Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrew and Emily from Melbourne Australia

Country Germany

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
It's a real castle... What's not to love! Genuinely the most memorable stay in 3 weeks we have had from countless hotels. Dinner was special, the lounge with the open fire you could sit in all night. And super breakfast too. Do yourself a favour and don't miss the caves and falconry next door too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ USA

Terrific Castle in Great Location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Castle, ambience, discrete service, breakfast, room comfort.
Cons: Kettle in room. Vegetarian/Vegan choice in restaurant.
Location: Hiking, Bayreuth, Bamberg, Nurmberg
Very comfortable castle, great room (suite) with views over the valley. Room was comfortable and well furnished though shame not to have a kettle to make ourselves drinks. No TV which was fine, and very patchy WiFi which we were ok with but others may find irritating. Public rooms fantastic and a roof terrace too. Fires in the evening even in August. Not many staff and very discrete service - you can ask for anything and it is delivered with charm, but you need to ask. This suited us but this is not like a luxury US Hotel. Situation is fantastic. Beautiful countryside, great hiking trails and small villages to visit. Not far to Bamberg and we stayed here while attending the Bayreuth Festival just 20 mins drive away. Breakfast is great, evening restaurant ok - menu limited and poor for vegetarians (you could eat there once) but reasonable.
5 out of 5
by Eric

Fairy tale castle.

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
An amazing castle to stay in, sited on a spectacular crag. The evening meals and breakfasts were excellent and all the staff helpful and welcoming. It was wonderful to be able to wander the corridors on a evening and sit in an atmospheric lounge area with log fire. Staff were always on hand to provide drinks etc. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Fun to stay in a medieval castle

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The castle is beautifully appointed as a hotel. It seems mostly patronized by Germans. I was the only non-German in the place, which is a good sign of its appeal to locals. I was there for one of their special meals, 4 courses and a fire show. The food was excellent and the show entertaining. My room had a lovely view. The bathrooms are a little worn, but clean and functional. I was not too happy with the small room I was initially given (a single, which was fine, but no character). They immediately moved me to another room, which was lovely. I would recommend booking a larger room, even if travelling on your own, so you get the nicer decor. The common rooms (dining, lounge) are lovely. Breakfast was excellent. I stayed here for one night on the way from Bayreuth to Munich. It is a little off the beaten track, but worth the extra effort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best stay of my life

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The location is perfect, its out of the way from the noise of city and traffic, in the beautiful countryside. The castle looks amazing as you drive up to it, and when you enter it is just as beautiful, if not more, on the inside. The rooms are immaculate and the staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. I had an amazing stay, the food was the best ive ever eaten in all of germany, and i will definately be coming back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NL, CAN

Castle experience with modern comforts

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Facility was amazingly clean and well organized. Very quiet. Food was excellent. Staff were very accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Donald from California

Worth the time to stay at the Berg.

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay at the Berg was everything we hoped for. Everyone enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful, historic castle with wonderful views &

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Pls see above.
Cons: Get wifi in the historic suite & improve quality of food & service in dining room.
In general, it was great. We were upgraded to a suite, but the wifi didn't work there. We had a crabby waitress the one night we ate there. However, the front office staff was outstanding--especially Laura & Nina(?).
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Dubai

Great castle

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great castle. Really worth visiting. Super cozy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service and atmosphere....

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived late and the staff was very accommodating. It was a real pleasure. We were invited into the fireside lounge for drinks and everyone was very friendly.