Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by jeff

Amalfi Experience

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
The place was nice. It's far out of town with ice views. It takes approx 12 minutes via a scheduled hotel bus ride (which is an adventure in and of itself). There are enough times available that it's not an issue but walking into and from town from there is not an option. The rooms are nice but most face the ocean without any view of the actual town of Amalfi which was a big disappointment for us. Overall the staff was cordial but limited on their help or suggestions. We missed some wonderful fireworks from the town due to lack of information. Would have been nice if they posted something in the lobby. I heard this from others there as well. Was disappointed sinc it was an effort to get a few glasses of ice from bartender to take to our room. He told me he doesn't sell ice. I slapped down 2 euro on the counter and told him he did today. Would have been a much better experience had he just given me 2 glasses of ice since there was none anywhere else in the hotel. The pool was refreshing and offers a great view of the town. Breakfast is also something we included and was decent. Cappuccino was not up to local standards. More manufactured than prepared. Overall a decent place but the next time I'm going to try harder to find something within walking distance of the town. If you are adventurous, take the walk up the Vally of the Paper Mill. About a 3 hour uphill walk but an awesome experience seeing the ruins and waterfalls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Location - but very poor management

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The location / views.
Cons: Hotel philosophy - should practice "can-do" approach Quality Standards - eg plastic cups for drinks from the mini-bar, paper place mats at breakfast
Location: A beautiful area with lots to see and do, including visits to Amalfi, Ravello, Positano, Capri and Sorrento. Local water taxis and buses excellent.
The hotel is in a great location with outstanding views over Amalfi and the bay. It also provides an excellent shuttle bus service for the 20 minute drive into Amalfi, which is essential due to the remoteness. The building and furnishings were in immaculate condition and could not be faulted. However we found it to be a soulless experience due to the attitude of virtually all of the members of staff. The overall impression was of a business that was trying to maximise profitability by minimising costs, irrespective of the impact on customers. Customer care was abysmal and the much loved "Italian personality" appeared to be totally lacking. Beautiful warm day - came back from Ravello specially to sample lunch at the hotel's poolside bar / restaurant, only to be told that it had been closed for the day due to a 5 minute shower of rain at around 09:00. Asked if we could have lunch on the balcony outside the dining room but told this was not possible and we would have to eat inside ! Disappointing that the Dining Room had the same menu every night - made you go elsewhere to eat !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Amazing hotel with breathtaking views

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This hotel has an excellent location and great staff. The restaurant and bar is very nice. The hotel has a shuttle that drives guests to the town of Amalfi several times a day. The room decor is dated but the view is spectacular. They don't provide the luxury toiletries one generally expects with the hig priced hotels. The hotel is family run.
5 out of 5
by Cherrill

Welcome to Paradise!

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Stunning location, beautifully kept hotel, friendly English speaking staff. Great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel with beautiful sea views

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Nice hotel with beautiful sea views. We stay and Excelsior one week with my wife and we enjoyed our stay. The room was very big more like a suit, plenty of space! Little dated and old furniture but over all great room. The balcony also very big with of course beautiful sea view! The private beach is far from the hotel but the hotel is providing private shuttle to take you to the beach and back, and also to the Amalfi town and back. The beach was never to busy, good staff and always free sun bads, nice and clean. Large swimming pool with nice sea views, but unfortunately was closed during our stay due to some problems, we had to made a complain at the end of our stay and the manager has kindly offered us 5 percent compensation. We would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't beat the view.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great hotel, hotel staff very welcoming, view superb, food good and will definitely be back! Just loved it.
5 out of 5
by Kartik

Amalfi

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Great view. Staff was extremely helpful, especially Mariana, she helped us recover forgotten canvas roll from Bus. So thankful for that. The only thing is shuttle runs hourly to the city center. Hotel is 300 feet above the ground and beach is 10 min shuttle ride from the hotel. City center is 15-20 min shuttle ride. Hi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning views, Everything you need

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: View, Location, Silence, Pool, Bar
Cons: Temperature of the pool
Location: Further up the Hill are Restaurants and Bars. Shuttle Service or public bus brings you regularly downtown.
This is a very nice hotel with stunning views over the Amalfi coast. We arrived 3am in the morning after an exhausting journey. The welcome was just great. The receptionist was just asking after our passports and gave us the keys for our room. I was asking if he keeps our passports and he said: "Well, yes. Until tomorrow morning. Alternatively you can wait 10-15 minutes to check in but I see that you are tired so I thought you rather go to bed." Absolutely great. The room was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Yes, the furniture and the style of the hotel is a bit out of date but that is exactly how it should be. It fits perfectly into this area. The breakfast is alright. You have got everything you need but nothing more. You have to wait some time for your drinks though. The Pool area is great although the water was freezing cold. There is a pool bar which serves food and drinks. We didn't have dinner there so I can't judge on that. But for those who don't want to go down to Amalfi for Dinner I would recommend you go 10 minutes further up the hill where you can find restaurants and pubs used by locals mainly. We liked it and you can stay as long as you want and don't rely on the shuttle or the local bus. The shuttle runs almost every hour which is a great service from the hotel. They also have a very nice bar which is open until late with stunning views. All in all a very nice stay and I would chose this hotel ever again over those hotels downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calif

Nice hotel with wonderful views

Posted May 23, 2017
Quiet hotel, staff was wonderful. Almost all staff spoke English as well. Very accommodating. There is a hotel shuttle that leaves hourly to take you into town.
4 out of 5
by Jacquelyne

Beautiful Amalfi coast

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Amalfi coast is beautiful and the view from this hotel on the balconies and bar area are fabulous, really magnificent. No real view from inside the long narrow rooms. Take water, i usually drink tap water, it tasted bad there and snacks is my advice, unless you want to be at the mercy of the hotel. Breakfast was good. Do not go on a long weekend, the whole coast will be crowded. Seriously crowded. Get details of the hotel shuttle bus if you are not driving. You can not walk there from amalfi, this hotel is not in amalfi, it is in a nearby village area. It is a long way from amalfi, high on a hill, no footpath, the road is narrow, steep, windy and full, really full of cars. I tried to get a taxi and the driver told me he could not take me as the road was blocked. I finaly managed to get on a local bus, not easy.