Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good location and authentic.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Felt like we were experiencing a real Beijing hotel, staff were good and helpful but had limited English. They didn't seem keen on us taking tours that weren't through the hotel. Breakfast was adequate but if we arrived after 8.30 the choice was limited. Generally good value and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns Australia

Quiet retreat in Beijing.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Position, quietness, relaxed atmosphere and staff.
Cons: A more precise map with walking distances (meters) from the subway.
Location: It is a 10 min walk from the nearest subway on the outer of line 2 but in a Hutong that is very quiet. Buses will pick up/return you from the hotel.
Hard to find, but once you do easy to navigate back and forward to subway - which is excellent in Beijing. Slept like a bay - very quiet. Nothing was a problem, easy to book tours at a good price, most of the staff speak and understand English, thanks again to Wing and May, can't remember the other young girls name who was from Luoyang.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

klein und nett, sehr freundlichen Personal

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Das Hotel liegt sehr ruhig, von der Umgebung sollte man sich nicht erschrecken lassen. Auch wenn es wie üblich in Peking sehr chaotisch und runtergekommen aussieht, ist es sehr sicher. Das Hotel hat auch einen sehr angenehmen und nett eingerichteten Aufenthaltsraum, den wir jeden Abend genossen haben.
5 out of 5
by Jean-Philippe from Lille

Un séjour parfait !

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Surement le meilleur hôtel dans lequel j'ai eu l'occasion de séjourner, non pas parce qu'il était le plus luxueux ou le plus confortable mais parce que le personnel a été aux petits soins comme je n'ai jamais vu ! Je recommande grandement cet hôtel !
5 out of 5
by Gihong from seoul

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is far from station. but the ohters are very good.
5 out of 5
by Bradley from Cheshire

Amazing find, will certainly stay again.

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
What an amazing place. Above all else, the service here is incredible, it's really run like a family operation and you are made to feel so incredibly welcome. In addition to this, the hotel and the rooms are absolutely beautiful. Book it, you won't be disappointed!
4 out of 5
by Christophe from Guérande

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Nous avons passé un merveilleux séjour à Michael's House. Le personnel est absolument charmant et l hôtel adorable. Penser à imprimer le plan du quartier à partir de la station de métro.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome Beijing vacation hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, bed, cleanliness, staff
Location: There's a simple restaurant a few blocks away where no English is spoken but has an English menu. A few shops by the train station we didn't go to.
We wanted a bed and breakfast style hotel with local flavor, and Michael’s house was the perfect option. As a very small hotel, you cannot expect the advantages of big hotels such as taxis at your door, a convenience shop or fully bilingual staff. The hotel has an indoor courtyard, where the reception is and breakfast is held, that feels like a living room. While at the hotel, you feel like going out there to sit down and rest, read about upcoming Beijing sights or have some tea. Our bedrooms were small, but the beds are superb and the bathrooms were super clean. Breakfast is quite good for such a small hotel: cereal, yogurt, bread, fruit, dumplings, fish, eggs, juice, etc. They have a few hot options that are made to order at no additional cost. The Jishuitan subway station is probably less than 1 Km from the hotel, but the hotel is on what I would call a hidden street (hutong). Be sure to ask for the taxi card, which leads taxi drivers right to the door. The neighborhood is not pretty, but we always felt safe. The staff is very good and we were fortunate to be greeted and seen off by Mei, who is just a doll. Her English is quite good but, more than her language abilities, she has a special kindness and warmth that makes you feel you have just arrived at a friend’s house. She gave us great suggestions of things to do in Beijing, helped us with our laundry and kept two suitcases for a couple of nights when we went to Shanghai. Thank you Mei for making us feel at home!!
5 out of 5
by John from Wellesley, MA

Very happy with Michael's House

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved Michael's House, especially the 3 young concierge women who were very kind and helpful. It was also wonderful to be in a place where English is spoken. Other guests were interesting to meet.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Cairns, Australia

Great place

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic place, I know where I'm staying each time now! Facilities, staff, food, everything feels so inviting here