Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by zazie from ardennes

overrated, not worth the money

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
Four star hotel - seriously ??? (1) internet speed beneath all possible standards (2) shower in the bathtub with no mounting bracket (3) breakfast buffet absolutely minimal (4) staff unhelpful (or trained to be so : "sorry, we do not have herbal tea in the mornings" - meaning they have it in the house but refuse to get it for you) (5) room - for 92 euro - discount last minute offer, secret price etc - no electricity, no wifi, very small (6) and to top it all, broken glasses and chipped chinaware. I travel extensively, book at least 50 hotel nights per year, and do not mind simple&clean - but when I book a 4* hotel for a serious amount of money I expect MUCH better. This hotel should be removed from the hotels.com offer.
5 out of 5
by Carolyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Reasonable hotel, well located

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Sadly the hotel did not live up to its promise. We had good food and the staff were considerate. None of us (4 people, 2 rooms) slept well, the pillows were the cheapest, nastiest we've ever come across.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location and facility BUT ....

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Great site and location. Helpful personnel but management of the place needs some advice to develop the place's potential.
Cons: Extremely ungenerous with low quality room and bathroom items, low quality towels. Not quite three stars, forget about the fourth one!
Location: Cathedral that defies imagination and exceeds all expectations and open late into the evening, beautifully illuminated & surrounded by good eateries.
This is a fantastic town to stay in and the hotel is a fantastic site, under probably permanent renovation due to its immense size and historical character. It is NOT a 4 star hotel as listed on Expedia and Expedia should know better than to permit this. Breakfast supposedly open until 10am, but as we arrived at 9:20, it was badly depleted and staff made NO effort to replenish it. We would not have stayed to eat but unfortunately paid in advance to Expedia... bad move!
5 out of 5
by Alain from Geneva

The quietest night we ever spent in a hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Probably the quietest night we ever spent in a hotel. Right in the heart of the charming town of Autun, a few steps from the roman cathedral, the best location we could dream of. Nice breakfast with home baked breads, plenty of nespresso coffees, tasty jams served by a friendly "garçon". The only weaknes was the Wi-Fi pretty slow in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malvern

Excellently located with good service.

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Good location, an attractive building and helpful service.
Location: Close to the historic centre. The cathedral is well know for its outstanding romanesque sculptures. The Musee Rolin is also of considerable interest.
The hotel (in a former convent) is close to the cathedral and main museum. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. The members of staff were helpful. Dinner was served on a terrace with a view of the hills to the west. There is a secure garage in the basement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in cathedral quarter

Posted Aug 25, 2015
The hotel was comfortable but the decor is a bit tired. Room was small but it was clean and comfortable. We didn't eat in the hotel. Car parking was difficult.
3 out of 5
by julndy from Geneva

Is it a 3 star or 4 star ???

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
On the les Ursulines own website it states it is a 3 star hotel, then again it is quoted as a 4 star here, also on the entrance of les ursulines there is a 4 star marking. So I am not sure what it is now. The room is very good size but the décor is basic and worn, however the lightings are a bit modern and good . The bathroom is big, has a bath tub, with plastic showerhead, but no shower curtain. So one has to be very careful not to flood the place. Bed and pillows are not comfortable, very small TV. one can hear everything on the corridor and adjacent rooms. it has a pleasant looking garden, and located next to the main attractions, Museum Rolin and the cathedral. It is the best hotel in town according to the hotel's own booklet.
5 out of 5
by Mature couple from from Milan

Very lovely place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay. We especially liked the hotel restaurant...had a lovely meal. The location was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but beautiful.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Park and walk everywhere. Restaurant must be good, it was fully booked. Their recommendation to Le Petit Rotin was excellent.