Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, North Yorkshire

Convenient location from M11/A14 and Cambridge

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly accommodating staff. Lots of room and space in the reception area for us to gather as a family (there was 20 of us on the Sunday morning!)
Cons: General decor - the hotel looks very tired in some places and there is even a feint smell in the bedroom corridor which reminded us of an old mop!
Location: We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Cambridge (not the Holiday Inn Express) and this was close enough to Cambridge that we could easily visit.
This was a family gathering with 5 Double Rooms booked to accommodate my grown up children and grandchildren for a family gathering. The hotel was very convenient for access and, in general, the facilities were very good. The Junction Restaurant offered a reasonable range of options and we thought the standard of the food was good. The staff were very helpful and tolerant of the very young children we had who were doing what kids do - making a noise!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Deficient Toilet Cleanliness

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: There was no noise so we could rest all night.
Cons: Definetly the cleaning in all the toilets.
Location: Was ok.
Unfortunately was a horrible experience. Well about of staff was ok, however in the room I found things that I didn´t like it. The kettle took a lot of time to heat the wáter. The TV turned on and turned off by itself several times. But the worse was the toilet. There was a black ring of dirt around the tap of the washbasin and the tap in the tub had the black ring of dirt too with a lot of lime. And I know that dirt is not a single day. Unfortunately the bathrooms at the reception were just very dirty too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Excellent and very comfortable.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast. I visited in December so city centre not walkable. Overall wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The reception staff were very efficient. I had a comfortable stay apart from: - the vacuuming started at 8:30 on Sunday morning, and even though I had a 'do not disturb sign' on my locked door, housekeeping tried to come in twice in the morning. It didn't matter that the duvet was very flat & thin and the cover had a big hole because the room was toasty warm. The room was clean. The fixing for the door chain is bending off so not secure. no room safe. There was also a queue for breakfast- but the staff were very polite & helpful. the table lay out doesn't make best use of the space. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chester

good hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: convenience for park and ride for Cambridge and it is away from main areas so no night visitors from town.
Cons: broken pc chair, lack of selection of beers, premier inn quality at holiday inn prices.
Location: Cambridge, that's all.
this was a good hotel, however it did say quiet area and the room was right outside a childrens play area, unfortunate. room was premier inn stock , good parking thou, excellent staff and a good breakfast. the restaurants food menu was poor and didn't really cater for my vegetarian wife and in all honesty didn't cater much at all really, the pizza was very salty , so if you stay here try and eat out, the pubs in the area rarely cater after 3pm and some don't open at night. nice area don't be fooled by thinking you can walk round the lake as its privately owned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms OK. Wifi is terrible. Check for Mosquitos!

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Breakfast is good. Great place if you want 'go offline' and be away from internet and phone access; or if you want to donate blood to the mosquitos
Hotel is OK, but the rooms are a bit dusty and tired. The Wifi/Internet is truly terrible and the staff were unable to assist and a bit confused. The first Wifi problem we had was that our devices (multiple OSes and types) all failed to get the wifi login screen. The staff solution was to give us password vouchers which of course is of zero help. We spoke to support and they eventually 'solved' the problem by entering a MAC address for one of our devices in their system - and even then the internet was dialup-level slow. I couldn't bear it so I tried to tether from my phone but even that was barely usable since reception is so bad around the hotel. Mentioning this to staff wasn't much help; they seem resigned to the state of the bad internet - I guess it's beyond their control. Also, check your room for mosquitos. We had to do a mosquito hunt after we heard buzzing when we tried to sleep.. eventually we counted 14 confirmed mosquitos-kills on our first night - yet still woke up with bites. We found & killed a few more mosquitos each day, but still got some bites. They have some stealth ninja-mosquitos there. Breakfast is good. yay. But I would not stay there again unless it was to punish myself or travelling companion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel near cambridge

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Price and spa
Location: On outskirts of Cambridge next to a14
Good location. Reasonably priced hotel good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Quebec Canada

Pleasant & Quiet Hotel in Cambridge

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Everything except the distance from the town itself.
Cons: N/A
Location: We were very fortunate to have experienced dinner at one of the colleges. Lunch spots were a plenty and very good!
We spent 2 separate stays at the hotel as the primary purpose of the trip was to visit our son and daughter-in-law who moved to Cambridge last August. We also went to London and to Dublin in the Republic of Ireland. The hotel was somewhat removed from the town of Cambridge, when we looked out the window we were somewhat surprised to see horses grazing. The hotel was very comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful and the beds were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient and spacious

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: I really liked the website which listed all room equipment (wanted to know if there was an ironing board). Clean and comfortable public spaces.
Cons: Beds and bedding.
Location: Taxi ride from city centre. Short drive from village , nice lunch in local pub and able to buy essentials in small supermarket
Overnight stay for family group. Conveniently located and spacious rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Disappointed with bedding (thin and hence cool unless heating cranked up) and bed (dipped in centre). Otherwise happy with experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Average Hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: Clean. Nice conference facilities.
Cons: Food in the restaurant. People to respond to customers by phone quickly.
Location: I did not leave the hotel as our conference was within the premises.
Check in was quick. They may have a staffing issue. I was unable to get anyone when I tried the room phone. Had to use my mobile to call reservations before I could get housekeeping. Does have a free swimming pool and gym. Good conference facilities. Food is restaurant was poor for the price being charged.