Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Amazing hotel, amazing location for our honeymoon

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Food, staff, quiet location. Basically everything
Cons: Nothing to dislike
Location: Gorgeous location, beachfront rooms only a metre from the white sand. Sea was clear but was rough durung most of our stay
The service in Galley Bay Resort is of a very high standard. I have never felt so looked after throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble, all were attentive but not intrusive. The food was excellent, didn't have a bad meal in any of the restaurants. Rooms are not grand but very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord Township, Ohio


Posted Sep 20, 2016
The resort and the staff was wonderful! The food was absolutely delicious! The updated Gauguin Cottages are beautiful! We loved the private pool and sun deck!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanardsville, Virginia

Much better than expected!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: We wanted solitude and we got it. The beachfront suite was perfect. Nice and peaceful. The evening live entertainment was just right at the right time
Cons: The mixology at the bars. Not consistent between drinks and even between the bartenders. Great people, but this is the only grey area we experienced.
Location: The location was perfect for us. Being our first time to Antigua, it is hard to compare it with other resorts, but we were very pleased with our stay.
A wonderful experience in September 2016. Upon arrival, we were immediately upgraded to a beachfront suite. Why, we don't know, but were very pleased and grateful and after seeing the room. The ladies at the reception area were fantastic! Very pleasant. We felt at home in the first minutes we were there. Everything about Galley Bay was great. The beach, grounds and staff are wonderful. Anyone can nitpick about little things, but our overall experience was way beyond what we expected. It took a day or so for the staff to warm up to us, but we quickly became friends with all. I was very pleased with the smoking policies. I am a smoker and was able to smoke outside my room and at the bar areas. This was my major decision maker staying there. So many people whine about smokers, but Galley Bay always made me feel comfortable and welcome. In kind, I always picked up after other smokers who don't respect the property of others. Why would they put out cigars and cigarettes on a beautiful beach? They give us respectful smokers a bad name. By the time we left, we were so impressed with the kindness of all the staff. From the property manager, room service, the grounds manager who was kind enough to explain the pruning of the coconut palms and the rest of the staff. Once at the airport upon leaving, my wife realized she left her cellphone at the reception area. We called Ernestine and she quickly put the phone in a taxi that arrived just in time for our return flight. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great quiet hotel by the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Rooms are in bungalows lining the beach so easy beach access and nicer than being a multi-storey hotel room. Feels private, intimate, quiet.
Location: Boat tours around the island. Hotel has non-motorized water sports.
Rooms are in bungalows lining the beach so easy beach access. Due to the geography of the area, the beach is not shared with other hotels so feels private and quiet. The grounds are beautiful. It's not a big hotel so you get a more intimate experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC


Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The grounds were pretty.
Cons: Quality of the Food--Best Food we had the Whole Trip was at the Airport
My husband and I cannot understand the high rating for this hotel. We are not "hard to please" and we were so disappointed in our vacation. The food was bland and dinner took a long time--30 minutes until the appetizer arrived. The other restaurant (Gaugin) was closed at least 1/2 of the trip for dinner. Another couple told us that Ismay was not worth $35.00 per person. Some staff appeared disinterested and annoyed by the service industry. The woman who worked at Barefoot Grill was particularly rude and unfriendly. Our room was warm and full of ants, although it was very pretty. The lack of umbrellas at the beach limited our time on the ocean to only one day. Having only two beers available, one being a local beer, was very disappointment for my husband who does not drink liquor. This was our first and only time at an all-inclusive. We won't return to this resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Fantastic hotel for those who want a real break. Don't go of you think it will be a loud party A real treat to get away from it all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Will definitely be back!!

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on CheapTickets
I was a bit skeptical about this all inclusive once we arrived.. That quickly changed!! We were greeted with a cool towel and a nice cool (and strong) cocktail. The beach front room was absolutely spectacular... The rooms were cleaned and floors mopped everyday. The staff (majority of them) were very friendly and curitious staff... I forgot to lock our safe one day and once we arrived in the room all of our valuables were present and the front desk locked it with a new code. They called a couple of times to make surer jay we were enjoying our stay... Again, we will be back and I'm so pleased with this resort which was a birthday present to my boyfriend from me! I cannot wait to return. If you are looking for relaxation and a adult vacation - this is perfect for you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Truly Beachfront

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Good quality food and friendly staff. Small crowds
Location: We went into town RedCliffe Quay for an evening which was great to get out of the protective confines of the resort and see the real Antigua.
We loved Galley Bay. Having stayed at other all inclusive resorts, this one really stands out. The meals werent just a buffet but a real menu with table service. Rooms were large and comfortable with essentially our own private beach with an oceanfront. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. While its all inclusive, its not a raucous party scene which is actually more appealing to us There were excursions available but nobody constantly trying to sell you things or overly pushy at all
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful paradise

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Wonderful food, people, room, beach. Everything was so close and user friendly. The drinks were delicious! They always had something fun going on. The live music was fun in the evenings. Couldn't have had a better time at the resort. On the other hand, dealing with Expedia has been a nightmare and I will never travel with them again. They booked us for a flight that didn't exist and offered no help when we were stranded in another country. Expedia did not notify the resort we would be late and the resort had given our room away. I am very disappointed in this travel agency. Everyone in customer support was very rude and offered no compensation for the troubles they created for us. Trip was ruined because of their unprofessional behavior!
5 out of 5
by Eric from Denver, CO

Honeymoon Paradise

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Wow, what can I say about Galley Bay...? I almost don't want to say how great it is because I don't want it to be booked when my wife and I want to go back again! Galley Bay was absolutely amazing and better than I could have ever expected. We stayed in one of the cottages with out own plunge pool. The A/C worked great and kept the room cool. Our view looked out over the lagoon and was a short walk to everything we wanted to do on the resort. The beach was great with plenty of chairs available. There are quite a few little reefs right off the beach to snorkel around. The food at Galley Bay was absolutely amazing. I have been to several all inclusive resorts and this was hands down the best. Seated service for all the meals, no mass produced food here! The drinks were great and the staff very friendly. Natasha P was our favorite bartender. They have live music nightly and we sat in the rocking chairs overlooking the ocean and listened to live music each night. If you are interested in a party resort, this is not the place for you. Everything is closed by midnight and its just a great place to relax and enjoy the company of your significant other. We were there on our honeymoon and loved every second we were there! We can't wait to go back!