Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Ivan

La Spezia

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Albergo Serena is located up in the mountains with ~10 minutes of curvy roads, but the views are spectacular! Their facilities are somewhat new, it's looks like it used to be a house and they added some rooms but well planned. Their staff are friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet was delicious with pastries, jams, cereals, salami, cheese, and even a make your own waffles machine!!! There's a local restaurant (Giova) located about 300 meters from them that it was awesome! Everything we had was very tasty with local beer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful comfort paired with a great breakfast

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
So very amazing. Bed was comfortable, room was spacious, bathroom was mind blowing! The shower had a rainfall shower head as well as a muscle massager. The whole place was amazing, but the breakfast was the show stopper. There was such a fantastic variety of foods, and it was all locally sourced. After a few weeks of the traditional French and Italian breakfasts of breads and espresso, the hotel provided a cornucopia of delicious fresh foods. I would continue to recommend this hotel without hesitation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Fuat from Boston

OK Stay, good location

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: - Nice views, olive trees. - Short drive to train station for Cinque Terre visit. - Good enough breakfast - Free parking Cons: - Hard to find front desk. They were only there when we were check-in. Afterwards, we couldn't find them. You need to have a phone to reach out them. - AC is paid ($5). Rooms has AC but you need to give 5 dolars to have the remote controller, and leave $50 deposits. We have slept with open windows. Hotel is at high altitude so without AC it was OK. - Linens and towels were clean but not same for bathroom.Only shampoo was provided, no soap; especially shower was not clean.Bathroom needs some maintanence. - They donot have enough power sockets - you would need them to charge your phone/tablet, camera/camcorder bateries. Tip: - Just a few meters ahead of this hotel there is a family restraurant. They cannot speak English but they have nice local food and very warm family environment. - They didn't have Cinque Terre passes as it was mentioned in another review. So you would order online or purchase at the station.
3 out of 5
by christopher from Au

No where but nice

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Found it without any problems. Signage to reception is difficult to see as the arrow on the sign is literally 2cm looking like a left over sticker I was knocking on the front door ringing the buzzer etc and about to leave when I walked down the steep drive to the other parking area and found reception. They gave no reason why they didn't answer the buzzer. That done they booked me in ignoring request for ground floor and put me upstairs. I honestly don't think many ever read our special requests as this happens often. The room was very hot and needed AC or at least a fan. Window opened but onto noisy road and allowed bugs in. It was over 30oC everyday so room was difficult to remain in until late at night. Breakfast was a highlight but the first morning we weren't allowed to use the pancake machine if you turned it on they turned it off. Working other days so not sure why they didn't explain instead of just turning off. Rooms clean and comfortable but bathroom small. Staying here a vehicle is a must as its nowhere but accessible by vehicle to eating facilities about 5kms away so if arriving around dinner time either have it in a nearby town first or bring something with you. Neighbours all park on the road outside the rooms and canbe a little noisy with the window open when they leave for work. The hotel also asks you to rate them on a slip in the room not on booking sites which I don't think is correct procedure as when we book on hotels.com we first read the reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for Family and Budget Travelers

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a very nice place to stay. Management was very accommodating when we arrived after the 11 pm check-in time due to train troubles. The room had some mold on the bathroom walls but was clean other than that. The location was also a little out of the way but very quiet.
4 out of 5
by P G from Christchurch, New Zealand

Beautiful location in the hills

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful location in the hills, although quite tricky to find. It has sort of a hostel feel & look but does have booked rooms like a hotel. We were a family of 4 driving through Italy so needed a stop before Rome. Perfectly adequate services, good wifi, good breakfast and very friendly staff. Free parking and a beautiful picturesque views in the morning. We had a double room with a double bed & two single beds for the teenagers. Lerici beach & township is stunning - well worth a drive & explore (10 minute drive) A great stopover when doing a roady through Italy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
It was awesome! If i visit again, I must be here.
5 out of 5
by George from Toronto

A nice place with a wonderful view

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful location in the hills. Very peaceful. Great place to stay. Good breakfast. Nice staff. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

Too noisy

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Too noisy
Location: Nothing very close
For the price, this hotel is a good deal if you are looking for a basic place to stay with breakfast and parking. Unfortunately, it was a little to far from everything and even finding a place for dinner was a chore. Also, the building is very echoey and with noise from other guests all hours of the night, I couldn't sleep. If the hotel could enforce a quiet time of say 1am-6am, I might recommend it.