Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by james from New Jersey

A beautiful hotel following a safari.

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful hotel with very accommodating staff. A wonderful place to stay following a long safari. In the heart of Arusha, great to access safaris, post office etc. Dinner was delicious at the Baobab restaurant, but the free breakfast was less than average.
5 out of 5
by Sean from Galway

Wonderful hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very relaxing stay here, staff were very helpful. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Dining room had excellent buffet dinner which we really enjoyed. Would recommend it highly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

good night's sleep on arrival

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: very clean, comfortable bed, lots of hot water and a good first night in Africa! Aesthetically very pleasing once you get a good look at the place.
Cons: Better English at the front desk. Better small, vegetarian food choices for room service food - perhaps cheese and cucumber sandwich?
Despite a problem with our understanding that we would have a full-sized bed rather than a cot in our room for our teenager, the problem was eventually resolved to our satisfaction. The late evening front desk staff spoke almost no English, but our driver from the airport was able to translate a bit of the issue, though I'm sure he couldn't comprehend the problem. We were all exhausted from our flight from Canada, so it was a bit of a downer having to deal with the issue for 30 min upon our arrival. On reflection, the hotel was technically correct regarding giving us a cot, but I had sent the hotel 2 emails prior to our arrival that we wanted a regular bed for our tall, very grown up teen. They'd written back that would be fine. The hotel has character - lovely wooden floors, plants, a sense of place, comfortable beds and an attractive restaurant - a nice intro to Tanzania. We ordered room service that night - expensive, particularly a bunch of saran wrapped very stale chips and some unappetizing soup. But that's from the perspective of exhausted travellers who were dying for a beer n simple sandwich at 11pm. Most importantly, we all had a very comfortable first night in Tanzania and the lounge area was a very nice spot to meet with our safari company rep the following morning to discuss our safari beginning that day.
5 out of 5
by Olivia from New York

Very nice spot

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
It is a lovely hotel, clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is also great.
5 out of 5
by Raphael from Schweiz

sehr guter Service / schönes Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Sehr gutes Hotel vor/nach einer Safari. Hilfreiches Personal
5 out of 5
by Ragna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel close to the centre of Arusha

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Staff helpful, pool lovely
Cons: Wider choice on the menu.
Location: Fairly central location. Massai craft centre was worth a trip. Arusha is chaotic with lots of touts.
Staff are lovely and very helpful. Room was large and clean. Disappointed there was no bath after 7 days on safari. Restaurant good food at reasonable prices. Pool lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Well located hotel central to Arusha

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Staff on front desk, doormen and waiting staff all enthusiastic and friendly Very well fitted out, particularly the pool and bar area
Location: Central to Arusha - shops walkable. Taxis and safari companies all nearby. Ideal situation in between Kili and main safari parks
We used the hotel before and after our Kili climb. The staff could not have been more helpful with storing baggage and valuables, making ad hoc calls to our tour company etc. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and has a good restaurant
5 out of 5
by Kerstin from NY

Gorgeous boutique hôtel with excellent service

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
The African Tulip hotel is a great and luxurious place to stay in Arusha, a real treasure. Decorations both inside and outside in the garden are beautiful. Our room was very spacious and had a wonderful bathroom with tub. Great indian food in the restaurant. Only thing that bothered me were the charges for internet and a 4% additional charge on any bill paid by credit card.
5 out of 5
by Matt from New Jersey

Great stay!

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels
Accommodating and clean, we had a comfortable stay at the African .