Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Poorly kept old hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The Hilton Addis is such a poorly maintained hotel. They tried to refresh the rooms recently but the changes are not only cosmetic but actually almost unnoticeable. The restaurants are just awful. The one by the pool always looks like a mess and the food tastes poorly (which is rich of them considering food in Ethiopia is so delicious and world famous. The main restaurant is way too small but the size is actually not a big problem as most frequent guests avoid eating there because it is simply not good. The pool looks amazing with the cross shape. However, the whole pool area feels like some cheap family club. As you enter the pool area you have to sign in for a towel (yes, like in a big resort in Mexico in the 1980’s!) and off you go through the gate (the whole pool is cordons off). Pool water is from a hot spring so it is great. But I don’t know if they are cutting costs or what, in recent years the pool has only been half filled. And mine you, they frequently close the whole pool for cleaning without prior notice and they may take days to complete it. Absolutely crazy! And they don’t care if their clients are left without a pool, and won’t tell you before you come so if the pool is important to you, call them first. The rooms: I admit I like the original locally built wooden furniture they current have in the rooms. It is so lot of fashion that it makes it look cool. However the bathroom is a dump, and th rooms are always dirty. Not to mention the corridors!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very welcoming hotel. The staff were excellent.

Posted May 13, 2017
The staff were excellent and looked after me so well. The facilities and services offered were everything I needed for my stay. The meals were a mixture of western and African and were very well prepared and presented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

GREAT stay after initial concerns.

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: The location was good for us, as we always explore the local area to get acquainted with the locals and the culture. The main issues for us was fumes.
We were initially concerned about the Hilton due to its age and appearance. We were moved to 3 rooms on arrival as the 1st had a bad view and the 2nd was too close to a service lift that was being refurbed. The staff could not do enough for us and moved us without fuss, the 3rd room was excellent, clean, comfortable and roomy. The hotel had everything we needed food, shops and super leisure facilities, a great base for our day trips around Addis.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

very old hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
locaiton and facilities are so good but hotel so old especially rooms are feel dirty ...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel needs a revamp urgently. The rooms are stuffy and there is a lack of fresh air. Carpets are rather sad and need replacement. Food is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from California

Historic but weathered

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The pool and outdoor eating area.
Cons: Things in need of repair or upgrade abound. The wi-fi is pretty reliable but requires a new code every day or two in most cases.
Location: The hotel has a large compound with various shops, a small grocery store, and heated pool, tennis courts, and gardens. An island onto itself.
A welcoming hotel with beautiful grounds and natural hot spring pool. A bit worse for ware, but with friendly and helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by Geoffrey from Adelaide

Hilton Horribilus

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
We only ate at the hotel and got massive bowel infection. Asked to fix water in room, 2 days cold water only after many requests to have it fixed. On last day they moved us. No apology when we left, very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas from London

Still Attractive

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Now in its 47th year the Hilton continues to be an attractive option for a stay in Addis Ababa due mainly to its spacious and well landscaped location, heated outdoor swimming pool, restaurants and other amenities. Service is capable, friendly and efficient. However, the rooms are a little dated now and bathroom fittings are not always reliable. Some renovation here would be welcome.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This Hilton property is to be avoided

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Everything is worn out, old and falling apart. Be careful, don't pay too much if you have to stay at the Hilton Addis, you will be disappointed.