Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wyoming , usa

our home for 10 days

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great staff , great location , great morning meal to start the day .. Would absolutely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KL, Malaysia

Friendly staff, quaint courtyard house.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Spacious rooms with interesting decor. There were mosquitoes when we were there, but when we told the staff, they very promptly sprayed insect repellent in our rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good location and authentic.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Felt like we were experiencing a real Beijing hotel, staff were good and helpful but had limited English. They didn't seem keen on us taking tours that weren't through the hotel. Breakfast was adequate but if we arrived after 8.30 the choice was limited. Generally good value and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cairns Australia

Quiet retreat in Beijing.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Position, quietness, relaxed atmosphere and staff.
Cons: A more precise map with walking distances (meters) from the subway.
Location: It is a 10 min walk from the nearest subway on the outer of line 2 but in a Hutong that is very quiet. Buses will pick up/return you from the hotel.
Hard to find, but once you do easy to navigate back and forward to subway - which is excellent in Beijing. Slept like a bay - very quiet. Nothing was a problem, easy to book tours at a good price, most of the staff speak and understand English, thanks again to Wing and May, can't remember the other young girls name who was from Luoyang.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome Beijing vacation hotel

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, bed, cleanliness, staff
Location: There's a simple restaurant a few blocks away where no English is spoken but has an English menu. A few shops by the train station we didn't go to.
We wanted a bed and breakfast style hotel with local flavor, and Michael’s house was the perfect option. As a very small hotel, you cannot expect the advantages of big hotels such as taxis at your door, a convenience shop or fully bilingual staff. The hotel has an indoor courtyard, where the reception is and breakfast is held, that feels like a living room. While at the hotel, you feel like going out there to sit down and rest, read about upcoming Beijing sights or have some tea. Our bedrooms were small, but the beds are superb and the bathrooms were super clean. Breakfast is quite good for such a small hotel: cereal, yogurt, bread, fruit, dumplings, fish, eggs, juice, etc. They have a few hot options that are made to order at no additional cost. The Jishuitan subway station is probably less than 1 Km from the hotel, but the hotel is on what I would call a hidden street (hutong). Be sure to ask for the taxi card, which leads taxi drivers right to the door. The neighborhood is not pretty, but we always felt safe. The staff is very good and we were fortunate to be greeted and seen off by Mei, who is just a doll. Her English is quite good but, more than her language abilities, she has a special kindness and warmth that makes you feel you have just arrived at a friend’s house. She gave us great suggestions of things to do in Beijing, helped us with our laundry and kept two suitcases for a couple of nights when we went to Shanghai. Thank you Mei for making us feel at home!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LIC, NY

Change of pace guest house in Beijing hutong

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Good-sized room with shower that had plenty of hot water. Breakfast is okay. My only issue is a small one; I would request at least one English television station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Fantastic hotel, close to subway. Quiet and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Good Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff and good price. The breakfast was good.
Cons: Make sure the walls inside the rooms are clean. Mine was dirty. A little paint will help
Location: Stores and laundry across the street. Most important the metro a walking distance. Nice and peaceful environment inside the hotel
Overall my experience was fine. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Do not worry about its location, it is safe. 10 minutes walk from metro. Email the hotel for direction, they will send you a map that is very helpful to get there. Thanks to the people that wrote their comments, reason why I have chosen this one. Este hotel lo recomiendo. Esta a 10 minutos del metro caminando, la zona se mira regular, pero es muy sana.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great Stay, super Staff!!

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not as much to do locally but subway nearby.
While this is listed as a 3 star hotel, it is ever bit as nice as the 4 star hotels I have stayed at in Asia. The staff is amazing and the rooms very nice and quite. Breakfast was very good. The hotel arranged a wonderful car to take us to the Great Wall and that was very cost effective. The hotel is on the northeast side of town but very close to a subway and since Beijing is so spread out you have to take subways to most of your locations anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Michael's House, cute but!?!?

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Unique layout
Cons: Language ability of staff
Location: the lady of the night 3 doors down plying her trade was somewhat off putting but definitely a taste of the real Beijing
A lovely boutique hotel, staff need to improve their English and location is somewhat daunting at first. Did not like the extra charges of $40 per night to have a roll-away bed in the room when we specified 2 in the room and the need on the initial reservation. We asked if they had two twin beds and were told no yet saw rooms like this the next morning as we ate breakfast. A great experience was marred by this nickel and diming approach and an inability or unwillingness of the staff to make it right.