Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Marvelous resort!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: The view, the activities, the food, everything!
Cons: There we spider webs in our room and it was a little dusty, but otherwise it was gorgeous.
Location: Tennis, water sports, bout tours, golf, hiking, walking, lots of workshops (extra fee,) spa services, lawn games, scavenger hunt. Childcare available.
Endless things to do at this resort. We only had 2 nights, but I would love to go back and have a full week there to do everything. There is something for everyone, no matter what age. Very upscale. Lots of families on holiday, everyone from the staff to the children staying there with parents was pleasant and well behaved…no kids or adults misbehaving or using bad language that we could see. Children of different families all playing well together, very family oriented. I would love to come here with other family members or friends.
4 out of 5
by Barbara from Cambridge, ON Canada

Old world charm, a Champlain treasure.

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
This is obviously a classic vacation destination, and we stayed in an 18th century "Homestead" building. There was no television in our room - not a problem as we had WIFI and our laptop. The stairway up to our room would be treacherous for a senior or anyone with knee troubles. The building is so old that the floor in our room was sloped with about a 4 inch drop from one corner to the next, like walking drunk but we were sober!! Staff are very friendly and highly professional. The restaurant was 5star and the morning buffet excellent. Well worth the price.
2 out of 5
by Jessica from Boston

Positives Don't Outweigh the Negatives :(

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Spent 2 nights at the end of a family trip. Was pleasantly surprised by the spacious cottage though dismayed that the rear cottage door was unlocked/broken upon arrival to the poorly lit cabin. BHC is rustic and historic and I like that (hence the 4 stars on neighborhood). HOWEVER, given the cost and location (Vermont), I expected the food and service to be EXCELLENT. It was not. Breakfast in The Main Dining Room was over $100 for 2 adults, 1 teen, 1 preschooler compared to dinner at The Red Mill for same # people at under $100. The breakfast buffet was mediocre with frozen potatoes, runny eggs while the other offerings weren't memorable. The Red Mill meals were all drenched in creamy sauce. The staff were generally friendly and interesting, good at small talk with seemingly appropriate boundaries. At least that's what I thought...until I received a random Facebook friend request from an employee of BHC after we checked out. I REALLY wanted to like BHC as it was recommended by my parents who honeymooned there. The golf lesson/pro were great, the location/surroundings are gorgeous and the housekeeping staff mailed us a forgotten item. Unfortunately, these positives don't outweigh the negatives of this particular trip and accordingly BHC won't make our list of must-return destinations. :(
4 out of 5
by Carole from Groton

An old-fashioned family vacation

Posted Aug 15, 2015 on Hotels
It was like walking onto the set of "Dirty Dancing" - a step back in time where families vacation together and ride bikes from the beach to the dining area. We loved it and will definitely be back. My only negative would be that they need to upgrade the teen center - that was disappointing.
2 out of 5
by michael from Vancouver

This.is a Boating, golfing club.

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is really a boating and golfing resort. The season had not yet started..... Rooms are sruced up older cabins, no TV. teething trouble re. let cold water run off, before showering. Area is pleasant.... little boating harbour. Breakfast not included and expensive (club) Nearby restaurant 'The Red Mill', also staff in training. Both long drive out of town of Vergennes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zwingenberg

Sehr schöne Anlage

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Die historische Anlage ist beeindruckend auch wenn an den Häusern der Zahn der Zeit nagt. Es gibt dort zwei Restaurants.Am Anreiseabend 20:00 Uhr wollten wir noch eine Kleinigkeit essen. Das Essen war sehr schlecht, was möglicherweise an der späten Uhrzeit lag.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great choice

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
We gad a wonderful and comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
We were disappointed with the accommodations at the Basin Harbor Club. It was raining when we got there and the main lobby had wet floors that looked like roof leaks. We walked to the main dining room to look at a menu and the dining room smelled bad. We were assigned a cottage for our room and it had a good view and was cozy but the walls to the adjoining room were paper thin and when the people who were staying there came in around midnight it sounded like they were in the room with us--very noisy. It was also the most expensive room we stayed in on our trip.
2 out of 5
by Margaret from Chicago, IL

average

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
The rate for the cabin was very expensive and felt that the condition of the cabin was tired, sheets were old and did not have a lot of charm.