Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD
WORST HOSPITALITY EVERPosted Oct 25, 2017
Location: Train station
Arrived on a rainy evening at 8;00 pm after a long transatlantic flight and train ride. NO ACCESS TO BUILDING. Notice on door for a phone contact for booked guests. First problem: there is a is a charge for centimes per minute. Units run out quickly when you’re on hold for 20 minutes being entertained by an annoying music. Second problem: the representative who finally comes on line does not speak English or pretends not to. Hold again with annoying music while units are eaten up. Representative comes back with to update on the vain search for an English speaking agent. I protested and engaged representative in a discussion with representative in broken French. He told me that he could not find my reservation. In a panic mode I calle me immediately. When they called Appart’City, they received the same treatment as I did: on hold for nearly one hour, still no English agent to communicate with. We resolved to finding a different hotel which I prepaid again. Expedia found one efficiently while still on hold with Appart’City. I reached the new hotel at 11:00 pm. Everything was ready when I got there. I managed to rest and continue with my business the next day. I expect full refund from Appart’City Angouleme. I hope Expedia would drop them from their list. Adding insult to injury, Appart’City Angouleme sends me thank you for my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Eve, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We acknowledge receipt of the questionnaire you filled in, which mentioned a certain dissatisfaction with your stay in our Appart’hotel Appart'City Angoulême Centre. We are truly sorry that our establishment did not meet your requirements and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have been caused. We can assure you that action will be taken quickly to improve the quality of the service you mentioned. In fact, can you ensure me that your booking is now refunded? Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to convince you during a future stay that the problems you encountered were isolated incidents. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to one of the Appart’City Group’s Appart’hotels. Yours sincerely The whole staff
by A verified traveler from switzerland
Absolutely terrifyingPosted Sep 19, 2017
Me and my husband booked two nights there over the racing weekend. Sadly it was the only available accommodation witting a walking distance from the centre. I can't stress enough how terrible the room was. The carpet was so filthy, covered in dirt patches. Despite having 3 radiators none of them worked. The room felt cold and damp and the windows were so pretentious, you could hear everything from the street. Curtains joined together with a safety pin as they were not covering the windows properly. Enough towels for one day and how you suppose to dry them in a damp room? Thid is a very basic hostel so not sure where the stars cane from. It's not even on the lowest budget. The place advertises a parking but when we arrived, we've been told that all spaces are booked. We had to drive around find a space. We were so lucky to find a last minute room for the second night at the Mercure hotel, right in the centre of town. I mean the difference between 4 star room and 3 star apartment room it was like black and white. Message to the management: review the quality of your building and dont false advertise. We rather sleep in the car than stay in this place.
Best Breakfast as we like it.Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
We like the system at Apart City, it allows us to make our own breakfast and this is why we chose it.
by A verified traveler
Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
by A verified traveler from Arbroath
Not a hotelPosted Sep 29, 2016
Cons: Room carpets, availability of clean sheets and towels. Better Wi-Fi access.
Location: Central to Angouleme. Handy for city activities. There primarily for the Circuit de Rampart weekend and all venues were within walkable distance.
This should not be listed as a hotel it is an apartment rental. In a hotel I would expect to pay for car parking and laundry facilities but this 'hotel' also offered a tariff for; room cleaning, clean replacement bed and bathroom linen, iron, hairdryer. (E.g. Cleaning service €18.90 per clean inc linen or 1large/1small towel and bath mat €5.60). The photograph showed beautiful stone vaulted entrance hall. This was reached after you navigated the bins and litter outside the front door. This was where you put put your room rubbish because it wasn't removed for you. One of our lights had no shade (broken) and the carpets were filthy. The Wi-Fi service was poor and patchy. I witnessed several other guests complaining at reception. After complaining the receptionist handed out router for the room. Info suggested staff available 24/7. Not so, indeed there is an elaborate system of access security codes for doors and a safe to get in if arriving out of hours. The reception was open office hours only. There was a well equiped galley kitchen provided. When approached the staff were helpful but could not address these issues. Issues would not have been so bad for a short stay however we were booked for 2 weeks! Our 4th visit to Angouleme but our last to the Appart'City Angouleme.
Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
by Nicholas from Newcastle
No parkingPosted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
They said they had parking but upon arrival there was none it had to be booked so I had to oark car 500 yds away in a street not good
by DAVID from Tonbridge
Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
Very good affordable accommodation, ideal for Circuit des Remparts - would have been good to know that they have reserved parking slots before we went.
by Juan from Athens, Greece
Shoddy, unfriendly and undesirable locationPosted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
Arrived 1:30pm, was told room was ready, but check in is only at 3:00pm, needed to pay surcharge of €15 to take the room "early"! Absurd! Unfriendly check in staff. Dirty carpets everywhere. Not enough parking. Vending machine partially working, considering it's not close to any easily accessible shops, unacceptable. Breakfast turned into a "Faulty Towers" fiasco, with no cups, cutlery or replenishment of foods, this too is extra!
Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels