disinterested in helping in any way whether it be for directions around the island, ordering food, or having an issue with our room. Of course we came home from a wedding to our water having been shut off for two days as well as the AC broken and the heat on 90. They wouldn't change our room. luckily one person figured out the issue and fixed it when they could. There seemed to be a disconnection with staff especially when ordering food. I found that unless your 80 years old and are waving around wads of cash they don't want to help you. With that having said, two eggs with no sides but a piece of toast is 10 bucks. Another time at the tipsy seagull, I waited for over an hour for chicken wings while our party of 5 was served their food. When we brought up that my food had been left out they proceeded to blame us for not ordering correctly? Considering everyone's main language is English I'm not sure how anyone can order chicken wings wrong. They claim to have a third restaurant called Spinakker's please note this wasn't open once the week we were there. If all you want to do is drink expensive drinks on a beach while waiting an hour for the bartender to notice you this place is for you (even if you're the only person at the bar). We did see a dolphin though so that was a plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous beach, staff
Location: Walked beach, checked out locale and marina, rested.
Gorgeous beach and pretty marina. Love to walk the beach and check out the boats. Rented a golf cart to see the area close to the resort. Very peaceful with very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Beautiful location

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Beach, staff, large villa room
Location: Walk to beach, golf cart around the nearby area. many water sports are available. Bone fishing is big.
Most beautiful beach in the Carribean but hotel faces on the marina which is also lovely and interesting. Nice two story suite with kitchen, good space. First room was dated so moved to a renovated one. Staff is very warm and friendly. Restaurant for breakfast is a short walk to the beach. Need to rent a golf cart to get around if you wish to explore farther than the resort. Very peaceful, beautiful spot for beach walking.