Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful.
Cons: Management needs to be honest with their guests. Weddings are booked a year in advance and we should have been informed at the time of the booking.
Location: The
It's a beautiful hotel with a lovely garden area overlooking the sea. Our room overlooked the garden and the sea. Sadly, we couldn't use the garden area because weddings and parties were held in the garden. The first wedding did not end until midnight. The hotel has a responsibility to inform their guests that the property is being rented out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA. USA

Toilet Broken; Uncomfortable Bed; Noisy

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: MariaAngela at the front desk was wonderful! She assisted in getting us tickets to a sold-out concert that was the primary reason for our stay!
Cons: Customer service. Partial refund should have been made. At checkout told us there was an upgraded room with balcony and sea view but were NOT offered.
Terrible mattress, which had no padding. Felt like sleeping on a cement slab. Could not sleep the first night. Informed front desk night staff but due to language barrier had to wait until next day to resolve. Could barely walk/function after the uncomfortable night. Toilet did not work either. When returned from dinner on first night were informed that housekeeping during the turndown service identified an issue with toilet, which no longer flushed with the lid on. It was working fine when we checked in and left for dinner. Offered to switch rooms but did not have a comparable room with a balcony and sea view, which had been prepaid. Declined to move since it was midnight and only staying one more night, did not want to give up the balcony and sea view. The toilet did flush without the lid when the lever was pushed. Next day maintenance attempted to fix. When we returned from lunch, the toilet did not work at all. We had to put our hands in the tank/water to flush it. Told hotel it was worse. Again offered to move us to another room with no balcony or view. We declined again for same reasons. Our last morning were awakened by a crew of workmen repairing the terrace on the level below at 8:15 am. All what we wanted to do was sleep in since we didn't sleep the night before and enjoy the view eating breakfast before checkout. Impossible with noise, smell of paint and workers partially blocking view. Hotel refused an adjustment at checkout. Not worth the price!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Super expensive hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Checking out felt great!
Location: Ravello is lovely and well worth a visit.
We paid for three nights in a standard room during off season. The room was not cheap but as we had booked a five star hotel we didn't mind paying that little bit extra. When we arrived the hotel staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. Unfortunately it all went down hill from there. We were shown to our room which was situated in the basement. The roof was extremely low - I am 6ft and had to stoop to move around. Although we were given a room with a jacuzzi bath, there was no shower! I raised my objections to staff and was told that as the hotel was empty (there were two other rooms occupied) we should be able to move room the following day. We tried to make do with a bath that day but the plug did not fit the drain and as such the water kept draining away. This was raised to staff who said that the issue would be addressed the following day (there is a common theme at this hotel). The following day I once again asked to be moved rooms due to lack of shower facilities. We were told this could be arranged for an extra €230 per night! We refused to pay any extra and opted to stay in our cave with minimal washing facilities. On day two we realised that all English channels on our TV had been encrypted. We brought this to the attention of staff. Guess what? It would be fixed the following day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

The view and Hotel is breathtaking

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Some minor furnishings néed repairs
If you've ever seen the beautiful picture of the AMALFI Coast and wondered where they were taken from....there is a fair chance that they may have originated from this Hotel. Words cannot describe the view (Sunrise along the Coast....and this was taken in Winter) from our Bedroom Window. Some of the furnishings are showing their age....but that is easily overlooked when you consider where you are and the view.....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
I've read reviews saying this hotel was run down so I was a little apprehensive. All for naught. I thought the patina of age added tons of character and kept it from being sterile and fake. I'm not a fan of big-box, same-old same-old hotels, and the Palumbo oozes old world charm. The building is from the 12 century; it looks lived in but well loved. Some chairs might be a bit threadbare, but there was no lack of comfort. The multiple levels and stairs made it difficult for my older aunt to navigate - the town is built on a sea cliff with very few flat spaces, so beware before deciding on Ravello if that's a problem. And I couldn't get over the views!!! The rooms were clean, the beds were like clouds, the bathroom floors were heated, they provided Hermes bath products. The staff was exceedingly gracious, especially with the somewhat demanding aunt I mentioned. All our requests were handled immediately and we had everything we needed or wanted. One person at the desk even offered to help with my Italian!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Ebookers
Beautiful views and ideally located but a tired and somewhat run down former grand hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms need upgrading but they were clean and pleasant. There are no elevators so there are many steps to rooms. If you have a problem walking it is not the hotel for you. Restaurant was very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location deferred maintenance

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, great views, very good staff. Property needs maintenance. Bathroom had some mold and cracked tile. Room looked like a 2-3 star.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant historic hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was well located in Ravello. It had many nice features. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The view was of the mountains and the sea and of beautiful gardens. The breakfast buffet was on a patio w a great view and was quite elegant. The only drawback was that there were few public areas in the hotel to sit and relax. Even so, I would highly recommend the hotel and would return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but in dire need of renovation

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Rooms, noise
This hotel boasts a 5*L rating, so one would expect an amazing experience. Unfortunately that was not the case. The hotel location is indeed great and views are amazing, but the hotel itself is in dire need of renovation. We were lodged on the lower floor and a clear smell of damp could be smelled on the stairs. The room was small, furniture dated, walls had damp stains, the windows were old and broken on the edges. In addition the room was very noisy and one could hear everything happening in the room upstairs. Wedding parties during the day also made it impossible to have any rest in the afternoon. The room was fairly clean but not spotless. On the positive side the staff is very helpful and breakfast is good. The hotel needs serious renovations to deserve its rating and room rate.