Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Great hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Close to the African Café where you can try a range of dishes from the continent, many of them vegetarian and gluten free.
We stayed in a club level room. Large beautiful room, great big bathroom. Room included breakfast, either in the club room or the buffet; high tea every afternoon (amazing desserts, savory snacks, and a choice from 20 and teas or coffee); plus drinks and snacks at happy hour. The location is right in the middle of Cape Town, close to the outdoor market. They have a free shuttle to the base of the lift to the top of Table Mountain and to the pier, but also not that far to walk. Hop on hop off bus stop right around the corner. Staff is excellent, very friendly. Wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Beautiful hotel, centrally located.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Taj was great. Amazing location and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Loved the location. The staff was more than helpful. The hotel room was very nice. No problems with our stay. I would stay there again without hesitation. I loved having a cup of tea every afternoon in the lobby!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent hotel close to local attractions

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Excellent would love to visit again,great views and next door to company garden. Local shopping venues, food and friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

First night in Cape Town

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: It is in a quiet area, has good services and even a fast wifi.
Cons: When we asked about a walking tour the concierge handed us a map but did not take any time to explain anything.
Location: We got lost trying to walk around and werent able to see much.We were also pestered by panhandlers.
We started our trip to South Africa in Cape Town and stayed at the Taj. It is a great hotel in a relatively safe area. Parking is only by valet since it is in town. When we asked the concierge for a place to have dinner they gave us excellent recommendations that were just a taxi ride away. We chose one in amps bay which was only a 25 minute cab ride. The breakfast at the hotel is excellent and quite upscale, as you would expect from a 5 star rated hotel.. The room was comfortable and even had a glass wall between the bathroom and the bed area. All in all it was an excellent start to our adventures of shark diving and horseback safari's.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing experience. Will visit again.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Excellent stay. Attentive and friendly staff. Clean facility. Top notch security. Knowledgeable concierge provides a variety of tours to choose from. Delicious variety of food and good room service. Exceeded expectations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

It was okay.

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Location. Space.
Cons: Everything except for perhaps location and space.
Location: It's in a lovely location with a beautiful city garden, museums, and boutique shops. Hire a car to go to Table Mountain, beaches, and Waterfront Mall.
The stay at this hotel was full of problems. First my card didn't work most of the times; I had to ride up and down the elevator a lot to get someone to go up with me to open the doors for me. The double door leading to the room was broken for two days. The problem was confirmed and I was told that it was fixed when it wasn't. The day I checked out: the door was still not working. The afternoon cleaning people did not do a very good job cleaning, and sometimes towels were missing and toiletries not refilled. The front desk staff made some inappropriate jokes, that I simply dismissed because I do not think they were trying to be rude. Some staff were excellent. Others were terrible. It was a hit or miss. I booked a helicopter ride with concierge, and I asked the late night front desk staff to give me a call to remind. There was no call. In fact when I came down, nobody knew there about the booking until they called the helicopter company. The excuse was that the "bellman" picked up the phone, or that sometimes random people pick up the phone. Really. I was also charged for things in the minibar I did not use. The room was old. The table was chipped. The bedding was slightly torn. The towels were hard, as in cycle through the dryer and burn off the cotton hard. Fixtures in the room just seemed and felt worn down. Wi-fi is horrible. The gym, spa, and evening in-room dining made up for the mess that is this hotel. Also: most staff were kind and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ENGLAND

Easy and walking distance to all shops and Malls.

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: All the staff always ready to help and make your stay memorable in such a Luxury Surroundings
Cons: Everything is just so perfect already .
Location: Perfect location lots of Wonderful Restruants , Coffee Houses and Cafes and Street Markets to visit.
Wonderful experience staff very polite and friendly remembered our Name from the day we arrived. The benefit of their Courtesy Car to Table Moutains and the V &A Waterfront every hour was a big help. There are wonderful handmade products in the near by Markets .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL USA

Great staff.

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Location: I fell in love with the Company Garden across the street from the hotel. It reminded me of New York's Central Park. A beautiful place for a stroll.
I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff! Everyone from the bellman to the cleaning staff was simply exceedingly helpful and friendly. The accommodations were congruent with a 5 star hotel and the central location was an added bonus. I shall return to the Taj on my future trips to Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sentralt og fint hotell

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Perfekt plassering, var der i forbindelse med cape argus og alt er tilrettelagt, litt dårlig frokost på rittdagen men ellers ypperlig opphold