Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly hotel with a few challenges

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Friendly staff, and some very sweet and kind indeed, though detailed conversations about bills can be hard work as only some speak good English and a system for methodically creating bills seems non existent. Hotel is a fair way out from the sprawling 'centre' of Addis. Rooms very clean and spacious, beds fine as long as you like very firm. Bit of challenge getting a cab at a reasonable price through the hotel - probably best to find one who isn't too avaricious yourself and then book them for your needs during your stay. Hot water avalable in good showers almost all the time. The restaurant isn't used much in the evening and after trying it really should only be used if you are too tired to go out. Breakfast ok, starts very early and many residents get up at fivethirty so you may have the pleasure of listening to them trek off to work at the crack of dawn. If you ask for tea with milk you will get hot milk with mint tea (Actualy surprisingly nice with bit of sugar!!!)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel is off the beaten path (you'll need to ask the hotel staff to call a taxi, and once you're away from the hotel, you'll be lucky if a taxi driver knows it by name), but worth it. The room was very clean, huge, and relatively comfortable (the bed was exceptionally firm); the bathroom was very nice; and the internet worked well (though only via the ethernet in our room). We only ate one breakfast there, and it was fine (especially the coffee). They also held some luggage for a few days while we traveled to other parts of the country. I'd definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by Osama tashkandi

No commitment

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels
Tooooo baaaaad. Non of the mentioned facilities were available.
1 out of 5
by raeef Obaid

Never again

Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels
Lets start with the location, awful ..in the middle of slums ,not easy to access it. The shuttle bus didn't show up at airport although i called the hotel for pick up. Elevator 90% of the time didnt work.breakfast....What breakfast, just bread and cold scrambled eggs .although it was a prepaid rate, i went to all hotels in addis to book another place but not to stay there but all decent hotels were fully booked due to an international conference so i had to stay the 3 nights there. One night they had a power cut and at 11.45pm they wake me up to give me a candle..so sweet Friendly staff though
1 out of 5
by Deogratias from Germany

My horror stay at Detiny Addis Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2012
Pros: the internet was working pretty good.
Cons: the poor breakfast
Location: the hotel is the middle of the slums and has no amenities at all.
The actual facts contradict what is advertised in the Web about this Hotel: it difficult to reach; there is no warm water in the bathroom; the breakfast which was supposed to be a buffet is simply dreadful. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!
3 out of 5
by teacher;pastor from Nashville, TN, USA

Possibilities

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: Great as group, not so great if alone.
Cons: Surroundings
Location: Horrific
The location is really bad. I was alone, accustomed to getting out alone. This beautiful hotel is in the middle of an impoverished surroundings. It would probably be ok for a group, they would not have the same concerns as one alone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Destiny-Hotel Addis Ababa

Posted Feb 17, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is quite close to the airport, which was very good for me as I was just transiting thorugh Addis Ababa. The hotel is clean, the personnel friendly and always ready to help. Internet available only via cable, rather fast but it was required to modify the internet settings of the laptop in order to access: not all guests are available by themselves. The gym is not a gym: just a ciclette and a tapie-roulant. And the sauna room not very appealing and smelling bad. For that price, considering the position far from the downtown, I was expecting something more. But definetely a good choice for a quick transit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Pretty Good!

Posted Feb 9, 2012 on Hotels
The Destiny Addis is a pretty good hotel. It's fairly new and the quality of the building is very nice. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The food was great and the room was very nice. Of course you have typical Africa challenges- electricity went out for hours at night until 7:30am, the wifi didn't work, and I was the only one in the hotel for my night's stay but I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Addis.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Destiny Addis - Excellent choice !

Posted Jan 15, 2012 on Hotels
Only positive comments to say about this hotel. Very clean, great staff. Fabulous rooms. However, the location might not be for everyone. It is not on a paved street, and at night, since it is very poorly lit, if at all, it can be quite scary to walk to the hotel from Bole Road (only about 5 minutes),. This can be probably be soIved by using a taxi. However, I did walk, and though I was holding my breath all the way the first time, it seemed very safe and I never felt threathened. The advantage is that without being situated on a main road like the Jupiter or other big hotels, the "friendly students" are not waiting for tourists outside the door. Very good restaurant also on location. but if not, there is a good choice when you get to Bole Road. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

My Experience

Posted Dec 24, 2011 on Hotels
Destiny Hotel is a brand new building with the good view of the city. Since it is a new facility and the entire team of Destiny Hotel is working hard to make it the best. There are lots of area they need to imporve. But the Hotel managment is commited to make the coustomer feel good. I love their hospitality and all the facility the hotel offer. If you are looking for a place I would strongly reccomand Destiny Addis Hotel. Go and enjoy the Ethiopian hospitality.