Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Pamela

The Only Serious Choice For Vulcano

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Les Sables Noir is THE choice for Vulcano, a "resort" town of low quality. Our apartment (we stayed five days) had a large bedroom and large sitting/dining room with kitchenette, plus nice bathroom. A/C was efficient but noisy. No utensils but useful fridge freezer and sink. Our room (109) was on the corner, facing the beach. Great for the view and access, but not for privacy. The bad eggs smell from the mud baths occasionally wafted over, but not too bad on beach side. It's a 10 min walk to the port. Tip: make sure you call to for pickup or it's a case-dragging walk in the heat down a dusty road. There is no information at all at the hotel, not a single sheet of paper (why not?), so ask questions about the hotel and Vulcano. The rooftop bar would have had more than its 2 or 3 customers a night if someone even told the guests it existed! Also, the restaurant is for breakfast (adequate, but nothing hot - cold bacon and eggs?!? Weird.) and a snack lunch only, not for dinner, so you have to trek along the dark (take a torch), dusty road to the "town", with its terrible bars and grotty pizzerias. They could make a fortune here by opening and publicising that restaurant in the evenings, as the only decent one available. Great small private beach area with good quality shaded sunbeds on the black sands, but charging 6 Euros a day for a couple of towels? Pathetic for a place of this overall standard. The pool was nice, but has no shallow end, so poor for non-swimmers and kids.
4 out of 5
by Susan from New York

Hot in Vulcano

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
This a beautiful hotel in a great location close to town and the Black Sand beach. There are just some subtly strange things about it. They close the pool for several hours in the afternoon. The pool is beautiful, but has no entrance other than ladders. Our room in the pool area was very small and the air conditioner didn't work. After 3 people confirmed that, they still did not move us until the next day. By the way, the hotel was empty.This made for a miserable night in a tiny room where any attempt to open a window or door brought in hoards of mosquitos. Oh and they were supposed to have taken payment in advance. Apparently they didn't which I confirmed later...But my assumption was that I had paid this. So this made checkout complicated.
4 out of 5
by jean from Brunswick, Maine

Beautiful

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel...a bit away from the busy city.staff is fantastic! Helpful, responsive, all in all wonderful. The beach is beautiful, the rooftop bar/lounge great...the most beautiful view I've ever seen !
5 out of 5
by Blair from Chicago

Beautiful Hotel - You have to stay here!

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
This was my favorite hotel on my trip to the Aeolian Islands - it is located right on the black sand beaches and has a gorgeous pool as well. The breakfast is the best in Sicily (at least in my experience) and all the staff is extremely helpful. I arrived and was upgraded to a lovely room with two terraces because my original room had a broken toilet. The original room was beautiful too though - right on the pool with a terrace as well. I do not think there is a bad room in the entire hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service is everything

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels
What the hotel may lack in updated decor and arguably maintenance, it more than compensates for with service and its sunset views. Starting with the pickup from the port, to the people at reception who very willingly helped us organize everything, including our tickets out of Vulcano. It really made for a fun atmosphere for the duration of our stay, which we extended by three days, not wanting to leave. We also got a great deal on hotels.com, which made it all the more enjoyable. (note that if you are paying rack rates, you may not be getting the best value for money, but there are not many alternatives on the island).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Chambre avec lit de 160 cm alors que nous avions demandé deux lits jumeaux Très mal dormi pendant toute la semaine. Montant prélevé à la réservation alors qu'il était prévu un paiement direct sur place à l'hôtel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, I only would like to underline that your reservation is for a DBL room garden view and you have an upgrade in superior room with sea view. Anywhere was written in your reservation you ask a TWN room and, because of the room assigned has two separate rooms ( the kind size bed was not separable) we immedately organize the sofa bed in the living-room. Besides you book a NOT REF rate that allow the hotel to charge immediately the entire amount and you bought a convient rate ( 20% less ) Probably doing the reservation you do not pay attention to the condition and next please specify your particular request. Kind regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Romain from Perpignan

Détente

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Îles vulcano est très agréable, par ses plages de sable noir et son volcan à visiter ++ L hôtel des sables noirs est apaisant, grâce à sa piscine et son louange bar à la vue des plus plaisantes au coucher de soleil.
5 out of 5
by Roberto from Gland

Hotel à la plage, vue mer et coucher de soleil.top

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Une chambre, coin cuisine, terrasse avec magnifique vue mer, tout cela sur la plage de sables noirs et une eau transparente sur fond noir. Belle salle de bain tres pratique, une réception et le personnel parfaits. Pas de défaut. Nous y retournerons. Le centre ville (!) est à 10 minutes à pied. Il y a aussi des bars/restos sur la plage pour les lunchs.
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels