Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Amazing beach. Service and food is lacking

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Although the beach is amazing, the service was lacking. In my opinion I have received much better service elsewhere. The staf seems to be more accustomed to socializing rather than attending to the guest. There are also to many rules about food and eating times. If you want to have an amazing beach then go. But if your looking for great service, food, and activities. It's. It the place for you. There was 1 restaurant open at night and u had to pay extra for lobster...also there best restaurant is an extra charge. They also do not offer room service which on vacation I feel is a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Galley Bay is an exceptional Resort. It is a small quaint sanctuary set away from the main stream of Caribbean life. The staff are very caring for their guests, but they are also careful to respect the privacy of guests who are themselves unique. Most guests enjoy the pleasant and sensitive awareness of the staff. Nevertheless they are Caribbean and like most of the Caribbean people, they have a great joy for life, and they love to laugh. Breakfast and Lunch are served in the Seagrape Restaurant. It is an open air restaurant set by the sea, and serves buffet and a la carte for breakfast. Lunch and dinner at the Seagrape is a la carte. Galley Bay provides another option for an amazing dinner hour. The Gauguin Restaurant is a lovely hide-a-way set back from the main resort activities. The Gauguin is a palm thatched beachfront Shangri la open to the outdoors. Little paths lead one through a tropical landscape to arrive at one’s table. Each table is set along the ocean so one can listen to waves as they roll onto shore. A soft flickering candle sets the stage for a most promising experience. Dinner is served with a formal touch, and is most definitely is a savory dish to be forever remembered. In reviewing the various restaurants in Antigua I found most of them charged extra for lobster, or the higher price of the dinner reflects the additional charge. Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magical Stay

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Galley Bay is in a beautiful location directly on one of the most beautiful bays in the Caribbean. Very relaxed and laid back, with unobtrusive but attentive service when sought. Lovely for a quiet romantic get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, VA

Perfect secluded and romantic beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: small and quiet
Cons: jogging trail, more couple activities
Location: didn't go outside of resort
Had a wonderful time celebrating 20 year Anniversary! This trip was a reconnect with my husband and we had so much fun. We enjoyed a romantic dinner on the beach with our own waiter, we had a 90 minutes couple massage outside(so wonderful). The staff was incredible. The food was the BEST I ever had. Would definitely go again. Met a lot of people from all over the world. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort. Rooms 20 steps to beach.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Food and service excellent. Very peaceful without kids. Weather in antigua was outstanding. 81 and breezy all week. Nany repeat customers. Now we know why.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful beach, pity about the sea.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The smiling faces on all the hotel staff.
Cons: The sea could be a lot calmer, unfortunately that's "Mother natures department.
Location: Paradise location with a white sandy beach, sailing with Le-roy and Shiloh two wonderful guys, along with numerous in house actives.
British Airways has moved from Harrods to Woolworths, and we all know what happened to Woollies, gradually now becoming a budget airline. Transfer from Airport to resort can be a bit of a "white knuckle ride", also drivers knowledge on locations of pot-holes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel but let down by food and lack of at

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful
Cons: The food was disappointing and Manager's Drinks party a product selling exercise rather than a welcome party.
While we were at Galley Bay unfortunately the wind was quite strong and there were Red or Yellow flag for the whole week. The room was ok but would have been better if they had wall mounted controllers for the ceiling fans - the one in the bedroom was too high for me to reach unless I climbed on the bed. We hadn't realised there were only showers in most of the rooms - a problem for my husband as he has a bad back, and there wasn't a desk or dressing table in the bedroom, which was inconvenient if you wanted to use a laptop. Free wifi signal was poor so I found I had to pay for the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Goshen, IN

Carefree relaxing vacation we were looking for...

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Staff interaction Exceptionally manicured gardening Beach only steps away Superb flexibility in dining options and great food Beautiful views
Cons: Thoughts on relaxing the dress code for dining. Work on marketing as a romantic retreat for people that are 25-45.
Location: The people of Antigua are amazing and have really begun to understand how critical tourism is for their economy. This place is about beaches...
So many positive things to say about out stay at Galley Bay. Our experience with each and every staff member, from the servers and bartenders, to the tour desk managers, to the gardeners and housekeepers, was exceptionally pleasant and positive. The environment of the literal garden of manicured plant life, the entrance across a lagoon, the quiet walkways between facilities, and the beach a few steps from our beach house was flawless. The thought put into the available options for food is amazingly flexible. The "adult-only" atmosphere and general attention to creating a retreat or getaway was perfect for our vacation. I wanted to have something constructive to say in this review, so here are three points for travelers to Galley Bay to keep in mind (though I would say that we still had an amazing time): (1) This vacation spot was clearly a chosen spot for retirement age folk, which accounted for 80-90% of the guests. If you are relatively young, 25-45 years old, and looking for interaction with others your age, this may not be the place for you. For the two of us, it actually was perfect in allowing us to focus on each other and our surroundings. (2) The dress code for dining in the on-site restaurants is fairly strict and seems a bit old-fashioned. But maybe that is intentional.. (3) The beach was not a swimming beach. For water-goers, this beach had rough waves and mostly was unavailable. But there are many other beaches within 10-20 minutes that offer calm waters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best customer service

Posted Feb 17, 2017
I have never been in a hotel that tries so hard to please. They get to know everyone and are always looking for information about what is good and what could be better. Their food was not only good but was presented beautifully. There were many things they were doing showing that they are unusually environmentally conscious, such as using kegs rather than bottles for the booze and taking the oil from the kitchen to power tractors for their own food grown on the property. The staff was happy, friendly, and effective.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifull accomadation right on the beach

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Had a great time at galley bay. So peaceful and everything about it was perfect.
5 out of 5
by RAIVO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels