Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia/Chicago

An amazing experience

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms, attentive staff, quality food and beverages.
Cons: A small pool. The water in our hot tab seems a little yellow in color.
Location: Rather remote so plan accordingly!
We loved our two days at Dwyka Lodge. The food was very good with an acceptable variety. The staff were very attentive with a special shout-out to our waiter Julio! While the alcohol at lunch and dinner is not included, the prices were reasonable - NOT resort-like, which is appreciated. We took four safari rides with Marco and he was phenomenal. He's very knowledgeable and does everything possible to ensure an amazing experience is had by all. He was patient in answering questions, and excellent at spotting animals - as one would expect. Each "tent"/cabin is very spacious and you feel very excluded. I have two areas for improvement. The first is that the welcome lounge is a VERY SLOW ride of ~15 KM inside the main gate and its at best semi-paved road so we spent most of the time thinking we missed the welcome lounge and worrying we were voiding our rental car agreement. Moving the lounge to the entrance seems a better route to go. [The lounge is basically tea or coffee and a toilet so don;t arrive too early.] Second, in between the safari rides there is literally nothing to do- no tv in the rooms and very spotty internet. A small pool would go a long way. [Each room has its own hot tub though.] That stated, for a two night stay it is fine and we intend to include this in our encore tour!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Absolutely superb stay at Tilney House

Posted Mar 13, 2017
What a memorable stay that was. Wonderful hospitality, superb food, very plush and comfortable room / bed and the game drives / animals seen amazing. All in all a superb team / experience.
5 out of 5
by Julianne

Amazing Experience

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
This place is amazing! The resort is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. The resort is peaceful and set on the amazing reserve. Our room was spotless and our back patio was set on the reserve. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful with great shower heads-but be mindful-there are water restrictions ongoing. Our guide went out of his way to ensure that we saw amazing animal interactions. In the evening when we returned from our evening drive, there was a huge dinner by bonfire and some star gazing. Everything went smoothly and the communication was excellent. I am so glad that we chose to stay here and would recommend this to anyone who loves beauty and animals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Brilliant safari experience

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, clean, friendly staff, delicious food. Nature on the doorstep. Amazing rangers. Staff willing to go the extra mile. Lovely experience.
Cons: Small thing but there were pigeons on our balcony and they had defecated all over the outdoor future. It was really disgusting and not possible to use
Location: Safari resort speaks for itself. The spa and swimming pool were lovely extras.
Highlight of our holiday. We stayed for 2 nights and went on 4 drives and saw so many amazing animals. Pretty much everything very close to the vehicle - which was more than I could have hoped for. Our ranger was passionate and knowledgeable as well as determined to make the most of our trip for us. You will not be disappointed if you book here and want to see Lions, Elephants, Buffalo, Giraffe, Hippo, Cheetah and actually so much more! We chose this resort as we have a 10 month old baby and I can't fault the childcare. Prompt, warm, friendly and engaging childcare. Happy to do early mornings and the afternoon drives. There is a playroom with toys for all ages and the kitchen even made him food puree. For a small extra cost they also babysit in the evening so you can go down for the supper after the evening drive. The spa is just an amazing bonus. Honestly - can't recommend this place enough. Its well worth the cost. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would visit again

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing place to visit, relaxing lodge which was necessary after 0530 game drives, beautiful setting stunning rooms,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

An amazing experience

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: The location is stunning underneath a mountain in the reserve. It proved to be a real sun trap.
The accommodation was excellent in an amazing location complemented by brilliant game drives with an experienced and knowledgeable Ranger. The food and service were excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious & Beautiful Room

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very warm check-in experience with personalised small group meals together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Great Adventure!

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Staff, food and Game Drives
Location: Don't need anything else
We had a wonderful time, the staff were very helpful and the facility are well maintained. The food is fantastic! The game drives are unbelievable! We seen 4 of the big 5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has to be done only 3 hrs from Cape Town

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Recommended as a great place for a safari drive as part of the shamwari group It was amazing and the guide brilliant and informative in a very natural setting. Managed to see lions, elephants , rhinos, giraffes, zebra, elands, in their everyday habitat Great taster of a safari for our first time Well looked after and a wonderful colonial experience Should have booked 2 nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safari Taster

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Saw the big 5 .... ,mission accomplished. Our comfort and a great experience seemed to be the staff's #1 priority. Well worth the money