Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

The location is great but the hotel not

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Located centrsl
Cons: Staff (smile) rooms tired and need updating
Location: Its a beautiful location, but you can feel isolated there.
My problem is i base my review on price, therefore i base everything on what the price i paid would get me in the UK, We were there for a wedding and having stayed in Sorrento and having accessible shops, not overpriced tourist tat, ferries to capri and roads that are accessible. I would recommend Ravello for a visit only but not your trip. The drive to the coast is scary, because of the total disregard for rules or etiquette from other drivers. On arrival the staff checked us in and showed us to the family room with sea view. The room was okay but terrible lighting and orange walls gave it a cave like feel. Again loooking at what i paid I was disappointed. The other note is the breakfast was spartan cheese, a slice of meat and bread if you were lucky( there were good cereals and fruit). Over all whilst the staff were neutral when i spoke with them. Not one of them were outwardly open and greeted u, especially at breakfast. However this applied to all the restaurants and cafes in Ravello. In my view happy to take your money with the least amount of effort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Markham, ON

Lovely view and pool

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The pool was a fantastic feature - the view from there was gorgeous and we could relax in comfort. The balconies on the rooms are nice. Hotel Graal is a unique place. It feels very dated in many aspects, but one can tell that he decor was well thought out and well done in its day. It's just that its day has come and gone! It felt like an old yacht club, that is still expensive to join, but the board is arguing about how and if they should update it. It's well situated - your taxi can pull right up to the front door with your luggage, so no long walks to your hotel. It's an easy walk to the main square. Beautiful views from the rooms, pool and dining rooms. Some staff was very friendly, while some were a little reserved. We made a mistake with our reservation and arrived a day early. They were able to accommodate us and found us a room with little fuss. However, the room was dismal. It was huge, but depressing and ugly. There was a balcony but you could easily see people on the other balconies and you could access other rooms from the balcony. The next day we were switched to the room we booked and it was much much better. Much better decorated, lighter in feel, the bathroom was more modern and there was a sense of privacy on the balcony.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great view

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Great hotel located at a charming little town. Every room has a view. Friendly English speaking staff. Bed and pillows could have been better. Recommend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel, great pool and location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We were really impressed. The pool area is fantastic and the guy who oversees the bar etc at the pool is really friendly. The decor in the rooms is outdated now however our room (floor4) was really big, had everything you need and the most amazing view from the balcony The breakfast was great - good selection of food that was constantly being replenished. Some days we were offered eggs, other days we weren't! There was a lot to choose from and the coffee was nice The staff are not overly friendly however they were obviously working hard and were helpful. I would definitely come here again, the location is amazing The restaurant was great for a lunch on our first day but pretty pricy- it scored high on trip advisor however we didn't eat there for dinner which was partly due to the lack of menu anywhere in the hotel - I would have expected one in the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bs. As.

Gute Lage, schlecht eingestelltes Personal

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Generell ist das Hotel von der Ausrichtung in den 70 Jahren stehen geblieben. Das Frühstück ist unterdurchschnittlich, das Personal lustlos. Die Zimmer sind von der Ausstattung her unausgewogen. Lange, dunkle Korridore. Kein Bewegungsfreiraum am Pool. Nur dank der Vermittlung der Eigentümerin konnten wir unser Aufenthalt verkürzen und in ein anderes Hotel ziehen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nr London

Very friendly hotel with wonderful views

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: We loved the views from every room and the friendliness of the staff. The food for breakfast, dining and at the poolside bar was very good.
Cons: A kettle in the bedroom to make teas or coffee would have been useful.
Location: The Ravello Festival was taking place with a couple of outdoor concerts each week through the summer. Just an hour away from Pompeii and Herculaneum
We were made very welcome. Every single room in the hotel had amazing views over the coast. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of fresh fruit, cereals, freshly baked pastries eggs, ham and cheese. We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was a wonderful start to our week long stay. We would definitely return to this lovely hotel in such a beautiful location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall OK experience

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We booked a standard room at the hotel and when we got there it was nothing like the pictures. Walls were cracking, the furniture was old and worn out, the bathroom had mold. We did not want to stay in that room for even a night so we asked if we can be switched to another room. The only nice option was the superior room which we had to pay extra for. The superior room was like a standard room in any other hotel. The morning breakfast was great and had many options. The view and the pool made up for the room disappointment but when booking be sure to book at least a superior room if not a suite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sorrento

nel complesso una buona esperienza

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: centralità e panorama
Cons: restyling arredamento che sembra un pò vecchiotto
Location: hotel fuori il tunnel che accede la piazza principale di ravello, a fianco "Auditorium Oscar Niemeyer", vicino alla villa rafulo
Albergo centralissimo, quasi nella piazza di Ravello e vicino l'auritorium. Personale molto gentile che ci ha accompagnato in camera per il check-in e ci ha gestito l'auto nel parcheggio e ci hanno recuperato una borsa dall'auto portandocela fino in camera. Stanza nella norma, molto pulita, ma un pò da ristrutturare nel senso che si vede che l'arredo è vecchiotto, vista mozzafiato... Il ristorante non l'ho provato, in compenso ho provato la colazione facendo un assaggio dei vari panettoni proposti. Panettone di carote era decisamente datato Panettone di mele era decisamente datato credo Panettone cacao e forse noci era buono I primi due entrambi del giorno prima... Cornetti ottimi, succo di frutta all'arancia io non l'ho gradito, ma sarà stato il mio gusto personale. La piscina era splendida, l'acqua fredda un panorama mozzafiato. Molte persone mettono le asciugamani che fornisce la piscina e poi vanno via e così a volte non si trova posto, ma chiedendo al ragazzo che la gestisce subito ha risolto togliendo le asciugamani incustodite e facendoci accomodare. Nel complesso una buona esperienza.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC Metro Area

Overpriced 3 star hotel at best

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: wonderful view but that's where it ends.
Cons: customer service; breakfast buffet needs an overhaul; water stained ceilings and walls; plumbing in the hotel in general; we could go on......
Location: Restaurant Vittoria in Ravello's main square offers a well priced, high quality meal w/ great customer service. Villa Maria also fab but expensive.
Just got back from an 8 day stay at Graal. As others have said, the views are fantastic & are the single selling point of this hotel. Only other benefit is it's location which is a 5 min walk from the main square of Ravello. We travelled to Ravello for a wedding & had family staying at other hotels e.g. Villa Maria Hotel; Giordano Hotel. Had we not already paid Expedia for our stay at Graal we would have checked out & stayed at the similarly priced Hotel Giordano. At it's very best hotel Graal is an overpriced 3 star hotel. Room was clean but run down with shabby decor & cheap, badly designed showers. 3 days into our stay the air conditioning unit was leaking over our bed & we had to move rooms. Enough said. Daniel, who worked at the front desk for the evening shift, was very helpful & polite. The pool bar owners wife was also lovely. However, overall we found the staff largely indifferent & frankly, at times, rude. Breakfast was awful. As another reviewer noted the 'fresh fruit' was just left uncut in a bowl covered in ice & appeared spoiled. You can have a plain omelette with the bfast buffet but to add cheese will be an additional 5 euros. We were advised by a friend not to eat dinner at hotel Graal & once we'd eaten bfast we could see why & thankfully dodged that bullet. Lunch at the pool was actually fine. The melon & prosciutto was good. Pity it was never offered during the bfast buffet. We will never return to Graal. Expedia got it very wrong on this one.
5 out of 5
by Edgar from Alabama USA

Awesome place!

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great place to stay