Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Over-rated

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The grounds were pretty.
Cons: Quality of the Food--Best Food we had the Whole Trip was at the Airport
My husband and I cannot understand the high rating for this hotel. We are not "hard to please" and we were so disappointed in our vacation. The food was bland and dinner took a long time--30 minutes until the appetizer arrived. The other restaurant (Gaugin) was closed at least 1/2 of the trip for dinner. Another couple told us that Ismay was not worth $35.00 per person. Some staff appeared disinterested and annoyed by the service industry. The woman who worked at Barefoot Grill was particularly rude and unfriendly. Our room was warm and full of ants, although it was very pretty. The lack of umbrellas at the beach limited our time on the ocean to only one day. Having only two beers available, one being a local beer, was very disappointment for my husband who does not drink liquor. This was our first and only time at an all-inclusive. We won't return to this resort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Fantastic hotel for those who want a real break. Don't go of you think it will be a loud party A real treat to get away from it all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Truly Beachfront

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Good quality food and friendly staff. Small crowds
Location: We went into town RedCliffe Quay for an evening which was great to get out of the protective confines of the resort and see the real Antigua.
We loved Galley Bay. Having stayed at other all inclusive resorts, this one really stands out. The meals werent just a buffet but a real menu with table service. Rooms were large and comfortable with essentially our own private beach with an oceanfront. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. While its all inclusive, its not a raucous party scene which is actually more appealing to us There were excursions available but nobody constantly trying to sell you things or overly pushy at all
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful paradise

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Wonderful food, people, room, beach. Everything was so close and user friendly. The drinks were delicious! They always had something fun going on. The live music was fun in the evenings. Couldn't have had a better time at the resort. On the other hand, dealing with Expedia has been a nightmare and I will never travel with them again. They booked us for a flight that didn't exist and offered no help when we were stranded in another country. Expedia did not notify the resort we would be late and the resort had given our room away. I am very disappointed in this travel agency. Everyone in customer support was very rude and offered no compensation for the troubles they created for us. Trip was ruined because of their unprofessional behavior!
5 out of 5
by Eric from Denver, CO

Honeymoon Paradise

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Wow, what can I say about Galley Bay...? I almost don't want to say how great it is because I don't want it to be booked when my wife and I want to go back again! Galley Bay was absolutely amazing and better than I could have ever expected. We stayed in one of the cottages with out own plunge pool. The A/C worked great and kept the room cool. Our view looked out over the lagoon and was a short walk to everything we wanted to do on the resort. The beach was great with plenty of chairs available. There are quite a few little reefs right off the beach to snorkel around. The food at Galley Bay was absolutely amazing. I have been to several all inclusive resorts and this was hands down the best. Seated service for all the meals, no mass produced food here! The drinks were great and the staff very friendly. Natasha P was our favorite bartender. They have live music nightly and we sat in the rocking chairs overlooking the ocean and listened to live music each night. If you are interested in a party resort, this is not the place for you. Everything is closed by midnight and its just a great place to relax and enjoy the company of your significant other. We were there on our honeymoon and loved every second we were there! We can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
by jayne from Manhasset

Great Caribbean Vacay!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Galley Bay lived up to its reputation on our first visit and we hope to return next year. This is a charming, low-rise, adult all-inclusive with a mix of American and British guests (as Antigua was a British island). Our second story premium beachfront suite had a magnificent windowed bathroom with double showers and sinks and a large tub, cathedral ceilings, ample closet space, a comfortable double bed with good lamps, a sunken living area (two couches, TV, minibar, sink, coffee setup) and a lovely front porch with sunbeds overlooking the beach. Others we met loved their Gauguin cottages and beachfront rooms. Beautiful beach with ample loungers. Surf rough 2 days, Caribbean calm for 3. Suggest you take a snorkel cruise with Captain Sean, hop in a cab to a nearby sheltered bay or hang at the lagoon pool with waterfall, sunbeds and umbrellas, handy to the Teepee bar and Beach Grill. The food, all waiter/waitress service plus buffet items at breakfast, afternoon tea and bar snacks, was uniformly delicious (poached eggs on crabs cakes with creole sauce, fresh fish sandwiches at the grill – where people also raved about the burgers! – lobster thermidor and boneless goat curry were standouts). The drinks were ample and endless. Best of all, the people who work there are lovely, friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Lovely friendly hotel with a wonderful setting.

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Cons: Some of the parts of the hotel are beginning to look a little tired - if we are really marking it close to 5 stars.
Location: Site was fantastic and we only left the place by boat all week!
Our only disappointment was that we could hardly ever swim in the sea as it was too rough. Otherwise staff were great, food very good, and plenty of drinks willingly served.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p Costa Rica

Beautiful location

Posted Mar 28, 2016
The hotel is in a beautiful location, the Beach was Pretty with clear waters. Our room was clean, big, nice decoración. Peacefull place to relax our daily life activities. The staff was kínd and nice allways trying to please us. I believe we are going to go back to Galley Bay soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Healdsburg CA.

Great Get Away Heltel

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location well managed and good food, staff and services, Great secluded beach and nice pool area.
Cons: Continue to upgrade amenities
Location: St. Johns is a typical island town but still quaint. Good historical features with Shirley Heights and Nelson's Dockyard.
Excellent, mature clientel no kids, all inclusive food and Beverages.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Cool rooms and very relaxing

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: The room was very private
Cons: Breakfast at Sea Grape was average. There was often a wait to get in and the buffet never changed.
Location: The location is a 15 minute cab ride from the airport and 10 minutes from St. John. We enjoyed a circumnavigation cruise by Excellence Tours.
We have stayed at several all inclusive resorts in the Cancun area, but for our 20th anniversary, we wanted to go somewhere different and chose Antigua's Galley Bay Resort. We stayed in a bungalow which had it's own pool and was a short distance from the pool and beach. The room very comfortable, with an air conditioned bedroom and large bathroom. Most of the guests at the hotel were 65 years old and British, so we did not fit the demographic. We enjoyed a couple's massage and loved dinner at the 2 reservation restaurants Guagain and Ismay's. We played croquet, tennis, and rode bikes around the resort.